Tailgating

Lsflsf

I experience 1 time a blue Latio hogging Lane 1 (80kmh) along SLE going towards Woodlands before Mandai exit...I didn't tail gate causse it was quite late night and lane 2 was free and don't want to piss myself off after a day out with the family and just slowly overtake at lane 2...as I switch lanes the Latio also signalled left...ok thinking maybe he saw I'm coming in from behind that's why he wanted to give way so nevermind I'm exiting also at Woodlands Ave 2 (now we are in between Mandai and Woodlands Ave 12 exits) so I let him switch lane in front of me decelerating as we'll in Lane 2...I didn't immediately go back to lane 1 when he switched to lane 2 as there was a car following...so be it anyway, I'm getting off in 2 exits (Woodlands Ave 2)...so I'll just stay at Lane 2...now the Latio did not stay in Lane 2 when he switched lane but went to lane 3 joing the quite slow Q of vehicles exiting Woodlands Ave 12 exit...so he's jolly well almost in lane 3 (vehicle behind also gave way)...so as normal I would speed up a bit to fill the gap in front of Lane 2..but in all awe this Latio suddenly zipped back in Lane 2 as I was accelerating forward...slightly jammed break and pray the vehicle behind was not too close...damn it woke up my kid...gave a good long horn and high beam to that latio..until I exit Ave 12 [;)]

I already gave way from his road hogging and gave way to let him switch lanes not to miss his exit...but still drive like he owns the road...

jam brake is fine....

the car behind supposed to keep safety distance...

lol, ya i remember driving lessons teach us to keep safe distance, never teach to us to tailgate... [:p][laugh]:D

I experience 1 time a blue Latio hogging Lane 1 (80kmh) along SLE going towards Woodlands before Mandai exit...I didn't tail gate causse it was quite late night and lane 2 was free and don't want to piss myself off after a day out with the family and just slowly overtake at lane 2...as I switch lanes the Latio also signalled left...ok thinking maybe he saw I'm coming in from behind that's why he wanted to give way so nevermind I'm exiting also at Woodlands Ave 2 (now we are in between Mandai and Woodlands Ave 12 exits) so I let him switch lane in front of me decelerating as we'll in Lane 2...I didn't immediately go back to lane 1 when he switched to lane 2 as there was a car following...so be it anyway, I'm getting off in 2 exits (Woodlands Ave 2)...so I'll just stay at Lane 2...now the Latio did not stay in Lane 2 when he switched lane but went to lane 3 joing the quite slow Q of vehicles exiting Woodlands Ave 12 exit...so he's jolly well almost in lane 3 (vehicle behind also gave way)...so as normal I would speed up a bit to fill the gap in front of Lane 2..but in all awe this Latio suddenly zipped back in Lane 2 as I was accelerating forward...slightly jammed break and pray the vehicle behind was not too close...damn it woke up my kid...gave a good long horn and high beam to that latio..until I exit Ave 12 [;)]

I already gave way from his road hogging and gave way to let him switch lanes not to miss his exit...but still drive like he owns the road...

Lost in the midst of you story.... [knife] in short, the Latio playing punk w u...quite common to see such drivers on the road..only can confirm if he/she playing punk after several provocations... [rifle]

I think no matter road hoggers or tail gaters, there is only one common issue at hand here - a self-centred being at work.

For road hoggers, you all find it hard to give way to anyone because you think that as long as you drive within the speed limit, you do not need to give way. Why is it so hard to give way when you check your rearview mirror, you see a whole line of vehicles behind and a clear 10 car distance in front of you? Being selfish makes you see the immediate vehicle behind you, tailgating, but do you see that everyone else is tailgating everyone because you are holding up the lane? Don't be egoistic, let faster vehicles pass you and rejoin the lane. This is called courteous driving.

For tailgaters, it is understood that when you tailgate, you want the vehicle in front to take notice and give way. Don't push them too hard, be mindful of the slower lane, if it's congested and difficult to change (because some people don't give way, and that's another story for another time), give them time, mai diam diam high beam. Look in front of the vehicle, is it only 3 cars or 5 cars distance away from the next vehicle in front? If yes, exercise patience and wait for lighter traffic condition to practice overtaking or indicate once more to the vehicle in front to give way (most of the time when traffic frees up, the slower vehicle in front of me always change to slower lane, just experience).

You all diam diam say, "KNN, you tailgate + highbeam + long horn me! I zam brake let you long me, lim peh can change new bumper!" Sometimes when I kena tailgate at overtaking lane during peak hours, I also say the same thing, but my wife asked what happens if she dies, then I change new wife? That really set me thinking.

