Vid Hypersonic December 8, 2011 Share December 8, 2011 Blame here blame there lol, Comfort say Taxi driver ask them to increase one, what diesel price also increase and something latdat., boycott comfort taxis? and go for other company *Ie. Trans Cab, Prime Cab* they no increase YET rite? BTW what is our transport minister doing? He is sitting in his office reading and laughing at this forum and other forums. At the end of the month, he still collects his salary and you are still here complaining. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
C_htan Neutral Newbie December 10, 2011 Share December 10, 2011 Try this, not too sure if it is a norm across China but if past midnite you booked cab, will get discOunt. [laugh] ^_^ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear December 10, 2011 Share December 10, 2011 Blame here blame there lol, Comfort say Taxi driver ask them to increase one, what diesel price also increase and something latdat., boycott comfort taxis? and go for other company *Ie. Trans Cab, Prime Cab* they no increase YET rite? BTW what is our transport minister doing? Well, there is still a way to send the message across. Even if others also follow suit in the increase, just don't flag any Comfort taxis. Even better in front of the Comfort taxi, flag down other company's. Driver ask, just say boycott Comfort cabs. Now consumers are taken for granted, any price increase we have to swallow and they can happily increase their fares. LOoking at the past, take the 90s as a guide, how often do bus, mrt n taxi fares increase? Definitely not an annual affair. I am not a public transport user, but do feel for the people who have no choice but to rely on taxis. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged December 10, 2011 Share December 10, 2011 He is sitting in his office reading and laughing at this forum and other forums. At the end of the month, he still collects his salary and you are still here complaining. Doesnt this minister like to take public transport and let reporters follow him and take pictures? He should try hailing a cab at 730pm anywhere and see whether he gets one. By the way I am appalled at the way the gahmen condones price increases everywhere, property tax goes up, food prices go up, bus fares go up, tazi go up. At this rate we will lose MNCs, jobs to the cheaper countries faster than you can say Lee Sian Long.. :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gukubird Neutral Newbie December 10, 2011 Share December 10, 2011 spore taxi fare still considered cheap compare with other asia cities like hk/tokyo/etc bla bla bla but how come minister pays are not being compare? Well, if the pay is lower, there will have more "Choo Wee Khiang" Maybe thats the reason why they increase the salary for all MP after discovering that there are lots of "Choo Wee Khiang" in the whole of 87 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pokemon Neutral Newbie December 10, 2011 Share December 10, 2011 Cab drivers do not have MEDICAL BENEFIT,annual leave,sick leave,dental leave etc.It is only fair that their earning is able to cater for these.Those who anti increase really know these taxi drivers' financial status?I doubt. We won't want when they fall sick and public fund has to be called in to help them.It is only fair that those who use their service pay for their medical and other costs. 10% is not much for a long unadjusted fare.I am for it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 10, 2011 Share December 10, 2011 Cab drivers do not have MEDICAL BENEFIT,annual leave,sick leave,dental leave etc.It is only fair that their earning is able to cater for these.Those who anti increase really know these taxi drivers' financial status?I doubt. We won't want when they fall sick and public fund has to be called in to help them.It is only fair that those who use their service pay for their medical and other costs. 10% is not much for a long unadjusted fare.I am for it. i always see some taxi ah cheks tcss relaxing in kopitiams... not just during lunch time some siam road side passegners but only wait for calls.... there are hardworking taxi ah cheks, but there are a lot of lazy / choosy ones most self-employed are the same: no medical covers etc etc... taxi ah cheks are not the only ones Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 10, 2011 Share December 10, 2011 (edited) Well, if the pay is lower, there will have more "Choo Wee Khiang" Maybe thats the reason why they increase the salary for all MP after discovering that there are lots of "Choo Wee Khiang" in the whole of 87 so our parliment house has become a 'refugee camp' for pple who have the potential to be corrupted... Edited December 10, 2011 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 10, 2011 Share December 10, 2011 You summed it pretty well in a nutshell the winners: taxi companies... followed by taxi drivers... losers: passegners Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 10, 2011 Share December 10, 2011 and COE goes higher ....think i better keep my car...for th elong run keep and use it as part time taxi?? cant beat them? join them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear December 10, 2011 Share December 10, 2011 Cab drivers do not have MEDICAL BENEFIT,annual leave,sick leave,dental leave etc.It is only fair that their earning is able to cater for these.Those who anti increase really know these taxi drivers' financial status?I doubt. We won't want when they fall sick and public fund has to be called in to help them.It is only fair that those who use their service pay for their medical and other costs. 