Sdf5725 1st Gear December 16, 2011 Share December 16, 2011 i kenna once similar case. workshop quote 300 bucks. end up i bring the car to my workshop and only 190 bucks.of course, i am and paying side so i bother. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ruriimasu 1st Gear December 16, 2011 Share December 16, 2011 once i knocked into a taxi.. same like the above photo visible scratches only.. insurance came $5000+. TMD.. absolutely useless insurance co. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanz21 Neutral Newbie December 16, 2011 Share December 16, 2011 Just to add my share. This cost $5080.00 to repair. and $1080 for car rental. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigbadguy 1st Gear December 16, 2011 Share December 16, 2011 Srly this is a very common problem yet no one up there is doing anything about it. As if none of this ever happen. No law, no investigation. Sounds like corruption to the max. Happy happy claim any figures and no one to audit. srly. Can we start up a NPO to handle this kind of fake claims? Have law to serverly punish those who inflate their claim? Why are something like these happening for so many years yet no one take action. Srly 1st world country my foot. =( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged December 16, 2011 Share December 16, 2011 i bang into one old man's Rush before and his medical checkup bill was 10k (nothing happen to him, its just a checkup) i called my insurer and they told me if bring to court sure lose so just pay i was wondering what the hell checkup can cost 10k? he take biz class fly to USA to see doctor? the insurers just raise premiums every year, we LL pay. they have no incentive to fight for you or challenge the bill he probably gone for the most complete package health screening with one night stay.. i used gleneagles as example.. 2day 1 night in their suite $6,088. u add up the actual screening.. probably around there Gleneagle suite Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caravan 5th Gear December 16, 2011 Share December 16, 2011 Seems like there's rampant overcharging and yet the insurance companies are not doing enough. Thanks to the lawyers? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearosv2 1st Gear December 16, 2011 Share December 16, 2011 Is there anything we can do to help ourselves? zzz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear December 16, 2011 Share December 16, 2011 Ha ha ha....... hello people, don knock my backside hor, lim peh confirm, guarantee tai chop claim you gao gao......... Feel like tailor-made a decal which says:" knock me? Lim peh claim you JIA JIA LAT!! " Wa lan sibeh hor .... make one extra for me to paste on my back side Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged December 16, 2011 Share December 16, 2011 actually not surprising, most minor damages is $7000 one. It's like a standard pricing. This is why, you guys should play your part and don't anyhow claim if it's just minor. Just settle it with the other owner privately will do. Last time a taxi bang me, minor damage on my bumper,......i choose to settle privately with him. Workshop repair is 170, so I ask him to pay 170 only. Never even claim him my transport fee for taking cab to work. I look at it that he also has to earn a living. But I know some owners use accident to "upgrade" their car. I hope none of you are here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear December 16, 2011 Share December 16, 2011 actually not surprising, most minor damages is $7000 one. It's like a standard pricing. This is why, you guys should play your part and don't anyhow claim if it's just minor. Just settle it with the other owner privately will do. Last time a taxi bang me, minor damage on my bumper,......i choose to settle privately with him. Workshop repair is 170, so I ask him to pay 170 only. Never even claim him my transport fee for taking cab to work. I look at it that he also has to earn a living. But I know some owners use accident to "upgrade" their car. I hope none of you are here. honestly we have seen one or two news articles featuring the insurers lamenting the fact that they WERE making a loss in their underwriting bottomline. What i don't understand is why they chose not to contest the claims made by the w/s or the other company? Just pay out and expect the buck to be passed onto the consumers? Where's the responsibility? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nf0rc3r 1st Gear December 16, 2011 Share December 16, 2011 Repaint whole car at a reputable workshop won't even hit 7k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged December 16, 2011 Share December 16, 2011 Repaint whole car at a reputable workshop won't even hit 7k It adds up to 7k because they claim every single possibilities. For example, no whiplash when kena bumper only, but will also claim few hundreds for "medical". Then maybe the air-con compressor old liow....but owner want new one..so he also claim for a new compressor and put it under "misc". All kind of tricks la....I have seen this kind of "bill" so many times liow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged December 16, 2011 Share December 16, 2011 honestly we have seen one or two news articles featuring the insurers lamenting the fact that they WERE making a loss in their underwriting bottomline. What i don't understand is why they chose not to contest the claims made by the w/s or the other company? Just pay out and expect the buck to be passed onto the consumers? Where's the responsibility? What for responsibility when it's extra work and the regulatory are not bother about it anyway? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcfguy 1st Gear December 16, 2011 Share December 16, 2011 Sick people. Sick workshop. Sick insurance companies. Sick authorities. This country, no hope liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alant 1st Gear December 17, 2011 Share December 17, 2011 (edited) If the car that was hit is less than 2 years new car... the workshop will not repair the damage part but will replace with a new one. Edited December 17, 2011 by Alant Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear December 17, 2011 Share December 17, 2011 Based on the current prices of cars in Singapore... 7k is reasonable lol... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stiener 1st Gear December 17, 2011 Share December 17, 2011 If its others who bang me and I'm not at fault, I would want to replace a parts that were damage. Simply put, I bought the car not for you to hit or abuse one. Who here feels good when kenna hit and in order not to cause premiums to rise, we succumb to lower repair cos by taking cheaper alternatives. If want to drive, do it with care. Once bang, be prepared to take responsibility regardless the price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alant 1st Gear December 17, 2011 Share December 17, 2011 (edited) Why we want damage parts to be replaced and not repairs because we are buying a comprehensive (1st party) insurance. Edited December 17, 2011 by Alant ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...