What is on your mind?

Stiener

That's why sometimes I find signaling your intention would prevent ppl from giving way to u, especially in Singapore.. Being too used to it, I especially like to change lanes in front of those drivers who seemed reluctant to give way, without signaling.. :D

I think the other driver will probably be ranting that no signal and just cut in. I thought I saw comments in this thread that they don't give way to ppl that don't signal. And you tactic is not to signal if the driver is reluntant to give way. Seems like a vicious cycle.

If the 2 schools - one avocating that a driver should not give way because others fail to signal and the other believe that signalling is not necessary as the other driver will not give way - which group started this trend. Sounds like a chicken and egg thing.

Either way, we have seen a few reasonings in this thread. How about the rest? You nv had such problems? Maybe its our driving technique that is wrong?

In the event of an accident when the oncoming car hit the car (on the door) that is doing a lane change and travelling diagonally. Who has the advantage of claiming 3rd party.

Looking for some comments from drivers who do not allow others to move into your lane during a traffic jam. When a driver has signal way ahead and slowly inching (part of the car body) into your lane. Under what circumstances would you want to drive up and cut off his route to complete that lane change even at the risk of a collision?

I really cannot find a logical reason and give you the benefit of doubt cos I always try to assist other driver to lane change when they are stuck.

If under circumstances if the other driver trying to cut queue from behind and then cut into your lane, die die also should not give way to this type of driver! [:|]

I think the other driver will probably be ranting that no signal and just cut in. I thought I saw comments in this thread that they don't give way to ppl that don't signal. And you tactic is not to signal if the driver is reluntant to give way. Seems like a vicious cycle.

If the 2 schools - one avocating that a driver should not give way because others fail to signal and the other believe that signalling is not necessary as the other driver will not give way - which group started this trend. Sounds like a chicken and egg thing.

Either way, we have seen a few reasonings in this thread. How about the rest? You nv had such problems? Maybe its our driving technique that is wrong?

Actually, you can easily observe whether the driver wants to change lane. Normally, I would close the gap if beforehand I noticed the driver changed lane without signalling. Too bad if the driver missed the turn.

But sometimes even you try to close the gap, some driver still die die also drive into your lane!

If under circumstances if the other driver trying to cut queue from behind and then cut into your lane, die die also should not give way to this type of driver! [:|]

If it's a jam on all 4 lanes and I was trying to move from lane 3 to 4 in order to exit. That will not be taken as queue cutting right? Under such circumstances, would you give way?

For me, i will surely give way. But i observe many drivers would not give way. Even you sucess in changing lane, you will also got horn or flash or even finger pointing from other drivers! :D

But sometimes even you try to close the gap, some driver still die die also drive into your lane!

Then you can prove to the driver you have a very powerful horn otherwise the horn installed would be useless! [laugh]

Another way to teach that idiot is to ram into the car provided your car has a harder metal and NCAP rating and you have time, money and in-car cam to fight for your right. [sweatdrop]

Lol, i be honest here, i do cut queue pretty often.. Everytime kay siao and pretend its an honest mistake that i forgot to keep into the lane early. Of cos I'm always very appreciative if people allow me to cut in, and control anger by giving a friendly wave to the driver. He must be thinking,"NB, another a------e who cut queue, lucky at least he got some basic courtesy to wave thank you." Having said that, sometimes i do get sibei tulan when nobody gives way to me. Maybe becos i really thought i forgot to keep into lane early, that others need to have some courtesy to spare a thought for me. Well, that's typical hor..

I'm not advocating drivers to be inconsiderate, namely drivers who cut queues and drivers who do not give way. But if you wanna do so, do it with proper judgement, decisiveness and character.. If you want to cut lane, make sure that the other party has time to slow down when u cut in, or not you are a dick for dangerous driving which should be condemn. If a car cuts into my lane swiftly not being too dangerous, I'm actually ok with it, he skillful mah... I prefer this type than those pussy want to cut, don't dare to cut or take their own sweet time to cut. For those who don't give way, if you don't like to give way to others, don't freaking stay so far from the front vehicle, keep a distance where u think people cannot cut into your lane. Don't be an a------e to speed up close only when ppl signal intention to change lane. These drivers obviously have some sort of character problem. Having said that, i am very often both of these categories, just that I don't do it the irritating manner..

i only 'block' those who signal and try to squeeze their way all at the same time.... if they give advance signal, no prob... :D

Try giving advance signal to the taxi....

their highway code probably taught them it means to accelerate and cover up any spaces possible for the car to move in...

every morning i have to go through the same process coming to work...

depending on the mood that day... on a good mood i wait for a chance...

on a day when i feel pissed, i will probably insist on getting in before the taxi....

its not that hard to give way... i always give way as long as i see a signal...

this helps everyone prevents accidents....

