Goldbug 6th Gear October 27, 2014 Share October 27, 2014 I remember during Wallaby, a lot of SM1s will breakdown or stuck somewhere.... Dun know why. The M113s dun really have much problems and can all make it back to 'Rose Garden'. Track too narrow ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged October 28, 2014 Share October 28, 2014 Track too narrow Really? I tot M113 track even more narrow. Hmmm... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged October 28, 2014 Share October 28, 2014 (edited) Wah....the driver then driving the AMX13 must be dam jialat !! Must steer and change gears as well..... Not only AMX13, the other "classified" armor vehicle also same same. Halfway breakdown always need mechanic to do field repairs. Think all same company built one so all same problem. French product pui! Right bro Vega? Can see that the strongest part of the tank (front and sides) are installed with reactive armour while the vulnerable parts are protected by the grill from RPG attacks.Not reactive armor, composite armor. SAF still never equipped their tanks with reactive armour for safety reasons.Dont know train how many days and months to perfect the drill but hor..a tank belongs to the field not tarmac. once armour always armour !!On the contrary, it's quite an easy maneuver to execute due to its tracked configuration. Don't really need much practice. In fact during my ns days an m113 once did such maneuver while parking at our leaguer area. M113 or bionix drift and no one bags an eye, leopard 2 drifts and everyone looses their mind.. Edited October 28, 2014 by Pocus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged October 28, 2014 Author Share October 28, 2014 Not only AMX13, the other "classified" armor vehicle also same same. Halfway breakdown always need mechanic to do field repairs. Think all same company built one so all same problem. French product pui! Right bro Vega? ya. after operating French machines for so many years in the army, I will skip all the Citroen, Peugeot and Renault. But thinking back, SM1 are quite robust. we have situations where the road wheel gone missing without us knowing and the tank still can drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged October 28, 2014 Author Share October 28, 2014 Really? I tot M113 track even more narrow. Hmmm... that's what I think too. SM1 tracks are wider than the M113. I don't think the width of the track is the issue. the heavier the vehicle, the wider the track in order to spread the weight. SM1 are very old tank and are prone to break down. even for brand new vehicles, our unit have 50% breakdown rate everytime we move out....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged October 28, 2014 Share October 28, 2014 ya. after operating French machines for so many years in the army, I will skip all the Citroen, Peugeot and Renault. So you mean the SM1 is using an engine made by one of the 3 French auto companies ? SM1 are very old tank and are prone to break down. even for brand new vehicles, our unit have 50% breakdown rate everytime we move out....... But once breakdown, the crew can relat and liang liang liao.... just sit back and wait for recovery to come. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged October 28, 2014 Share October 28, 2014 (edited) So you mean the SM1 is using an engine made by one of the 3 French auto companies ? The AMX13 does use engine and transmission from older French companies. But the upgraded SM1 tanks uses Detroit diesel engines with automatic transmission. It's the built quality and design of the tank that cannot withstand time. It's suspension are not exactly cutting edge. The SM1 upgrade already extended its life to the furthest limit thats it can live. Machiam a zombie tank Edited October 28, 2014 by Pocus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged October 28, 2014 Author Share October 28, 2014 So you mean the SM1 is using an engine made by one of the 3 French auto companies ? But once breakdown, the crew can relat and liang liang liao.... just sit back and wait for recovery to come. The original AMX13 are French made by Giat Industries. I think we made modification to the engine and gearbox locally to come the SM1. Yes, once breakdown beyond crew level repair, we can shake legs liao.... and we know of a way to kill the vehicle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spinelli_ck 6th Gear October 28, 2014 Share October 28, 2014 think the AMX13 tanks we had were purchased from the "Mexicans". btw, does any bro still remember the chocolate milk sold in the canteen at the North Camp in Shoalwater Bay? it's called Breaka or something like that. that was the most popular drink in the canteen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear October 28, 2014 Share October 28, 2014 Leopard 2 has rubber pads on its tracks and all its laying down is rubber - at least until the track pads come flying off. A good monsoon downpour will wash the rubber away. You want to complain about RSAF Black Knights burning away "your" JP-9 during aerobatics display, or the SAF shooting up fireworks paid with "your" money during National Day or not? I am ok for National Day - best can demo missiles live firing. How come suddenly got so many armour ? Terror On Tracks ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cavver 4th Gear October 28, 2014 Share October 28, 2014 looks like the parade square of 46SAR. or is it SOA? Yes, the old 46SAR, now SOA/ATI move into there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged October 28, 2014 Author Share October 28, 2014 Yes, the old 46SAR, now SOA/ATI move into there. bro, am I right to say 46 closed shop liao? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cavver 4th Gear October 28, 2014 Share October 28, 2014 Not only AMX13, the other "classified" armor vehicle also same same. Halfway breakdown always need mechanic to do field repairs. Think all same company built one so all same problem. French product pui! Right bro Vega? Not reactive armor, composite armor. SAF still never equipped their tanks with reactive armour for safety reasons. On the contrary, it's quite an easy maneuver to execute due to its tracked configuration. Don't really need much practice. In fact during my ns days an m113 once did such maneuver while parking at our leaguer area. M113 or bionix drift and no one bags an eye, leopard 2 drifts and everyone looses their mind.. Cause all from the same *Ahem* MX family mah. bro, am I right to say 46 closed shop liao? As of my ORD, the 46 T-shirts sell off like limited edition. Yep, belong to legacy now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged October 28, 2014 Author Share October 28, 2014 Cause all from the same *Ahem* MX family mah. As of my ORD, the 46 T-shirts sell off like limited edition. Yep, belong to legacy now. OIC. which yr they close shop? so now 8SAB command which SAR? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged October 28, 2014 Share October 28, 2014 Cause all from the same *Ahem* MX family mah. As of my ORD, the 46 T-shirts sell off like limited edition. Yep, belong to legacy now. Oh, how come closed shop liao....?!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged October 28, 2014 Share October 28, 2014 cos my unit using diff tanks and IFV which was still classified during that time....... anyway, we are the only armour unit under Guards command....... You from 42? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged October 28, 2014 Share October 28, 2014 (edited) Cause all from the same *Ahem* MX family mah. Aiyah actually no big secret liao lah, why are we beating round the bush, already phrase out and NS unit MR liao.... Listed in Wiki is considered declassified liao. As of my ORD, the 46 T-shirts sell off like limited edition. Yep, belong to legacy now. The slogan "Through thick and thin" started from my batch donkey years ago... Will miss this "Unseen, Unheard, Unsung, yet done" battalion. Goodbye 46SAR, the battalion is than SAF deserves but not the one it needs now. (cue from The Dark Knight...lol) Edited October 28, 2014 by Pocus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged October 28, 2014 Share October 28, 2014 (edited) think the AMX13 tanks we had were purchased from the "Mexicans". It's no secret, some of the chassis are war veterans from the Six Day war. After the war the Mexicans concluded that the 75mm gun is ineffective against the larger tanks and upgrade their AMX13 with 90mm cannon. They sold the rest of the 75mm to other countries including Singapore. Same for our M113s, some of them are Vietnam war veterans reburbish for us. some of the earlier batch have reinforce steel plates are the front axle to protect the driver from AT mine blasts. And some had scars of bullet holes being filled up and sealed as part of the refurbishing. Hear the US sold us the APCs super cheap and that's how SAF armor suddenly got 2 battalions worth of APCs overnight. Edited October 28, 2014 by Pocus ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...