Trying to pass off base Rex as STi

Boyboy

"Subaru Impreza WRX STI" for sale

see above link.

The text reads "No Jokes. Logcard Shows "STI" But With A Lower OMV Than Real "STI""

Problem is when I look at the pics, the rims seem to be 16", cannot clear the STI stock brembo. The intercooler doesn't have the red STI words painted on, and is too small to be STI intercooler. The seats are black, which look like stock rex seats. The steering wheel doesn't seem to have the STI enblem. I'm betting that it's a "full demod to rex", and that it's a 5 speeder gearbox as well.. Wonder if they WROTE "sti" on the logcard. No surprises that the selling price is in base rex territory.

Currently own a 2004/5 STi, and when I was shopping for mine, I came across such instances of cheating too. There it was to my face. I didn't know anything about wrx or sti then but thankfully a dad's friend was accompanying me to shop around, and I learned how to distinguish the two (can't be 100% sure but there are signs if a wrx didn't do a full 'conversion', or if a stock STi has been stripped for parts and downgrade to rex parts)

the last time i came across this was when I was browsing at ubi carmart. don't know if they did the same shenanigans online.

This one is definitely a base rex. if the dealers themselves can't deferentiate one, the should be selling shoes, not cars.

one can know if it's a GDA or GDB base on the markings on the lower portion of the right hand side windscreen.

sometimes, i wonder if the sellers got brains or not. log card states 'STi'. so what? its obviously a base rex. the same as my i/c name is Andy but it doesn't automactically make me Andy Lau. koaz..

btw, how the fark the log card can state this particular one as 'STi'? printing error?

On 12/10/2011 at 3:05 AM, 20G said:

This one is definitely a base rex. if the dealers themselves can't deferentiate one, the should be selling shoes, not cars.

one can know if it's a GDA or GDB base on the markings on the lower portion of the right hand side windscreen.

sometimes, i wonder if the sellers got brains or not. log card states 'STi'. so what? its obviously a base rex. the same as my i/c name is Andy but it doesn't automactically make me Andy Lau. koaz..

btw, how the fark the log card can state this particular one as 'STi'? printing error?

Could it be the WRX tuned by STi version?

I seem to recall that there was a special edition of the WRX that came stock with STi parts, but is not a full STi-spec car.

In any case, could be the tuned by STi edition but looking at the photos, the parts have all but been stripped and then fitted with parts from a base rex.

base rex omv is 20k+-

sti is 30k+

the rest of the parts, brembo, bbs gold rim, dccd for 2006 onward, 6spd, big spoiler + small spoiler(2006 onward), rear fender, sti tmic, hid light, climate control, intercooler water spray, dump valve. n still got many more.

best way to make sure eveything is in, bring it to a subaru pro shop n check before buying.

On 12/10/2011 at 3:10 AM, Nightsky said:

Could it be the WRX tuned by STi version?

I seem to recall that there was a special edition of the WRX that came stock with STi parts, but is not a full STi-spec car.

In any case, could be the tuned by STi edition but looking at the photos, the parts have all but been stripped and then fitted with parts from a base rex.

tuned by STi also b-------t one la. it still doesn't make the car a STi ma. far from it. hee hee. im really surprise got ppl bought that idea..

to me, an STi is an STi, a base rex is a base rex regardless tuned by who or wat. even if the base rex is fully done up and surpasses the STi, it's still a base rex.

u can cheat others, but its really sad if ur trying to cheat urself. hahaha..

having said so, im not biased against rex. I've owned both rex and STi and i love them both regardless. :)

On 12/10/2011 at 3:21 AM, Cdior said:

base rex omv is 20k+-

sti is 30k+

the rest of the parts, brembo, bbs gold rim, dccd for 2006 onward, 6spd, big spoiler + small spoiler(2006 onward), rear fender, sti tmic, hid light, climate control, intercooler water spray, dump valve. n still got many more.

best way to make sure eveything is in, bring it to a subaru pro shop n check before buying.

ya i agree. bring in to a subaru pro garage and let them access.

btw, ur signature hor. NA is a waste of time.. dun like dat lei.. u very biased. hee hee.

On 12/10/2011 at 3:30 AM, 20G said:

ya i agree. bring in to a subaru pro garage and let them access.

btw, ur signature hor. NA is a waste of time.. dun like dat lei.. u very biased. hee hee.

hmmm i drive 10 years of NA car.

i always tot NA v fun, till i start driving turbo.

damn NA wait for cam to switch @ 6k, peak torque @ 6k.

really waste time.

imho !

Its confirm a base rex.

First manifold is not red....intercooler small...interior the carpet is not blue...door trims are not blue...

My WRX Auto can pass off as a STi lagi easier....cos many things is STi...hahahahaha...

This one ok liao...at least price is WRX price. Last time I saw one for auction...S204...whole car machem like stock Rex !!

On 12/10/2011 at 3:50 AM, Ghostrider said:

Its confirm a base rex.

First manifold is not red....intercooler small...interior the carpet is not blue...door trims are not blue...

My WRX Auto can pass off as a STi lagi easier....cos many things is STi...hahahahaha...

This one ok liao...at least price is WRX price. Last time I saw one for auction...S204...whole car machem like stock Rex !!

i saw one on sale that was matt black one. spoiler gone. seats gone. rims gone. i believe many parts oso gone. knn..

On 12/10/2011 at 3:48 AM, Cdior said:

hmmm i drive 10 years of NA car.

i always tot NA v fun, till i start driving turbo.

damn NA wait for cam to switch @ 6k, peak torque @ 6k.

really waste time.

imho !

i got rid of my sti coz the lag was getting annoying. waiting for the full boost to come on oso waste of time. hahaha..

On 12/10/2011 at 4:27 AM, Pancake49 said:

possible a real sti but parts were taken out to sell n swap with base rex [knife]

dun think so la. sti omv smelly smelly $28k and above. unless the figure can be doctored oso i nothing to say. hee hee. by the way, no matter how or which angle i see hor, it doesnt look like a sti. maybe i dun know much afterall. [laugh]

bro, i confirmed it's a base rex.. missed out on the omv.. that's a base rex omv!! [rifle]

On 12/10/2011 at 4:51 AM, 20G said:

dun think so la. sti omv smelly smelly $28k and above. unless the figure can be doctored oso i nothing to say. hee hee. by the way, no matter how or which angle i see hor, it doesnt look like a sti. maybe i dun know much afterall. [laugh]