Newkid 2nd Gear December 13, 2011 Share December 13, 2011 they play 2nd fiddle to F1, The successful bidder oso at fault for not doing their homework, no funds yet bid so high, dun think it's gonna to be here anytime earlier, so might as well, call it quit. If allow to bid again, dun think any1 can do a better job, I way I look at it, Gvt is half-hearted, not gonna to work here for the next 2 years until some1 can come out with better solution/sponsorship to pull it our of this s--t-hole. With or w/o this motorsport hub, Life goes on for me . . . What are we gonna to see, more young punk showing off their reckless driving skills . . . The how-lian, teh tua-pain or the ferrari wannabee? Show-off ! haha, I agree, the contractor is obliged to deliver once tender is closed and contract is awarded. let's wait and see what the govtm's next move is. If it is to encourage motorsport, which can achieve a win-win situation where people can have a track to use and the govtm can reduce the Orchard Gudang syndrome, why not? i hope ISD dun come after me.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 13, 2011 Share December 13, 2011 (edited) and NZ's population: as at Wednesday, 14 Dec 2011 at 04:44:06 am 4,431,784 about the same as sgp of course having vast space does help in building up motoring sports/culture. note: one of previous PM of NZ was a motoring fan? Check out this list... New Zealand Street circuits Cemetery Circuit, Wanganui (AKA Southern Hemisphere's Isle of Man) Dunedin Street Circuit, Dunedin (see also Southern Festival of Speed) Hamilton Street Circuit, Hamilton City (AKA Hamilton 400) Paeroa Street Circuit, Paeroa (AKA Battle of the Streets) Permanent circuits Hampton Downs, North Waikato Manfeild Autocourse, Feilding Powerbuilt Raceway at Ruapuna Park, Christchurch Pukekohe Park Raceway, Pukekohe Taupo Motorsport Park, Taupo Teretonga Park, Invercargill Timaru International Motor Raceway (levels), Timaru Drag strips Fram Autolite Dragway, Meremere Masterton Motorplex, Masterton Motueka Aerodrome, Motueka Powerbuilt Raceway at Ruapuna Park, Christchurch Taupo Motorsport Park, Taupo Inactive tracks Wellington Street Circuit, Wellington City (see also Wellington 500) Wigram Airfield Circuit, Christchurch (see also Tasman Series) Historic tracks Ardmore, South Auckland (circuit/drag racing) Kerrs Road, Wiri (drag racing) Muriwai Beach, Muriwai Napier Airport (drag racing) Thunderpark, Hastings (drag racing) Of course - New Zealand also has many famous drivers / constructors. Two of the most famous would be Bruce McClaren (YES!! THAT McClaren) and John Britten - not forgetting Denny Hulme and Chris Amon, both of whom competed in F1, and also Scott Dixon and Wade Cunningham.... Edited December 13, 2011 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear December 14, 2011 Share December 14, 2011 will most of us still choose sgp for the next life? most of them will not know where they will be when they mati...one thing for sure, in an urn placed inside a niche for most...next life??? 3 places...heaven, hell or limbo on earth.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jetabout777 1st Gear December 14, 2011 Share December 14, 2011 govt cannot give. ppl will question. first they discourage speeding. then they give money to build track. Which government in the right mind would encourage speeding in the first place? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jetabout777 1st Gear December 14, 2011 Share December 14, 2011 and NZ's population: as at Wednesday, 14 Dec 2011 at 04:44:06 am 4,431,784 about the same as sgp of course having vast space does help in building up motoring sports/culture. note: one of previous PM of NZ was a motoring fan? And so does the lower ownership costs for a vehicle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged December 14, 2011 Share December 14, 2011 (edited) and NZ's population: as at Wednesday, 14 Dec 2011 at 04:44:06 am 4,431,784 about the same as sgp of course having vast space does help in building up motoring sports/culture. note: one of previous PM of NZ was a motoring fan? Wow dude - you're switched on! Off the top of my head I think that would most likely be David Lange - During his tenure as Prime Minister, Lange engaged in competitive motor-sport, appearing in the New Zealand One Make Ford Laser Sport series. There will most likely be others that were fans though..... By the way - Lange was one of our "better" PMs - and really did quite a lot for the country... The names I mentioned are not the half of it - the other super famous one is either Rod or Steve Millen (I forget which) who is now synonmous with the Pike's Peak challlenge.....also Steve Lowndes.... Edited December 14, 2011 by Darryn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged December 14, 2011 Share December 14, 2011 And so does the lower ownership costs for a vehicle. There's a couple of things that build into it - One is a innovative and experimentation based culture that leads to people building their own cars in their garage, another is that it is easy to transport race dedicated cars to and from events by putting a car on a trailer and then pulling it behind your own car. But to note - one thing in favour of Singapore - if you get an SMSA licence for your car, it is exempt from COE and also (I think) ARF - so if you want to keep a "track only" car it is easy. Although I do believe there are storage challenges (it can't be parked in HDB!) although that shouldn't be insurmountable. If I were SMSA I would be looking towards 1. Getting an easy way to transport cars off the ground 2. Investigating long term storage 3. Making it simple to take race dedicated cars across the border - this one in particular I think is important - I could imagine a 6 or 7 race privateer series - say Changi, Pasir Gudang, Sepang, Ipoh, Malacca and Georgetown - if the participation was made easy for people from both sides of the causeway. There would (I think) be enough participants, and none of the distances are too troublesome.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged December 14, 2011 Share December 14, 2011 BTW - I posted a comment here: https://www.facebook.com/letsplaysg - why not go and offer comment about what you would like to see done to support the hub? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...