Punggol Watertown project

Panerex77

I can't, can only buy private, or wait till 35 to buy re-sale HDB....but once I buy private, cannot buy HDB under current rulings....hence stuck in a dilemma...

KBW has certainly complicated your life. :D

Buying to stay or buying to hedge? If former, just buy what you can afford, if latter, not sure if it is a good hedge anymore at current prices but noone really knows.

I prefer beaten down equity now, it has been a good 2 months for most investors. At the end of the day, makes your money works for you and not the other way round. It can be difficult to get "buy low sell high" right but it isn't too difficult either, you just need a lot of disclipine. Not many have it, so there are more poor people than rich one in this world.

So who is selling WT and who is buying? My agent just sms-ed me a 2BR in citylights asking 1500 psf, nego. That is what you can get now for 1500 psf. Yield not fantastic.

Edited by Voodooman

Buying to stay or buying to hedge? If former, just buy what you can afford, if latter, not sure if it is a good hedge anymore at current prices but noone really knows.

I prefer beaten down equity now, it has been a good 2 months for most investors. At the end of the day, makes your money works for you and not the other way round. It can be difficult to get "buy low sell high" right but it isn't too difficult either, you just need a lot of disclipine. Not many have it, so there are more poor people than rich one in this world.

So who is selling WT and who is buying? My agent just sms-ed me a 2BR in citylights asking 1500 psf, nego. That is what you can get now for 1500 psf. Yield not fantastic.

I just came back from WT showroom. The place is packed ! Maybe families go there for the free food ?

Anyway, they sold 650 units as of last night, not sure whether they cross the 700 mark today.

The Skypatio are moving slowly and reason being that those with Waterway view are selling for 1.5k psf and the units are going for around 1.8million+ which is really very high !

I think in 5 years time, that area will be bustling as there's alot of BTO and condos coming up around that area.

For investment mainly, even equities has recovered somewhat, looking less of value now, talks of greece debts being solved....if so equity and property market will continue to boom...yeah the question is buy now or wait..decisions decisions decisions, just re-reach rich dad poor dad for fun....damn....what to invest in to make 50K now.....really cannot make money in this market....

median income I think is 3k? Assume 2 work adults, say 6k. Tink half population cannot afford hdb

According to http://www.singstat.gov.sg/pubn/papers/people/pp-s17.pdf

Average household income is $7214 per month

12 mth is 87k

6 years salary is $522k

So, a HDB flat for average Singapore should be $522,000

That's about the price of a 4 room hdb apartment price in a relative good location

that's pretty reasonable isn't it?

But ppl are still crying expensive.

I just came back from WT showroom. The place is packed ! Maybe families go there for the free food ?

Anyway, they sold 650 units as of last night, not sure whether they cross the 700 mark today.

The Skypatio are moving slowly and reason being that those with Waterway view are selling for 1.5k psf and the units are going for around 1.8million+ which is really very high !

I think in 5 years time, that area will be bustling as there's alot of BTO and condos coming up around that area.

hw many units there ? Can't imagine the pool or gymn during peak hrs

Total of 992 units ! But there's alot of pools, a total of 10 lap pools, 4 hydrotherapy pool, 2 hot spa pool, 1 lounge pool and one kids' creek pool ! This is WaterTown after all ! Water water everywhere !

Though not all units has view of the Waterway, ALL units have pool view. There is approximately 150 units that has full and unobstructedf view of the Waterway, these are the Waterway facing SkyPatio (2 stacks of 3 room and 4 stack of 4 room compact) and also all 3 room condo units (66 units).

Condos are almost all sold out, when I was there earlier, only 2 units of 3 room condos are available.

Sinkies r so crazy about WT, 1m pigeon hole worth it? Convenice need this price? The club house should name as 'crazy million dollar club'.

Beside the showroom the waterpool haven't fill up with water n those units had already sold out, how amazing n some more during CNY period! One think diff from Bedok res is the overnite queue, preview lucky buyer no need to pay 500 buck for ppl to queue for u.

It's a good buy if u can afford it for own stay, the life style with Chio bu swimming infront of your house is priceless.

I can't, can only buy private, or wait till 35 to buy re-sale HDB....but once I buy private, cannot buy HDB under current rulings....hence stuck in a dilemma...

With your salary I think you can.

i went down to the showflat last night. Jam packed.

I wont buy it because:

1. Overpriced. 2M for a 1190+sf 3room unit before a possible 18% discount and stamp duty rebate. They are offering 2% furniture voucher as well.

2. Out of the way, despite MRT is round the corner.

3. The so called waterway is just a man made thing. Overhyped.

4. Once the mall is up, and if everyone around punggol and Sengkang comes to it, it is gg to cause jams along the 2 lane carraigeways. Despite fact the circulation into the carparks for residents and shoppers are different, if the cars are queueing to go into the commercial carpark, there is possibility the roads will be jammed and you be stuck while trying to get to the residential carpark entrance. (think NEX)

5. The proper condo units, those available has a western facing. Will kena evening sun. Those wont kena sun, will be facing other units in opposite block, that is close by. No privacy.

6. Residential carpark in B3. You will have to park at B3, take a lift to the roof deck of the mall, Then walk to your block and take another lift to your unit. You imagine the trouble if you have to move house, carry heavy things, move old folks or when your friends come to visit (they probably will get lost and you have to spend time directing them).