10% is not much for a long unadjusted fare.I am for it. Why can't the taxi companies provide these medical benefits to their drivers? I believe those working in there as execuitives do enjoy the benefits and these companies can get the coverage under Group Medical insurance. And if the taxi drivers claims they are earning less, then why are so many of them disappearing before midnight. If one is hungry, he would have fought for the slice of the pie at first sight instead of waiting after midnight to fight with 10 others, which eventually only 1 gets it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 10, 2011 Share December 10, 2011 Has anyone ever read/heard taxi companies making efforts to improve their customer service? all i know is that they up the fares... The increase in fares is a cover for a large increase in taxi rental soon. First give the taxi drivers a feel they will be earning more, then slap them with a rental increase, citing that "rentals have not increased for xx years and the increase will only eat into xx% of the hirer's takings". Almost all of Comfort's fleet of taxis had been converted to the Sonata and some of the hirers are still paying the old rental rate as the Crown. Increasing fares are not going to improve services. The same reason is cited many times when fares are increase. This applies to other modes of public transport. On the other hand, I find that private bus transports do improve their services slightly when they up their charges. The ways to deal with disappearing cabs is to make the drivers earn less by removing certain surcharges or a later starting time, eg midnight charge starts from 2am instead of 12mn. This way, the drivers would be forced to ply the roads to get more income. By 2am, the number of people calling for cabs would be reduced. So even if they want to play the disappearing game, it does not matter much. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Without_a_car Clutched December 10, 2011 Share December 10, 2011 it is because Comfort Delgro operate biggest fleet of cabs, so no need to have medical benefits for cab drivers, and contribute CPF? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 10, 2011 Share December 10, 2011 Why can't the taxi companies provide these medical benefits to their drivers? I believe those working in there as execuitives do enjoy the benefits and these companies can get the coverage under Group Medical insurance. And if the taxi drivers claims they are earning less, then why are so many of them disappearing before midnight. If one is hungry, he would have fought for the slice of the pie at first sight instead of waiting after midnight to fight with 10 others, which eventually only 1 gets it. Exactly, spoke to a few taxi drivers recently (those hard working ones), they said why wait for calls when they can actually go on the roads to hunt for passengers... once they drop the 1st passenger, usually the next one can be picked up quite easily (unless hard luck 1st passegner drops at ulu places, but this is not always the case)........ its work ethic F the lazy / choosy taxi drivers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear December 10, 2011 Share December 10, 2011 Well, if the pay is lower, there will have more "Choo Wee Khiang" Maybe thats the reason why they increase the salary for all MP after discovering that there are lots of "Choo Wee Khiang" in the whole of 87 One's integrity is not measured by money. Even if you pay one well to prevent him fron getting corrupt, in his mind money is never enough. After his first 100k, he'll want to gain his 1st million to join the millionair club. And after the millionair club, he'll aim for billionair and to trillionair. So wearing white and parading does not make 1 whiter than white. It is the integrity in one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 10, 2011 Share December 10, 2011 3)How many of us here are prepare to switch to taxi driving? How many are prepared to take the toll of taxi driving? How many are prepared to take the abuse from passengers(nvm we have been driving before)? Irrelevent. We are talking about fare / customer service............ not job selection Nobody forces anyone to be taxi driver, if they choose to be one, do it with open-eye and provide the service professionally I have friends who drive taxi for a living, they work hard and pick up road side passenger, not just hide and wait for calls.... unlike the lazy / choosy ones Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pokemon Neutral Newbie December 10, 2011 Share December 10, 2011 i always see some taxi ah cheks tcss relaxing in kopitiams... not just during lunch time some siam road side passegners but only wait for calls.... there are hardworking taxi ah cheks, but there are a lot of lazy / choosy ones most self-employed are the same: no medical covers etc etc... taxi ah cheks are not the only ones Taxi drivers' pay increase depend on taxi company's action.Other self employed do not need.I won't sit in a cab driven by a taxi driver who withhold medical care and half asleep.My life is worth more than that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear December 10, 2011 Share December 10, 2011 knn i was in a taxi that day... i told the fella nicely Uncle can you wait for me I pick up something 5-10mins and go back same place. I said its convenient for me that way. Then u know what he say? Convenient for you not convenient for me. Knn i paying u to run your meter you dont want you make sarcastic remarks. I never go rebuke him or else sure fk him upside down. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...