Where to find frozen xiaolongbao

Karebu

On 12/6/2011 at 5:05 PM, Happily1986 said:

shanghainese cuisine is considered southern chinese cuisine? [rolleyes]read up before firing off smarty pants. I quoted chinese restaurants that catered for northen chinese cuisine because they are usually the ones that will have xiaolongbaos.

I thougtht Americans are bad in geography..

Have

On 12/7/2011 at 3:33 AM, Karebu said:

hey, thanks for your reply but im looking for xiaolongbao only. shuijiao is common, ntuc has tons of them.

if not just walk into a hawker/restaurant and order even if they dun usually sell it in frozen form, just a special order :D

Shanghai cuisine is indeed considered southern China. Northern China cuisine is mainly

包, 面条, 饺子,醬牛肉

Speaking of 小龙包, I going to have some tonight, here in Shanghai.

On 12/7/2011 at 3:35 AM, Acieed said:

I thougtht Americans are bad in geography..

Have

look Mr know-it-all-and-obviously-don't, if you bothered to read in between the lines, you will know that i was saying in the first place that eateries that offer northen chinese cuisine have a high chance of selling xiaolongbaos. If you want to be a frog in the well, be my guest. it is the equivalent of saying that most indian muslim eateries should sell bundung. this had nothing to do with geography smart alec. it is a fact that most eateries locally often offer a smorgasbord of delicacies that often do not fit within geographical boundaries.

and in any case, Shanghainese cuisine is considered northen chinese cuisine if we consider obvious dietary and preparation differences, northen and southen.

[rolleyes]

On 12/7/2011 at 3:37 AM, Jman888 said:

if not just walk into a hawker/restaurant and order even if they dun usually sell it in frozen form, just a special order :D

i want a wholesale price lei [laugh]

Look who's talking ? :) Just be happy in your own presumptions for all I care.

Shanghainese is Southern Chinese cuisine, and as another bro has rightfully pointed out, Northern Chinese cuisine are 包子,馒头,面条,膜,大饼,... and tend to be more starchy. Southern cuisine are more delicate, like siew mai, xiaolongbao -- more liao" than skin. Perhaps the "Northern Chinese" places you are referring to, are Southern Chinese or you enjoy Northern Chinese style, thicker skin and little liao.

For the TS, if I remember well, there is a place in Tanjong Pagar that serves authentic Shanghai Xiaolongbao and you can order and "tabao" frozen ones. Now you remind me of going back there again sometime.

On 12/7/2011 at 5:15 AM, Happily1986 said:

look Mr know-it-all-and-obviously-don't, if you bothered to read in between the lines, you will know that i was saying in the first place that eateries that offer northen chinese cuisine have a high chance of selling xiaolongbaos. If you want to be a frog in the well, be my guest. it is the equivalent of saying that most indian muslim eateries should sell bundung. this had nothing to do with geography smart alec. it is a fact that most eateries locally often offer a smorgasbord of delicacies that often do not fit within geographical boundaries.

and in any case, Shanghainese cuisine is considered northen chinese cuisine if we consider obvious dietary and preparation differences, northen and southen.

[rolleyes]

On 12/7/2011 at 3:32 AM, Karebu said:

which ntuc is that?

I bought one before, it's clearly written as xiao long bao, but i can't remember from which NTUC. the one I frequent is an NTUC Xtra in Jurong Point, near my house.

I am not in Sg now so can't confirm for you. Will let you know if i happen to go there again.

On 12/7/2011 at 5:55 AM, En0203 said:

I bought one before, it's clearly written as xiao long bao, but i can't remember from which NTUC. the one I frequent is an NTUC Xtra in Jurong Point, near my house.

I am not in Sg now so can't confirm for you. Will let you know if i happen to go there again.

ok sure thing. thanks alot man. i shall visit when the semester begins then.

On 12/6/2011 at 5:05 PM, Happily1986 said:

shanghainese cuisine is considered southern chinese cuisine? [rolleyes]read up before firing off smarty pants. I quoted chinese restaurants that catered for northen chinese cuisine because they are usually the ones that will have xiaolongbaos.

Don't act smart lah.

Any Chinese cuisine with rice is considered southern.

Any Chinese cuisine with bread and noodles are considered northern.

It is geography. Rice doesn't grow in northern china as the paddies will freeze 6 months of the year.

Traditionally any region south of chang jiang (yangtze river) is considered southern.

Got 小笼包 in ntuc i also wanna try try

But i think the taste wont be as nice as restaurants...

Then again its ok, the price is much cheaper.

On 12/7/2011 at 6:30 AM, Irene said:

Got 小笼包 in ntuc i also wanna try try

But i think the taste wont be as nice as restaurants...

Then again its ok, the price is much cheaper.

Can try the tua pao also.

Bought before from SengSiong... So so only... Not much juice & can't really tell what kind of meat is it. It's made in China, so kinda scary thinking back.

On 12/7/2011 at 10:07 AM, Karebu said:

which sengsiong would that be?

I remembered getting it from the west coast outlet opp west coast plaza a year ago... Dunno whether still have or not?

On 12/7/2011 at 5:25 AM, Karebu said:

i want a wholesale price lei [laugh]

Along Thomson Road towards City, after passing United Square on your right at about 100m on your left side, there is a row of shophouses with a particular shop selling Tiong Bahru Bun. You may negotiate with them for your XiaoLongBao special requirements. Cheers.

On 12/7/2011 at 6:21 AM, Tuna_seng said:

Don't act smart lah.

Any Chinese cuisine with rice is considered southern.

Any Chinese cuisine with bread and noodles are considered northern.

It is geography. Rice doesn't grow in northern china as the paddies will freeze 6 months of the year.

Traditionally any region south of chang jiang (yangtze river) is considered southern.

so korea no rice?

On 12/7/2011 at 6:47 AM, Karu said:

Bought before from SengSiong... So so only... Not much juice & can't really tell what kind of meat is it. It's made in China, so kinda scary thinking back.

if xiaolongbao made in malaysia, sounds nice meh? where it come from? [:p]