Calvin79 2nd Gear December 8, 2011 Share December 8, 2011 Bro, ask your frd about KKK.... this should jolt alot of his memory... KKK is probably one of the most legendary figure in the unit... haahahahaha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator December 8, 2011 Share December 8, 2011 On 12/8/2011 at 2:25 AM, Vega said: Wonder any of our guys send to US ranger course didnt come back with the tab.... aka...fail the course? None so far from the unit have failed. Now I wouldn't know, it's a FACE value thing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear December 8, 2011 Share December 8, 2011 On 12/8/2011 at 2:25 AM, Mazdaowner said: I don't believe that, after the last dunking case, and with so many lau chow give the "goodbye handshake" it is no longer as it was before. One with no will power to survive, no survival instincts will never make it thru the course, also, NSF were never allowed into the course in the first place, it strictly was "Serve And Farkoff" BTW SOF and Regulars go TOGETHER for the course, there is no separate preference, SOF get this, regulars get that. My memories are all based on a decade back... i too believe that with the many incidents the past few years... they have toned down alot... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator December 8, 2011 Share December 8, 2011 On 12/8/2011 at 2:25 AM, Hondacub777 said: Drivers the best lah.Cum out with a license. I also say. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator December 8, 2011 Share December 8, 2011 On 12/8/2011 at 2:25 AM, Calvin79 said: Bro, ask your frd about KKK.... this should jolt alot of his memory... KKK is probably one of the most legendary figure in the unit... haahahahaha Donno leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator December 8, 2011 Share December 8, 2011 They already did. It's NOT on PAR to what it used to be before. Also the influx of "other" units going in, the mentality is far different then before, and the "unit" persay has dropped it's selections standards by a great deal. On 12/8/2011 at 2:27 AM, Calvin79 said: My memories are all based on a decade back... i too believe that with the many incidents the past few years... they have toned down alot... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged December 8, 2011 Author Share December 8, 2011 On 12/8/2011 at 2:25 AM, Mazdaowner said: I don't believe that, after the last dunking case, and with so many lau chow give the "goodbye handshake" it is no longer as it was before. One with no will power to survive, no survival instincts will never make it thru the course, also, NSF were never allowed into the course in the first place, it strictly was "Serve And Farkoff" BTW SOF and Regulars go TOGETHER for the course, there is no separate preference, SOF get this, regulars get that. This is not true anymore. i know of a NSF from CDO pass ranger course. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tleslie 1st Gear December 8, 2011 Share December 8, 2011 On 12/8/2011 at 2:25 AM, Calvin79 said: Yeh... i was in Crescendo to witness the POW... it was an eye opener considering i was 18 back then... it was like "wow" didnt know singaporeans could take this... haha, u r rite! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator December 8, 2011 Share December 8, 2011 On 12/8/2011 at 2:32 AM, Vega said: This is not true anymore. i know of a NSF from CDO pass ranger course. You sure the tab not from Beach Road? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear December 8, 2011 Share December 8, 2011 On 12/8/2011 at 2:32 AM, Vega said: This is not true anymore. i know of a NSF from CDO pass ranger course. I knew one too.... but he will only sign on if he passed the ranger course... Which he did... that was 10 years back... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged December 8, 2011 Author Share December 8, 2011 On 12/8/2011 at 2:46 AM, Calvin79 said: I knew one too.... but he will only sign on if he passed the ranger course... Which he did... that was 10 years back... should be around that time. no sure is this the same guy we are talking about? is he a indian? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged December 8, 2011 Author Share December 8, 2011 On 12/8/2011 at 2:37 AM, Mazdaowner said: You sure the tab not from Beach Road? Ranger training The Singapore Armed Forces Ranger Course is reputed to be the toughest course in the SAF, with 65 days of intense training conducted by the CTW. Initially developed based on the experiences of Singaporean Rangers trained at the US Army Rangers School in Fort Benning, United States, it was first conducted in Singapore in 1978, and is now an annual affair at the training wing's Hendon Camp base. Any regular or national serviceman of the SAF may apply for the course, so long that they have attained a minimum rank of Corporal, after which applicants are assessed physically to ensure suitability. Commando regulars are strongly encouraged to enroll. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Commando_Training_Wing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear December 8, 2011 Share December 8, 2011 On 12/8/2011 at 2:53 AM, Vega said: should be around that time. no sure is this the same guy we are talking about? is he a indian? Yes.... was he a storeman converted? i knew he served as a storeman during NSF... but was dam fit... forgot the name though... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator December 8, 2011 Share December 8, 2011 On 12/8/2011 at 2:35 AM, Tleslie said: haha, u r rite! "For honor, for glory and for money" [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear December 8, 2011 Share December 8, 2011 On 12/7/2011 at 3:33 PM, Happily1986 said: Ranger course is 60 days iirc. Last time my encik from CDO went. Passed on 2nd try. During course buay tahan, cry during some point in time. I think it is during the interrogation/POW phase. Don't think it is friendly to reveal too much here. Info is SIC only. I recommend reading this book called One Bullet Away by Cpt. Nathaniel Fick from the USMC. In it he details the SERE school treatments on how they mindfk u seriously. To give you a few examples, they put you in a real scenario where you are a pilot that has been shot down in enemy territory and you have to be at XXX,XXX which is a safe house. Then they set people on you for miles. However after travelling tens of Kms to the safe house, you sleep there and suddenly wake up to the sound of barking dogs and you realise you have been betrayed. Then they take you in and waterboard you. Basically the exercise runs for days and weeks until everyone gets caught. And everyone gets caught eventually Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator December 8, 2011 Share December 8, 2011 OMG! Anyway, I bought all my badges from beach road, I love collecting military badges. Local one is $5.50, US one (yellow) is $9.50 or something. On 12/8/2011 at 2:55 AM, Vega said: Ranger training The Singapore Armed Forces Ranger Course is reputed to be the toughest course in the SAF, with 65 days of intense training conducted by the CTW. Initially developed based on the experiences of Singaporean Rangers trained at the US Army Rangers School in Fort Benning, United States, it was first conducted in Singapore in 1978, and is now an annual affair at the training wing's Hendon Camp base. Any regular or national serviceman of the SAF may apply for the course, so long that they have attained a minimum rank of Corporal, after which applicants are assessed physically to ensure suitability. Commando regulars are strongly encouraged to enroll. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Commando_Training_Wing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear December 8, 2011 Share December 8, 2011 On 12/8/2011 at 2:19 AM, Mazdaowner said: ok, I'm outta here. I heard all this from a friend. encik dont like this leh. come back la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator December 8, 2011 Share December 8, 2011 I was waiting for you to "chap chi kah" [laugh] On 12/8/2011 at 3:01 AM, Cerano said: I recommend reading this book called One Bullet Away by Cpt. Nathaniel Fick from the USMC. In it he details the SERE school treatments on how they mindfk u seriously. To give you a few examples, they put you in a real scenario where you are a pilot that has been shot down in enemy territory and you have to be at XXX,XXX which is a safe house. Then they set people on you for miles. However after travelling tens of Kms to the safe house, you sleep there and suddenly wake up to the sound of barking dogs and you realise you have been betrayed. Then they take you in and waterboard you. Basically the exercise runs for days and weeks until everyone gets caught. And everyone gets caught eventually ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...