inlinesix Hypersonic December 8, 2011 Share December 8, 2011 more like that 300RM is kopi money for them to "process" the report. It is official summon when you make police report. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 8, 2011 Share December 8, 2011 I mean per day insurance from s'pore register insurance coy like what they pay per day levy for entering s'pore.. If any accident,we can claim from s'pore insurance they bought from.. But of cos we need to prepare JB LTA might follow our pattern to require s'pore vehicle to purchase daily insurance from their country if we wan go in.. Frog in the well, w/o 3rd party insurance, they can't come into Sg. It is a matter of legal framework btw both countries. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
My_Motor Neutral Newbie December 8, 2011 Share December 8, 2011 Looks like u r a frog lived under well. W/o valid 3rd party liability, foreign vehicles can't enter Sg. The crux of the problem is that both countries need to work out a legal framework to enforce the legal rights of claimant. I think foreign vehicles without insurance can still come to S'pore. If S'pore custom want to check, how they going to check. If possible, these may jam up at the custom area. Some drivers of foreign vehicles in S'pore may have not renew their motor insurance. That may be one of the reasons why local workshop don't want to claim for us. We have about 30 General Insurance Companies in S'pore. I think pay $5 to LTA, we will know the car is covered under which insurance companies. Do Malysia "LTA" has this type of service ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear December 8, 2011 Share December 8, 2011 i am talking about getting them to pay for per day insurance when they enter singapore lah..not their own country insurance lah.. they must have what insurance. 1st and 3rd party to even drive into SG. need show cert on entry de. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bhauto213 Neutral Newbie December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 You can claim against malaysian car IF you able to get a copy of his Police report, his car log car which is abit hard lol :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 (edited) I think foreign vehicles without insurance can still come to S'pore. If S'pore custom want to check, how they going to check. If possible, these may jam up at the custom area. Some drivers of foreign vehicles in S'pore may have not renew their motor insurance. That may be one of the reasons why local workshop don't want to claim for us. We have about 30 General Insurance Companies in S'pore. I think pay $5 to LTA, we will know the car is covered under which insurance companies. Do Malysia "LTA" has this type of service ? Do u own a car? Do u ever read ur car insurance policy? Our car insurance covers Singapore & West Malaysia. Malaysia car insurance also covers Singapore & West Malaysia. Malaysia car w/o valid road tax disc cannot come into Sg. W/o valid road tax disc = No insurance. Only Thailand car needs to buy separate 3rd party liablity from us. In Malaysia, u can get whatever details u 1 as long as u have Ringgit. DEeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee Edited December 9, 2011 by Davidtch Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 (edited) i am talking about getting them to pay for per day insurance when they enter singapore lah..not their own country insurance lah.. Do u own a car? Do u ever read ur car insurance policy? Our car insurance covers Singapore & West Malaysia. Malaysia car insurance also covers Singapore & West Malaysia. Malaysia car w/o valid road tax disc cannot come into Sg. W/o valid road tax disc = No insurance. Only Thailand car needs to buy separate 3rd party liablity from us. Like i said so many...................times, it is the legal framework that screw us up. If u can't read, i could put bigger font. Edited December 9, 2011 by Davidtch Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eveei 2nd Gear July 17, 2014 Share July 17, 2014 There is still hope to claim from Malaysian car insurance but have to go through some hassle, which I did. But REMEMBER, when it involves a foreign registered vehicle, MUST have Police Report besides your Insurer's (workshop) accident report. Got kissed by a Malaysian car badly 2 years ago in Malaysia. All workshops in Singapore, will tell you same thing, either they say don't want to process the claim for you because very hard to get claims approved or may take years, try other workshops or they will ask you to make your Own Damage claim. I did my repair 1st with OD claim, then asked my insurer for the supporting documents of the repair and asked for the amount that I should get reimbursed from the Malaysian insurance. Then, bring the Police Report to JPJ office (LTA Malaysia) to buy (MYR10) the insurance information of the Malaysian vehicle. With the insurance company information, go to the Insurance company to get the form/s to submit the claims. Most insurance companies, you can liaise with them via email but you will need to submit the original documents and a cover letter to summarise your claims. It will be better to submit the original documents in person and get them to acknowledge receipt on the spot, in case anything get lost in the postal. Hope this helps. I have gotten my claim monies including a replacement car rental for the number of days of repair, the excess amount that I paid and bring the necessary documents back to my insurer for them to re-instated my NCD. The hassle is, you will need to pay for the Malaysia Police Report if the accident happened in Malaysia, sit a few hours chatting with police reporting your accident, go back to the police station few days later to collect your Police Report, or pay some agent (about RM150-RM200) to buy the report for you (you will be surprise there will be, claimed to be insurance agent, people outside the police station to offer this service to you if you want faster report (remember to take the contact and NRIC of the person you pay $$ to), you probably need to wait half a day at the JPJ to buy the Insurance report of the Malaysia vehicle, find the insurance office nearest to SIngapore, submit the documents personally to ensure no disputes (keep a copy yourself), and wait 1-2 months for your claims to be approve, after several follow-ups and calling the staff of the Malaysia insurance company 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L23 6th Gear July 17, 2014 Share July 17, 2014 Better don't ask the local authorities to do up some law to protect us... Later they claim more money from us in term of taxes and insurance. Best is nothing is done after all the increment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged July 17, 2014 Share July 17, 2014 It's not impossible to claim.. its SG insurer refusing to claim. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxoo 1st Gear July 17, 2014 Share July 17, 2014 Bookmark first Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobt Supercharged July 17, 2014 Share July 17, 2014 i realised hor, there are many cars in malaysia that are NOT registered and have NO insurance. some malaysians drive singapore deregistered car and they made their own fake road tax disk just for display purposes only. true story. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tiger1 6th Gear July 17, 2014 Share July 17, 2014 LTA and the Minister of Transport instead of trying to "fix" the COE issue and other initiatives that they claim would "help" Singaporeans, should instead, clear this issue up for us. If Malaysian cars langar Singaporean car and we cannot claim them, then, why are they still on our roads?? Mr Liew, pls la, tolong tolong.. Go understand this real people issue and stop wasting your time on "fixing" useless things. You are our servant and we pay your salary. Put yourself in our shoes. If you find your people getting paid but not doing their job, what do you do? Yesi.. You pock him. Trust me, you dont want to be next. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic July 17, 2014 Share July 17, 2014 It's always a matter of "other people claim us easy, we claim other people damn difficult". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic July 17, 2014 Share July 17, 2014 It's not impossible to claim.. its SG insurer refusing to claim. True. GIAS and their cronies are a bunch of useless greedy jiak liao bees. :angry: ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...