What is on your mind?

Stiener

On 12/10/2011 at 1:37 AM, KARTer said:

LOL..... it could well be RadX...... [lipsrsealed]

(if you dont know him, do a search on his threads/posts)

Walao, not afraid to die, ah? :blink:

Literally, because after you die, RadX may be your undertaker. [laugh]

I was about to post that supposed car enthusiasts (like the sort we supposedly find on a supposed car forum like MCF) are unlikely to do this sort of thing. Supposedly.

Then I remembered that we have a whole proud pro-hogger contingent here. As far as I'm concerned, it's the same narrow mindset. So you may check with them with regard to what's on their minds. :D

don't signal too early. signal only after you find a comfortable spot to filter into, then on your signal about 3 to 4 secs before filtering. I notice that if you on your signal too early, chances of filtering successfully will be much lower because cars on the other lanes will speed up and close the gap. 3 to 4 sec is enough to warn them, but not enough for them to suddenly speed up and close the gap, unless those are high-end performance cars

On 12/11/2011 at 4:25 AM, Laiwh said:

don't signal too early. signal only after you find a comfortable spot to filter into, then on your signal about 3 to 4 secs before filtering. I notice that if you on your signal too early, chances of filtering successfully will be much lower because cars on the other lanes will speed up and close the gap. 3 to 4 sec is enough to warn them, but not enough for them to suddenly speed up and close the gap, unless those are high-end performance cars

ya lo this is the f fact here. in developed countries, pple give way when they see signal, here its opposite haha. damn, even in the US, when I was driving the 101, cars on the freeway even give way to cars entering.

I think we would most certainly like to hear from drivers who don't give way and will fill the gaps whenever they can. If you are saying that signalling too early triggers the response for the other drivers to step on the gas. The cause and effect. But what in the mind that makes these drivers want to fill the gap instead of slowing down to create that space enough for the car to filter in safely.

On 12/11/2011 at 3:25 AM, Turboflat4 said:

I was about to post that supposed car enthusiasts (like the sort we supposedly find on a supposed car forum like MCF) are unlikely to do this sort of thing. Supposedly.

Then I remembered that we have a whole proud pro-hogger contingent here. As far as I'm concerned, it's the same narrow mindset. So you may check with them with regard to what's on their minds. :D

I believe there are such drivers among us who can share with us why it is not in them to slow down and assist the other drivers. If they post something that is not acceptable to the general will, would anyone flame them?

This qns always hit my mind especially when I assisted this car to come into my lane earlier but yet it does not offer similar help to others along the way. Seems like the Give & Take doesn't really apply to such drivers.

On 12/10/2011 at 2:36 AM, Speedsun said:

Have been driving for 10+ years, seldom really encountered "behind car accelerated and close gap" problem. Perhaps my practice is I do not signal too in advance when switching lane, I will moderate my speed to ensure I can safely switch to another lane then turn on my signal and start to change lane. Therefore the behind car will have not much time to close up the gap that fast???

hahaha...I do the same thing as you. do it well and its safe and fuss free.

as for giving way to filtering cars, depends. observed a lot of cars take advantage of queues and cut right in front, these I do not give way. otherwise, I will slow down and make spaces to "inform" that I am giving way. Those dilly dally ones I also bochup...giving way to them means stuck behind and feeling frustrated.

one particular area where I do not change lane and I dot not expect one to change lane is at yellow boxes. The boxes are meant for vehicles turning out, not an opportunity to change lane.

3 to 4 secs is too slow. around 1 to 2 s is enough depending on road condition and you do not cause the vehicle behind to brake or slow down excessively. always look in advance for space and "victims" and do it decisively.

sometimes I even flip the signal and change at the same time. whatever but must signal, sometimes its not for the drivers on the lane that you are changing to, but for drivers say two lanes away. two cars may be changing to the same lane and even the same spot, can be for driver in front or driver at the back. so must always signal. I no car also signal, dun forget, still got pedestrians trying to read what you are trying to do.

on the road must be kin car kin chiu. this is not being kiasu or what, its to be precise and decisive, knowing the behaviours of drivers on our roads.

On 12/11/2011 at 7:27 AM, Stiener said:

I believe there are such drivers among us who can share with us why it is not in them to slow down and assist the other drivers. If they post something that is not acceptable to the general will, would anyone flame them?

It has been shared by Kia0042......old school "save yourself and don't expect people to help" mindset. :)

On 12/10/2011 at 6:52 AM, Kia0042 said:

To new bird,

Next time if you noticed that you have made a wrong lane, just keep to your lane and make the turn on the next junction. Switching lane desperately only save you a few mins and a few cents of petrol.

During a traffic jam, I don't give way to those drivers who signal and

change lane from 2 to 1 where there is already an indication that accident ahead, avoid lane 1.

arm hanging out the window with a cigarette.

On 12/11/2011 at 3:25 AM, Turboflat4 said:

knn...the way u say like National Day contingent. I can just imagine, a whole fleet of OPC picantos HOGGING the roads, enroute to the Padang [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 12/11/2011 at 3:22 AM, Turboflat4 said:

Walao, not afraid to die, ah? :blink:

Literally, because after you die, RadX may be your undertaker. [laugh]

His blood needs some boiling..... sight of OPC cars will raise his blood temperature a few notches higher :D:D

Anyway, I think although business is business, he's still quite selective and wont want to go near the OPC to retrieve my body.... :o

On 12/11/2011 at 11:57 AM, RadX said:

knn...the way u say like National Day contingent. I can just imagine, a whole fleet of OPC picantos HOGGING the roads, enroute to the Padang [laugh][laugh][laugh]

There's no rules or law to stop Porkers and BMeers to form their own contigent :D:D

But since OPC drivers lack driving experience, the contigent will either lose it way or cant keep to formation..... when the NDay parade is over, they are still no where to be seen.... :D

On 12/11/2011 at 11:48 AM, Z_Dash said:

It has been shared by Kia0042......old school "save yourself and don't expect people to help" mindset. :)

1 comment is insignificant to conclude. Need to have more. Maybe 100 unique drivers sharing why the do not wish to assist other drivers.

i normally will give way to others.. i only dun give way when got 2 lanes, jam and queing up den suddenly cut into my lane juz bcos its 1 or 2 cars fasters.. liddat i die die dun give way one.. or when queing up den got car cut all the way to e front den cut in.. liddat i also die die dun give way one.. haha..

On 12/10/2011 at 1:39 AM, KARTer said:

i only 'block' those who signal and try to squeeze their way all at the same time.... if they give advance signal, no prob... :D

That's why sometimes I find signaling your intention would prevent ppl from giving way to u, especially in Singapore.. Being too used to it, I especially like to change lanes in front of those drivers who seemed reluctant to give way, without signaling.. :D

On 12/11/2011 at 5:56 PM, Hugoballs said:

That's why sometimes I find signaling your intention would prevent ppl from giving way to u, especially in Singapore.. Being too used to it, I especially like to change lanes in front of those drivers who seemed reluctant to give way, without signaling.. :D

"Ideally", we find a gap big enough for filtering without causing the driver behind to hard brake... in this case, even without our signals, no harm is done when we filter quickly (and the driver behind wont have time to speed up and close the gap). unfortunately when the traffic is heavy, such opportunities are not common.