RadX Moderator December 6, 2011 Share December 6, 2011 AT is auto transmission, M is manual lah, like that also duno u dun forget hor.....u still have one dream application that i ave not executed yet....u be careful hor ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear December 6, 2011 Share December 6, 2011 looking at the photos in the newspapers, it seems tat the car driver was killed becos the bus rammed into the driver side of the car?....if it's rear end hit by the bus, maybe the car driver could have survived.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear December 6, 2011 Share December 6, 2011 Spot on!! World Class public transport system!! System faults are man made. So what do you think about the accidents that happen daily along the expressways? Also govt fault for allowing people to drive? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrathchild156 2nd Gear December 6, 2011 Share December 6, 2011 Ehh, the AT we are talking about here is the bus driver. Not the Camry driver. Earlier today someone highlighted dat few yrs ago an AT bus driver was deported back to mainland after a fatal accident... He's back here after 02 years - changing his passport/name.......dunno hoe true??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged December 6, 2011 Share December 6, 2011 No matter wat sbs says...i confirm the bus is speeding. Nowadays bus drvers getting worse n worse. It is hard to believe when a bus is not speeding when they are coupe (bus only got 2 door), rear engine & rear wheel drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kia0042 2nd Gear December 6, 2011 Share December 6, 2011 looking at the photos in the newspapers, it seems tat the car driver was killed becos the bus rammed into the driver side of the car?....if it's rear end hit by the bus, maybe the car driver could have survived.... The bus was supposed to turn right but lost control and rammed into the camry that was stopping at the opposite side of the traffic light /slip road, hit the driver's side and killed the driver. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 6, 2011 Share December 6, 2011 So what do you think about the accidents that happen daily along the expressways? Also govt fault for allowing people to drive? Are private cars owned and managed/controlled by public transport system? Buses are as far as I can see, and SBS makes money out of the bus systems.... You gotta think before opening your mouth... private cars and public buses are not the same. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 6, 2011 Share December 6, 2011 It is hard to believe when a bus is not speeding when they are coupe (bus only got 2 door), rear engine & rear wheel drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peregrine Clutched December 6, 2011 Share December 6, 2011 The bus was supposed to turn right but lost control and rammed into the camry that was stopping at the opposite side of the traffic light /slip road, hit the driver's side and killed the driver. There seems some inconsistencies and confusion in the various reports. Like Starits Times reported "bus mounted the road divider and rammed into a car that had stopped at the traffic lights on Bishan Street 14." The Camry driver "was waiting for the lights to turn green when the SBS Transit vehicle [bus] emerged from a slip road and hit his stationary Toyota, bystanders said". "The bus drove out of the slip road, swerved across the road divider and hit the stationary car". TODAY reported according to one eyewitness "the bus was travelling along Bishan Road and was attempting to turn (right? or left?) into Bishan Street 14." But it seems clear that the bus was speeding: "However, it was moving fast and appeared to lose control, and slammed into the stationary car that had been waiting at the traffic junction." From the 3rd photo in TODAY, it seems to me from the white paint splash pattern on the Bishan Road, that the Camry was in the front row in the 2nd or 3rd lane from the left on Bishan Road (heading south towards Braddel Road) waiting for the light to turn green for it. There is no photo of the area centre divider on Bishan Road so we cannot check whether the bus run through that before hitting the Camry. {A} If the bus ran over the divider it should be could have been speeding straight across the junction from Bishan 22 (possibly through red light) and swerved left when vehicle heading north on Bishan Road started to moved. Then hit the Camry and no other vehicles (which imply it was the only vehicle waiting there). {B} Bus speeding down Bishan St 22 and wanted to turn left at slip road to go north on Bishan Road. Bus driver lost control and ran over the triangular island there, ran over the centre divider on Bshan Road and hit the car. For this and (A) the car would most likely be rammed at 90 degrees from right. {C} Bus was travelling northwards on Bishan Road and turning right into Bishan Street 14. (This assumes bus driver did not turn into Street 11 for whatever reason). Speeding too fast so lost control and swerved left and hit the right hand-side of car at an angle of 45 degrees (see the roof damage pattern in first photo in TODAY. The condition of rear right tyre of car seems to indicate it was scrapping sideways against the road surface before car hit triangular island then got spun around. Seems unlikely that the bus was travelling southwards on Bishan Road and about to turn left into St 13. Perhaps checking on condition of centre divider and any sideway tyre marks of the Camry would suggest likey to be {A} or {B}. This accident (scenario {C}) pattern may be similar to the recent one at Bras Basah / Victoria Streets: http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showtopic=2671310 Anyway, this accident should serve as a reminder for all of us to drive safely and responsibly, not only for safety of ourselves and our family/passengers but also for other road users. Especailly now that road is slippery because of rainy weather. Also a strong reminder for pedestrians to watch the traffic and not the handphones when crosssing roads or walking on pavement on road side; be ready to run out of the way if a vehicle is hurtling towards you! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mecontle 1st Gear December 6, 2011 Share December 6, 2011 either that or dozed off at the wheel. But old man oso shudn't have stopped at slip road tho. old or not is same i had to brake hard right after cte exit for a blue subaru moron at a slip road when half his car is exposed to main rd lane , u call that driving ? ccb Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jim 1st Gear December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 I was at Bedok South Road yesterday evening when this boy racer revved so hard coming out of the slip road that the car fishtailed towards the centre divider. You can still see the tyre marks on the road. Fortunately/Unfortunately, he regained control and there was no car on his side of the road. He was well out of the bend by then, so it was clearly not intentional, but over-revving a RWD out of control. If he flipped across, and killed someone, this would not an accident, but murder. Are SBS buses RWD? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yardo Clutched December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 beware of empty or out-of-service buses. siam them as far as possible. The tendency for the driver to speed is very high. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 Are private cars owned and managed/controlled by public transport system? Buses are as far as I can see, and SBS makes money out of the bus systems.... You gotta think before opening your mouth... private cars and public buses are not the same. Eh think before replying la! How do u know the accident is caused by system fault?? It looks like a typical reckless driving to me. Bus is out of service during time of accident. Thats y i say if this is system fault then car accident on highway also system fault ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 Eh think before replying la! How do u know the accident is caused by system fault?? It looks like a typical reckless driving to me. Bus is out of service during time of accident. Thats y i say if this is system fault then car accident on highway also system fault ah? System can refer to SBS's system of selecting / training the bus drivers, the system in managing the driver (displine/penalties, or bus schedules etc) and other things relating to how SBS operate.... system doesnt refer only to the mechanicals of the bus are you still a student? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 System can refer to SBS's system of selecting / training the bus drivers, the system in managing the driver (displine/penalties, or bus schedules etc) and other things relating to how SBS operate.... system doesnt refer only to the mechanicals of the bus are you still a student? U still don't understand... guess u need to go back to be a student. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 U still don't understand... guess u need to go back to be a student. and join you? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 so how? is driver PRC? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbowbiatch 6th Gear December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 and join you? youngsters these days get worked up very easily hor.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...