Lol, i be honest here, i do cut queue pretty often.. Everytime kay siao and pretend its an honest mistake that i forgot to keep into the lane early. Of cos I'm always very appreciative if people allow me to cut in, and control anger by giving a friendly wave to the driver. He must be thinking,"NB, another a------e who cut queue, lucky at least he got some basic courtesy to wave thank you." Having said that, sometimes i do get sibei tulan when nobody gives way to me. Maybe becos i really thought i forgot to keep into lane early, that others need to have some courtesy to spare a thought for me. Well, that's typical hor..

I'm not advocating drivers to be inconsiderate, namely drivers who cut queues and drivers who do not give way. But if you wanna do so, do it with proper judgement, decisiveness and character.. If you want to cut lane, make sure that the other party has time to slow down when u cut in, or not you are a dick for dangerous driving which should be condemn. If a car cuts into my lane swiftly not being too dangerous, I'm actually ok with it, he skillful mah... I prefer this type than those pussy want to cut, don't dare to cut or take their own sweet time to cut. For those who don't give way, if you don't like to give way to others, don't freaking stay so far from the front vehicle, keep a distance where u think people cannot cut into your lane. Don't be an a------e to speed up close only when ppl signal intention to change lane. These drivers obviously have some sort of character problem. Having said that, i am very often both of these categories, just that I don't do it the irritating manner..

Thank you for your honesty and sharing... In case of a jam, how much of space do you think that is reasonable for the driver assess safe before coming in. If it is anything less than 80% of my car length, can don't think I can move in safe without the other driver braking a lot. Chances are that I cannot accelerate too much as cars in front may jam brake anytime.

Looking forward to see what others have in mind.

Edited by Stiener

ever experienced a kukubird cutting in @ 60 degrees? 45 degrees is still okay means there is still some space so still can give and take. but 60 degrees cut in meant that the car is virtually next to you. quite CB.

Either the other person is driving a big car or you are driving a small car. That's why he perform 60 degrees stunt! :D

I thought there was a complaint about a beemer that cut across 3 lanes at nearly 90 degree?

Thank you for your honesty and sharing... In case of a jam, how much of space do you think that is reasonable for the driver assess safe before coming in. If it is anything less than 80% of my car length, can don't think I can move in safe without the other driver braking a lot. Chances are that I cannot accelerate too much as cars in front may jam brake anytime.

Looking forward to see what others have in mind.

I think it all depends on idividual judgement on the traffic, your own speed and the speed of both front and back cars in the other lane. In your case, you may be referring to jam like those we see experience in Customs since you are talking about allowance of less than 1 metre. Usually if the distance between the 2 cars are so close while moving, its obvious that the driver behind is not going to let u cut his lane. Seriously, it all depends on traffic situation. If same scenario both cars front and back are stationary, i don't see why u can't cut in since there is still allowance for your front edge to cut in. Just my opinion :)

As a lane-cutter (not all the time, about 1-2 times a week), i do choose who i 'cut':

Top on the list is taxis..... i just cut in and let them avoid me

Second on the list is big/highend car:- these people are quite well off and are most likely "somebody" ie they are already enjoying a fair share of 'respect'/good life everyday, and most pple see them 'up', so i dont really hesitate to rub them the wrong way or make them TL... wont hurt them.

Whatever the case, i will cut 'safely' ie they still have to slow down to avoid me but not to E-brake like mad... usually i make sure my speed matches their before i cut in

I will try really hard not to 'cut' the lane of small or humble cars..... they are already being bullied everyday by others, i try not to increase their pains.

Edited by KARTer

As a lane-cutter (not all the time, about 1-2 times a week), i do choose who i 'cut':

Top on the list is taxis..... i just cut in and let them avoid me

Second on the list is big/highend car:- these people are quite well off and are most likely "somebody" ie they are already enjoying a fair share of 'respect'/good life everyday, and most pple see them 'up', so i dont really hesitate to rub them the wrong way or make them TL... wont hurt them.

Whatever the case, i will cut 'safely' ie they still have to slow down to avoid me but not to E-brake like mad... usually i make sure my speed matches their before i cut in

I will try really hard not to 'cut' the lane of small or humble cars..... they are already being bullied everyday by others, i try not to increase their pains.

So driving a luxury model is as good as inviting trouble?

Not big trouble, just slow down when i cut in :D

but if it will cause him e-brake, i wont cut in