Wonder if this will work on Singapore roads

SLSAMG88

bloody road hogger... of course the cars behind him are moving smoothly... it's because he's leaving such a wide gap that everyone is forced to "undertake" him...

By right it should work, as the gap is there to allow those 10% who likes to cut in last minute or who are impatient.

While the rest of the 90% can cruise at the SAME speed as the front vehicle, abide with a wide following gap.

If everyone can be the 90% patient driver, then it will work!!

But this is Singapore leh.......no chance in hell.

He should do a reverse video taking the cars behind.

I want to know how many impatient cars directly behind him overtook him througout the journey....or even high beamed and horned him.

hmm, to be able to control the accelerator, the pressures from the other cars and still able to predict the in-front traffic of sudden stops ... truly skilled. Never expected someone really able to do it.

Edited by Dadiao

This is what I would call safe and responsible driving. [drivingcar]

1) Keeping a safe distance

2) Keeping to extreme left lane

3) Moving with flow of traffic

3) Allow overtakers

It beats tailgaters and reckless drivers anytime!! [rifle]

On 12/14/2011 at 3:19 PM, Aeromania said:

this guy is talking sense. Since there's a heavy traffic going on, might as well drive slowly and constantly. It reduces FC and also stress on driver.

During heavy traffic, i think it is better to drive slowly and constantly, cause there might have chance for the cars infornt stop suddenly!

On 12/15/2011 at 12:41 AM, 13177 said:

During heavy traffic, i think it is better to drive slowly and constantly, cause there might have chance for the cars infornt stop suddenly!

Talking about stop-go-stop-go traffic, i notice this happens regularly on expressways especially before any slope (eg approaching flyover when the road goes up-slope), and sometimes it slows to almost standstill. Once over the slope, traffic flow returns to the usual 70-90kmh.

Do some drivers purposely slow down when they see a slope in front, or what?

Typical example: morning traffic on CTE towards city just before the flyover at PIE.

On 12/14/2011 at 2:14 PM, SLSAMG88 said:

Eliminating stop and go traffic:

I practice this during peak hour traffic conditions, but I do not leave such a long distance from the car in front.

Depending on the speed travelled on average during that time, I leave between 2.5 cars to 4 cars distance so that I do not have to brake-stop-go.

At the same time, I still allow filtering vehicles or vehicle changing lanes to do so safely.

For those who say 'Road Hogger!', sorry, but I am a tailgater more than roadhogger. It just makes sense to practice that 'maneuver' during peak hours.

Like someone had mentioned, better FC (compared to brake-stop-go) and less stressful for everyone else, because if the traffic is moving, you will not get as frustrated right?

And yes, I keep a regular look out to my rear, no high beams, horn, middle fingers, overtake & undertake thus far.

So I'd say it works if you put some sense into practicing it. [thumbsup]

On 12/15/2011 at 1:17 AM, KARTer said:

Talking about stop-go-stop-go traffic, i notice this happens regularly on expressways especially before any slope (eg approaching flyover when the road goes up-slope), and sometimes it slows to almost standstill. Once over the slope, traffic flow returns to the usual 70-90kmh.

Typical example: morning traffic on CTE towards city just before the flyover at PIE.

probably they worry that they cant see what lies after the slope? :huh: but of course there is no need to slow to a standstill [rolleyes]

Ya I notice it sometimes, even for slightly higher road bumps. They zham brake liao then chiong accelerator again. Hai si lang~!

I think the driver doesn't believe his car + handling + speed will be able to handle that kind of downslope/bumps, so they slow down, because in Singapore, slow = safe.

Then when a suay siao car bang into their ka chng, they will ask, "You drive so fast kum?!" :wacko:

personally i believe that people slow down on upslope is because they have no money to pay for petrol...

then downslope, it is time for greater savings hence up/down slope... always jam...

On 12/14/2011 at 2:14 PM, SLSAMG88 said:

Eliminating stop and go traffic:

Drive like this and you'll find yourself going even slower with all the cars cutting ahead of you... Probably cause some accidents too...

On 12/15/2011 at 1:29 AM, Vhtfhwlego said:

personally i believe that people slow down on upslope is because they have no money to pay for petrol...

then downslope, it is time for greater savings hence up/down slope... always jam...

Hmmm..... sounds like the stop-go-stop pattern is not too bad coz it helps:

1. save fuel

2. avoid unexpected 'things 'after/behind' the slope

3. test the brakes / accelerator if they are still working

conclusion is: new lesson for all learner drivers :D