7. A typical 3rm unit will pay maintainence fee between 300-350. That is expensive.

8. We are looking at 1300 psf if you factor in all the discount. For that location, unless you are not gg to just loiter in punggol all the time (its pretty self sufficient), then its probably not a good buy. The distance to the nearest expressways are not that close by too. I rather get Euhabitat for that matter. I think price wise, not much difference. If you see that Centro which is located just beside AMK hub and MRT is going for around 1500, then it really doesnt make sense to get Punggol.

That is my opinion. for those already bought.. feel free to disagree. Anyway, i have a far east unit too. So PM me for buyer refer buyer. You get additional 1% and me too. But i wont take the full 1%, can rebate back some to you. :p

For investment mainly, even equities has recovered somewhat, looking less of value now, talks of greece debts being solved....if so equity and property market will continue to boom...yeah the question is buy now or wait..decisions decisions decisions, just re-reach rich dad poor dad for fun....damn....what to invest in to make 50K now.....really cannot make money in this market....

From Bloomberg, another buying opportunity.

Market participants remain sceptical that Greece will be able to make a 14.5 billion-euro ($19.2 billion) bond payment in March. In a Bloomberg Global Poll of 1,209 investors released this week, 93 percent of respondents said they expect Greece to default.

Sinkies r so crazy about WT, 1m pigeon hole worth it? Convenice need this price? The club house should name as 'crazy million dollar club'.

Beside the showroom the waterpool haven't fill up with water n those units had already sold out, how amazing n some more during CNY period! One think diff from Bedok res is the overnite queue, preview lucky buyer no need to pay 500 buck for ppl to queue for u.

It's a good buy if u can afford it for own stay, the life style with Chio bu swimming infront of your house is priceless.

Ha ha ha. Chiobu is the most important ! Just like if your office has chiobus, you actually feel more motivated to go to office every day !

Yes, WT is expensive (but as I mentioned previously, cost is high) but worth it or not really depends on what you are looking for. Remember a few years ago, there were HDB units transacted for more than 900k and to me, those are not worth it but for the buyers, it was worth every single pennies.

I might be wrong, but if buy for investment (capital gain or rental), it might be hard due to all the cooling measures. As there are so many units, getting good rental will be more difficult. In terms of capital gain, if you get a WT unit at 1.5k psf, I think it is hard to sell for 20% more (1.8k psf) as at that price, there are many other options. But if you get a good unit during preview and paid 1k psf, there's still chance to sell it at 1.2k psf.

Looking at future trend, more n more sinkie hit income ceiling n many existing 3th timer with no eligibility for EC n HDB, plus ageing population, this PC/FH looks set to fly.

Unless MIW do something, increase building speed for HDB, loosening eligibility, increase income ceiling, control resale price, control DBSS/EC price, then PC/FH pricing will come down.

The demand is still there, demand for integrated life style is even greater, just don't be impulsive.

Go there c c loo loo nvm, bring yr head there.

Looking at future trend, more n more sinkie hit income ceiling n many existing 3th timer with no eligibility for EC n HDB, plus ageing population, this PC/FH looks set to fly.

Unless MIW do something, increase building speed for HDB, loosening eligibility, increase income ceiling, control resale price, control DBSS/EC price, then PC/FH pricing will come down.

The demand is still there, demand for integrated life style is even greater, just don't be impulsive.

Go there c c loo loo nvm, bring yr head there.

u just look at e crowd there last night.. its crazy.. A week into the launch, already more than half sold. Who dares say interest in condo is low? ppl are still on the fence waiting to part their money to get their dream private homes\.

and agents all happy like bird. But the agent that served me, suay lor.. cos i go see see look look only..

Edited by Chrispie

probably pple are more conservative/selective now..but when they see projects which ooze potential, they will start buying...

just compare Riversound in Sengkang vs Watertown in Punngol, you are not seeing the buying craze in the former as compared to the latter, even though the former is priced at a much cheaper range.

pple probably are hoping future Watertown prices to mirror the price escalation of Compass Heights or Centris.

A lot of the buyers are heartlander or live in HDB. A huge percentage stay in the same district which means they like the area and the lifestyle.

If you think about it, there's not many property that offer waterfront living and yet has integrated mall/mrt.

People are definitely looking for waterfront living, just look at all those condos at Bedok reservoir. But those ain't as close to the waterbody as WT.

Yes, the waterway is man made but it is beautiful. How many waterbody within Singapore is not man made? Marina reservoir is man made but the view from MBR is fantastic!

A lot of the buyers are heartlander or live in HDB. A huge percentage stay in the same district which means they like the area and the lifestyle.

If you think about it, there's not many property that offer waterfront living and yet has integrated mall/mrt.

People are definitely looking for waterfront living, just look at all those condos at Bedok reservoir. But those ain't as close to the waterbody as WT.

Yes, the waterway is man made but it is beautiful. How many waterbody within Singapore is not man made? Marina reservoir is man made but the view from MBR is fantastic!

LOL... yah lah. waterfront living is nice. That is why i bought one of those at reservoir.. got an unit facing the reservoir.

BEST PLACE TO LIVE OR TO DIE!! :D

Buy liao ppl starts to go there to jump.. haha.. sian diao.

but anyway, i prefer matured estates lah.. plus reservoir mrt coming up soon, within 1km to red swastika sch.. i tot its a good buy.. paid low 900 psf.

Punggol sell high i also happy lah.. water rise, boats rise too.

Just wanna voice my opinions after visit to the showflat. Like what u said, if u wanna buy, u can find 100 reasons why its good. If you dont want, u can find 1000 reasons why it isnt nice. Im trying to justify why ppl jumping at bedok reservoir is not a problem also... hahahah