Citibank 'marketing'

Lucaswh

A bit long but please read...

Received a phone call today from Citibank. Some girl on the line told me that a credit card which I applied for in May/June this year had some processing issues and offered to 'resend' me the form via email so I can 'just put a signature' on it to get the card up and running.

Problem is I don't recall applying for any card so I told her that since it has already been half a year, I probably didn't need the card anymore but just send me the form and details anyway. Didn't think much of it as I had intended to just ignore the request as I don't want any card, even if I had signed up for it.

So I went home today and apparently, my dad also tio the same caller! Interesting thing is..same storyline! And again, my dad being the alert one, told me that he too, didn't sign up for any card in May/June period.

We were quite suspicious about this whole thing and after discussion, we were really certain there was no such application made before!

Hence bros, do take note...the caller will know some of your details and will probably offer to send you some form. THINK before you sign anything and forward back!

*Looking at the scanned form they sent me, if their storyline were to be true and that I had indeed signed up in May/June, why is it that they don't even have information like my i/c number which I would have probably filled in at that point in time? And they only sent me one part of a form..the part which required personal info and siggie, nothing about the details of the card which I had supposedly applied or and requested over the phone.*

And what kind of bank will take more than half a year to get back to you about a flawed application?

So bros, please beware!

Probably a telemarketer trying to scrounge up any leads she can find to close the sale (of the credit card that is)

She's probably just hoping u'll be blur enuff to send the back with ur signature, so that she can count it as a sale

Edited by Soran

On 12/13/2011 at 3:00 PM, Kangadrool said:

Any idea when is the "no call central database" ready for us to opt out of all these marketing calls?

I think you can do that on the 'Silly-bank' website...Last month I got the same phone call from the bank's telemarketers calling me even though I told the first one that I'm not interested and don't call me back.

then I found a link on its website to remove my number from its list.....so far none from 'silly-bank' has call me.....touch wood...... [:p]

I think the caller picha her own lobang big time since she called my dad and I with the same storyline. No wonder she sound so dodgy about details about my application.

Bottom line is, be alert of your financial decisions and don't anyhow put signature!

i kena normal type of banker sales:

Girl: sir, we are calling from so and so bank, it is a convienent time to talk?

Me: orh! ok! ok! ok! i pay up! i pay up! just give me 2 more weeks! i surely pay up! [sly]

Girl: Actually, we are calling to offer you blah blah blah......

Me: no need lah, i owe bank so much, no need lah [laugh]:D

Girl: Ok Sie, thank you very much for your time

[laugh]:D[laugh]

a lady from prudential also try the same stunt. saying i made a appointment with her to call back then ask me where i work. same boring stunt they also tried on me a year earlier. think they from the same team all learn the same method.

On 12/14/2011 at 1:28 AM, Mustank said:

i kena normal type of banker sales:

Girl: sir, we are calling from so and so bank, it is a convienent time to talk?

Me: orh! ok! ok! ok! i pay up! i pay up! just give me 2 more weeks! i surely pay up! [sly]

Girl: Actually, we are calling to offer you blah blah blah......

Me: no need lah, i owe bank so much, no need lah [laugh]:D

Girl: Ok Sie, thank you very much for your time

[laugh] [laugh] good idea!

maybe its me,

but i know what cards i need,

thus will not have a situation whereby i applied for something which never came and i forgot about it.

i feel that this is probably a trick on their part.

no phone recording, thus no proof.

i think u can try if you kena next time,

"you're sure i signed up ?"

when they reply "ya"

"ok, then send me the form back and i will sign again.

btw, this conversation is recorded ar. Company policy ar, bo bian.

if i find out that you misrep, i surely will complain you one ar"

see who hang up on who this time.

SCAM! I believe every CITIbank customer received this one. There is another one by post about assesstment/wealth management, in which they invite us to collect cashcards by producing your NRIC for verifirification. They will likely take a photocopy of your IC for their SCAM behind our back. A couple of years earlier, also a lady would make cold calls to sell insurance policy by phone. She could not identify herself to my satisfaction, when she asked me for identification verification over the phone.

On 12/13/2011 at 2:45 PM, Lucaswh said:

A bit long but please read...

Received a phone call today from Citibank. Some girl on the line told me that a credit card which I applied for in May/June this year had some processing issues and offered to 'resend' me the form via email so I can 'just put a signature' on it to get the card up and running.

Problem is I don't recall applying for any card so I told her that since it has already been half a year, I probably didn't need the card anymore but just send me the form and details anyway. Didn't think much of it as I had intended to just ignore the request as I don't want any card, even if I had signed up for it.

So I went home today and apparently, my dad also tio the same caller! Interesting thing is..same storyline! And again, my dad being the alert one, told me that he too, didn't sign up for any card in May/June period.

We were quite suspicious about this whole thing and after discussion, we were really certain there was no such application made before!

Hence bros, do take note...the caller will know some of your details and will probably offer to send you some form. THINK before you sign anything and forward back!

*Looking at the scanned form they sent me, if their storyline were to be true and that I had indeed signed up in May/June, why is it that they don't even have information like my i/c number which I would have probably filled in at that point in time? And they only sent me one part of a form..the part which required personal info and siggie, nothing about the details of the card which I had supposedly applied or and requested over the phone.*

And what kind of bank will take more than half a year to get back to you about a flawed application?

So bros, please beware!

Please report police....

On 12/13/2011 at 3:03 PM, WTF said:

I think you can do that on the 'Silly-bank' website...Last month I got the same phone call from the bank's telemarketers calling me even though I told the first one that I'm not interested and don't call me back.

then I found a link on its website to remove my number from its list.....so far none from 'silly-bank' has call me.....touch wood...... [:p]

can send the link?

On 12/13/2011 at 3:34 PM, LoverofCar said:

The best way to stop all these is to tell them that you filing bankruptcy ...confirm stop ...

Minimum 02 calls weekly - from credit card companies..

Told them earning 1.2K / not qualified.... [rolleyes]

& insisted dat credit bureau not updated

Once infront of my bozz.... [grin]

[laugh][laugh][laugh]