Tailgating

Lsflsf

I think no matter road hoggers or tail gaters, there is only one common issue at hand here - a self-centred being at work.

Bro, I agree with you. But many immature drivers as reflected in mcf are still arguing about road hogger and tail gater. I can only speculate that these are mostly young drivers.

Driving on lane 2 or 3 can be a pleasant experience because I can talk to my family. Driving shouldn't be a race track experience in an already stress-up and pretty stuck-up singaporean drivers filled road.

You should have said all those above earlier. Then it would not have reached Page 8 and Renegade777 will not be so du lan. [laugh]

Huh, I read what he has written again the case facts but could not understand why he flame him despite the facts given and want me to think along his logic. I run on high logic level and in order for me to do that same bandwidth is a must and in this case, context. The van is outright trying to provoke so regardless of the situation, move off? How did you know he won't change lane again to tailgate you? This type is obviously the Kuai LAN kind. Jam brake would be a way to send a strong message to him to back off. Nothing wrong with that.

Ultimately we have a responsibility to keep other road users safe but somehow you will meet such weirdos and what will you do if this fellow tailgate you all the way no matter how you try to avoid?

:excl: Anyway time to move on...

Another stupid thread about tailgating vs road hogging.

If you are on lane 1 and a car is behind you...

Q1: Is lane 1 ahead of you clear?

Q2: Is lane 2 clear?

If Q1=Y,Q2=Y, please move to lane 2. If not, you are a road hogger. Full stop.

If Q1=Y,Q2=N, please speed up. If you don't want to speed up, then please filter to lane 2. Otherwise you are also a road hogger. Full stop (don't try to justify with speed limit and all those nonsense like everyone else - it is getting a bit stale by now).

If Q1=N,Q2=Y, then why are you in lane 1? Ditto for the jokers in front and behind you. All are road hoggers. Full stop.

If Q1=N,Q2=N, then you are probably in heavy traffic. If anyone tailgates you, no point get angry. Just continue driving "normally" (but do try to keep up with the car in front of you, else you will be called a road hogger). If you cannot stand him, filter left and let him overtake you. Then you can filter back and tailgate him/her if it makes you happier.

Cheers.

what if you get tailgated on lane 3 of a 3 lane expressway and there are cars in front of you ? filter right to let him pass?

Actually lane 3 is the lane of the lawless. I never venture there unless I have to filter out, so usually no chance to kena tailgate and also, if got roadhogger or slow movers, also lan lan, cos that one is slow lane. [laugh]

In that lane, the vehicle that is biggest with the hardest body and biggest wheels, wins. Unless, middle lane clear to overtake. :D

Another stupid thread about tailgating vs road hogging.

If you are on lane 1 and a car is behind you...

Q1: Is lane 1 ahead of you clear?

Q2: Is lane 2 clear?

If Q1=Y,Q2=Y, please move to lane 2. If not, you are a road hogger. Full stop.

If Q1=Y,Q2=N, please speed up. If you don't want to speed up, then please filter to lane 2. Otherwise you are also a road hogger. Full stop (don't try to justify with speed limit and all those nonsense like everyone else - it is getting a bit stale by now).

If Q1=N,Q2=Y, then why are you in lane 1? Ditto for the jokers in front and behind you. All are road hoggers. Full stop.

If Q1=N,Q2=N, then you are probably in heavy traffic. If anyone tailgates you, no point get angry. Just continue driving "normally" (but do try to keep up with the car in front of you, else you will be called a road hogger). If you cannot stand him, filter left and let him overtake you. Then you can filter back and tailgate him/her if it makes you happier.

Cheers.

I don't understand this: If Q1=N,Q2=Y, then why are you in lane 1? Ditto for the jokers in front and behind you. All are road hoggers. Full stop.

But I agree with the rest. [thumbsup]

Whatever the situation. My take is to give way to others when someone faster coming your way. Simple logic and no need think so far.

Now the problem is that road hogger always think tailgater shd just overtake them..y must tailgate?

Road hogger mindset hink that keep the speed limit is very safe.. cnf wont accident , cnf wont kena fine , cnf save petrol..cnf no different in time saving...

So this kind of thread will keep on argue & argue again.. but for this thread it seems there r many road hogger newbies here..

Seems like you still refuse to acknowledge that whatever you have written is out of the context against the backdrop of what lsflsf put up. So be it then. Pointless to go round and round. Yawn.

It is you who beats around the bush, twist here and there and everytime you are avoiding my questions about road hogging. These questions will show whether is he or she a road hogger. Dont't go around saying things, enough lor.

Now not sentence. Just one word. Can you give way ? Yes means yes. No means no. Just that one word will do and nothing else.

Just say !

Now the problem is that road hogger always think tailgater shd just overtake them..y must tailgate?

Road hogger mindset hink that keep the speed limit is very safe.. cnf wont accident , cnf wont kena fine , cnf save petrol..cnf no different in time saving...

So this kind of thread will keep on argue & argue again.. but for this thread it seems there r many road hogger newbies here..

Yeah newbies alot. These newbies will later complain so many cars, bad traffic jams, high COEs and ERPs but all their own doings for not keeping a smooth flow of traffic becasue they think they are right by hogging fellow drivers. Shoot own leg.

what if you get tailgated on lane 3 of a 3 lane expressway and there are cars in front of you ? filter right to let him pass?

Well if its me, and the back car follows very close...I will filter left and let him go push the other car infront...

I dun wanna be sandwich in case the front cars brake and he rear ends me.

But that is me lah...if base on your example and everyone basically have no place to go....let him follow behind lor.

It is you who beats around the bush, twist here and there and everytime you are avoiding my questions about road hogging. These questions will show whether is he or she a road hogger. Dont't go around saying things, enough lor.

Now not sentence. Just one word. Can you give way ? Yes means yes. No means no. Just that one word will do and nothing else.

Just say !

Dun be an Indian selling prata here with me. The case is obvious and yes I hear you points which is totally irrelevant to the case here. Give way sure I will give way but it depends on your behavior and my mood at that point. Perhaps you can start a new thread instead of rubbing this poor fellow who came here to voice out his predicament, I will definitely agree with you on some pts but not all. In any case you can have gazillions post in MCF but that does not imply you are not a noob on the road. This is in reply to your subsequent. A person's driving experience does not attach to the number of post clocked here. Maturity lies in how you comprehend and articulate the situation. This is getting bOred.

Reading the thread....

- Agree on the fact that lane 1 is overtaking lane... if a faster vehicle approaches, it good courtesy to filter left safely and let it pass before rejoining back to lane 1

- Do not agree on the some comments that if at lane 2 and travelling at speed limit, a fast car comes from behind, I should move to lane 3. in this is the case, then what is lane 1 for?

Road hogging endanger all road users and tailgaters are no different as well.

Rule 1: If any car is close enough to your ass, immediately try to move to next slower lane

Rule 2: After moving to slower lane, you still see someone (else) smelling your ass, go to rule 1 above.

Repeat these till you see no one near your ass. if you still see someone even at the slowest lane, leave driving and take BMW!

These reccomendations should form part of the basic theory syllabus. [thumbsup]

i dun remember my basic theory... do u?

I remember, I also remember using toy cars and explain to my tester the different stages of moving off from stationary position. [sweatdrop]