Turbonetics 2nd Gear December 5, 2011 Share December 5, 2011 (edited) Should not treat these kind of events as accidents. We need to ask if got system fault- is drivers given too little rest, safety not emphasized enough, training not good enough. .. Etc.. I only hope next bus accident kenna an elite or mp son or ceo family or something. Only that will wake up the system. your post is so political and childish. this kind of event is not accident then tell us what should it be classified as?murder? or push the blame to political parties? i hope you kena accident and killed someone and the judge sentence you to death and said its not an accident(if you are a driver in the first place to start with). does your life sucks that you hope someone superior than you die earlier than you? Edited December 5, 2011 by Turbonetics ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear December 5, 2011 Share December 5, 2011 if this is not accident then what is accident? it's very mean to wish for something unfortunate to befall on anyone, whatever their background. for your information, this did happen before. wonder why heavy vehicles were regulated so strictly for so many years? because former minister ong pang boon's wife (herself a former MP), mdm chan choy siong, was killed in an accident involving a 10-wheeler. http://infopedia.nl.sg/articles/SIP_791_2005-01-22.html not to sound mean but isn't this point clearly speaketh of the saying, till the s--t hits the fan? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic December 5, 2011 Share December 5, 2011 Wah, nowadays AT also can buy Camry.. Anyway, RIP and wish the wife a speedy recovery.. Ehh, the AT we are talking about here is the bus driver. Not the Camry driver. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gukubird Neutral Newbie December 5, 2011 Share December 5, 2011 This is terrible, our family member, friends used the zebra crossing, traffic junction daily. A bus that just lost control at a junction is quite distrubing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic December 5, 2011 Share December 5, 2011 so how? news got report is Badder driving the bus? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 5, 2011 Share December 5, 2011 Spot on!! World Class public transport system!! System faults are man made. Should not treat these kind of events as accidents. We need to ask if got system fault- is drivers given too little rest, safety not emphasized enough, training not good enough. .. Etc.. I only hope next bus accident kenna an elite or mp son or ceo family or something. Only that will wake up the system. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 5, 2011 Share December 5, 2011 (edited) Correct. Think these bus services given too much rights leow on SG roads until they becomes so complacent. :angry: Buses hitting other cars, pedestrians, lamp posts, bus shelters etc etc. We are seeing more and more of this. How our bus system selects, trains and deploys these bus drivers? Are they properly trained, monitored, managed, and also given sufficient rest and realistic time schedule to finish the jounery? If our miw claim this as a world class public transport system, they are obviously living in a different world from the masses who have to endure the world class service, may even have to risk their safety using the buses. Calling it an accident doesnt relieve the bus system of the responsibility and accountability of these events. Edited December 5, 2011 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jim 1st Gear December 5, 2011 Share December 5, 2011 Talk about crazy bus drivers, I was tailgated by one coming out of the zoo today. The single lane road is full of blindspots, sharp turn, up hill, down hill etc, I pushed to 70km/h, would have gone faster still if it werent for a motorcycle blocking me but the bus continued to glue to my backside till our paths diverged at the junction at Mandai Road. Let's see how many more people have to die before something is done. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear December 5, 2011 Share December 5, 2011 Talk about crazy bus drivers, I was tailgated by one coming out of the zoo today. The single lane road is full of blindspots, sharp turn, up hill, down hill etc, I pushed to 70km/h, would have gone faster still if it werent for a motorcycle blocking me but the bus continued to glue to my backside till our paths diverged at the junction at Mandai Road. Let's see how many more people have to die before something is done. Even if people continue to die, they won't do anything one. Chew on this thought. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Littleknown Clutched December 6, 2011 Share December 6, 2011 your post is so political and childish. this kind of event is not accident then tell us what should it be classified as?murder? or push the blame to political parties? i hope you kena accident and killed someone and the judge sentence you to death and said its not an accident(if you are a driver in the first place to start with). does your life sucks that you hope someone superior than you die earlier than you? There are safety initiatives in systems that is known that analyses such 'accidents' to prevent the next one. But usually need money and effort and recommendations are also a cost. I can see you are low level employee who would not know of such things. Go educate yourself - this lesson free for you. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Failure_mode_...ffects_analysis http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Root_cause_analysis Here, unfortunately, peasants suffer, CEO and people in power look the other way and treat as " just another accident." and "move on" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 6, 2011 Share December 6, 2011 GPGT Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beng2 5th Gear December 6, 2011 Share December 6, 2011 I too think that nowadays bus drivers have become more hiong and inconsiderate. Examples: 1) In the past, I observe bus drivers always gave way to cars for the latter to filter into the bus' lane. Now, I personally encountered bus drivers who refuse to let me filter in, unlike lorry drivers. That doesn't stop me from being gracious to them and give way to them especially from bus stops. There are a lot of passengers in the bus, and any delay will cause all of them to lose valuable time. 2) A few days back, I encountered a Bendy bus on the slow lane which signalled to filter into my lane (middle lane) at Boon Lay Way. I let it into my lane because I thought it wanted to turn right at the next junction. I got very dulan when it filtered back to the slow lane after overtaking a few cars in the slow lane. KNN, he created a mini jam when he wanted to filter back to the slow lane near the bus stop. Forgot to download the video clip from my DVR and now it got overwritten liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged December 6, 2011 Share December 6, 2011 Ehh, the AT we are talking about here is the bus driver. Not the Camry driver. Pardon me, but.. what does "AT" means? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mits_jc 5th Gear December 6, 2011 Share December 6, 2011 AT refer to Ah Tiong aka derogatory term for PRC folks... Pardon me, but.. what does "AT" means? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 6, 2011 Share December 6, 2011 Pardon me, but.. what does "AT" means? http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=ah%20tiong 1. ah tiong A pejorative termed used by overseas Chinese in Southeast Asia to describe mainland Chinese immigrants in the same way FOBs is used by Asians in the US, Canada and Australia to disparage recent Asian immigrants. The etymology of the word stems from the Hokkien (a predominant Chinese dialect spoken in Southeast Asia) pronunciation of China "Tiong Kok" which in standard Mandarin would be pronounced as Zhong Guo. The use of the word is usually preceded by other adjectives ranging from rude, chao and arrogant to hot, sexy and chio - with the latter three being generally reserved for working ladies of PRC origins. As demonstrated from the above, the use of the term Ah Tiong transcends gender boundaries. That chao ah tiong is damn f--king rude! How dare he cut our queue! We're in KL, not Kunming! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged December 6, 2011 Share December 6, 2011 Thanks for explaining what is AT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator December 6, 2011 Share December 6, 2011 Thanks for explaining what is AT. then M for?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator December 6, 2011 Share December 6, 2011 then M for?? AT is auto transmission, M is manual lah, like that also duno [shakehead] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...