Leopard 2 tank upgrade

Vega

I rep my unit back in 94 for the top gun event. I was the tank gunner.

i believe you were using the SM1 tank back then. how accurate was the main gun when you fired on the move?

SM1 cannot do fire on the move. what we do is short halt firing if we need to return fire on the move. [laugh]

Last time I also got do using the m113

But M113 manoeuvre is tougher cos its using the pivot steering (2 sticks type), whereas Leopard is using a squarish steering wheel.

Anyway M113 is very old machine liao, but nonetheless, a very reliable one. [thumbsup]

Me ?!?!

Ok, The person sitting on top of the tank, male or female ? Can't see clearly. Hmm....

Is a girl called LTA Ann

But M113 manoeuvre is tougher cos its using the pivot steering (2 sticks type), whereas Leopard is using a squarish steering wheel.

Anyway M113 is very old machine liao, but nonetheless, a very reliable one. [thumbsup]

Pre-SM1 era AMX 13 is the worst... Manual Trans + Bike handle steering.

I can only see the ground being damaged. Who is going to pay for it ??

Leopard 2 has rubber pads on its tracks and all its laying down is rubber - at least until the track pads come flying off. A good monsoon downpour will wash the rubber away.

You want to complain about RSAF Black Knights burning away "your" JP-9 during aerobatics display, or the SAF shooting up fireworks paid with "your" money during National Day or not?

SM1 cannot do fire on the move. what we do is short halt firing if we need to return fire on the move. [laugh]

I remember during Wallaby, a lot of SM1s will breakdown or stuck somewhere.... [laugh] Dun know why.

The M113s dun really have much problems and can all make it back to 'Rose Garden'.

Missed the days of sand table and table-top activities.

O ya. those were the days.......which I find it very stupid to do table top activities..... [laugh]

my fav still live firing but from the video, looks like they don't use oil drums anymore.

Pre-SM1 era AMX 13 is the worst... Manual Trans + Bike handle steering.

Wah....the driver then driving the AMX13 must be dam jialat !! Must steer and change gears as well..... [sweatdrop]

I remember during Wallaby, a lot of SM1s will breakdown or stuck somewhere.... [laugh] Dun know why.

The M113s dun really have much problems and can all make it back to 'Rose Garden'.

my unit never have the chance to go overseas during active days. the only place we go is P. Sudong..... [:(]

Go overseas also got its cons lah.... got to attend briefing, pack alibaba bag, inspection, take plane....miss my gf/wifey for a few weeks, etc. Come back still must do medical checkup... [sweatdrop]

At least still over the sea right ? [laugh]

Go overseas also got its cons lah.... got to attend briefing, pack alibaba bag, inspection, take plane....miss my gf/wifey for a few weeks, etc. Come back still must do medical checkup... [sweatdrop]

I was looking forward to take aeroplane for the very first time in my life when I was enlisten.....but it didn't happen...... [:(]

At least still over the sea right ? [laugh]

ya. launching from LST L206 was a experience of a life time!!

I was looking forward to take aeroplane for the very first time in my life when I was enlisten.....but it didn't happen...... [:(]

For many of us that was the first plane ride! Must go into airport via back gate late at night like smugglers, waited along the fence for hours and got to release oneself against the airport fence (which must have rusted very quickly).....

the way our NSFs are treated compare to how the US citizens treat their soldiers are very different.

That is why I always make it a point to thank our soldiers for their service whenever I attend a SAF organized events like AOH.

Then come back also from back gate, but must stand in straight line behind a fence to let the sniffer dogs 'smell' you..... [:(]

i thought all tankees needed to go ROC for some MBT training before they ORD? during '93 and '94 my unit had soldiers attached to active or NSmen units for overseas armour exercises.

cos my unit using diff tanks and IFV which was still classified during that time.......

anyway, we are the only armour unit under Guards command.......