You all mai tee kee lah. When you give way, people will give way to you too. Pay it forward my brothers.

Lost in the midst of you story.... [knife] in short, the Latio playing punk w u...quite common to see such drivers on the road..only can confirm if he/she playing punk after several provocations... [rifle]

not necessary, bro. the driver might be c--k. I kena a few times liao, usually the driver very c--k (read: lao auntie, female driver, P-plate, unfamiliar with roads). Like to fight to be the first at stop line, but move off slower than everyone else, then block off the whole lane by changing lane almost immediately, then change mind, then after awhile, repeat. Imagine you behind the vehicle for 5 minutes, more than enough to lose alot of blood.

Wah bro...if got female drivers reading u die... :D well...female drivers chio bu never mind lah... give in to them...last sunday a chio bu nearly bump into me..was traveling on the left most lane on the expressway..then she suddenly wantz to cut into my lane (side-by-side)..maybe I at her blind spot...i swerved a little otherwise sure kiss...see 2 chio bu in the car i jus drive on... For drivers u mentioned, usually I will step up and overtake so that they can have their time to search for which lane they prefer to take... :D

hahaha so far only see one zai female driver - a lao ah ma driving Evo MR, with windows down, overtook 5 vehicles in one breath. NO jam brakes and horning. Stunner.

:blink:

But female drivers don't like to give way, yesterday just kena one. :angry: still look at me and ask me to use my eyes, when she was the one who speed up after seeing my signal. After that, I left a note for her as souvenir. :D

I also wan to speed up and overtake, but peak hour traffic, not safe, so LL, follow behind until got space to squeeze through loh.

If you indeed rushing for time then just overtake using other lane if no lane then keep a safe distance.

Yours sincerely

"Saint"

If there was space for the "tailgater" to do so, then the car infront is a "hogger" Full Stop.

If there is no space for the car infront to go...car behind follow closely is a "tailgater"

If there is space and hogger refuse to give way and resort to jam brake...is a moron.

If there was space for the "tailgater" to do so, then the car infront is a "hogger" Full Stop.got space tailgate for what? can overtake rite? [/color]:D

If there is no space for the car infront to go...car behind follow closely is a "tailgater"

If there is space and hogger refuse to give way and resort to jam brake...is a moron.got space jus overtake lah why tailgate? [knife]

wat r u writing [scholar]

Edited by Cars08

wat r u writing [scholar]

Maybe I not clear....

If there is space on the right for the hogger to get out but chose not to...and the tailgater has to overtake from the left.

If in front of the hogger is empty but there is traffic on the left to prevent the tailgater to overtake safely but hogger makes no attepmt to filter left is a moron...

Now you want to talk about logic??? Logic formulated based on facts not whatever. If it is whatever then there is no logic in whatever you have written. So you prefer whatever or logic? Make up your mind man. [;)]

Dont go around blaring with nothing saying so much nonsensical stuff like quoting these words and sentences like "reasonable", "intention", "logic made up base on facts" BUT you can't substantiate any of these. Make up what mind and what facts you have ? Now I asked you. But I can tell you whatever reasons, logic, facts, intention is that I do not road hog. I give way to fellow motorists and not create inconvenience to others which you CANNOT. And that is your logically fact to cause inconvenience to fellow drivers. That is why you are just blaring away.

Simple simple things like asking people to give way during driving means no logic to what I have written ? I rest my case coz even simple things you cannot comprehend. Dont bother replying me if you dont understand what is giving way and not causing inconvenience.

:wacko:

Edited by Renegade777

Maybe I not clear....

If there is space on the right for the hogger to get out but chose not to...and the tailgater has to overtake from the left.

If in front of the hogger is empty but there is traffic on the left to prevent the tailgater to overtake safely but hogger makes no attepmt to filter left is a moron...

Oic...then based on your last statement the driver is definitely a hogger..Ultimately, the road is a public property..road users jus have to be nice n not be provocative against each other.. if u in a hurry, there is always nicer way of putting across ur msg... unruly behaviour is nt acceptable.. [ [;)]

Dont go around blaring with nothing saying so much nonsensical stuff like quoting these words and sentences like "reasonable", "intention", "logic made up base on facts" BUT you can't substantiate any of these. Make up what mind and what facts you have ? Now I asked you. But I can tell you whatever reasons, logic, facts, intention is that I do not road hog. I give way to fellow motorists and not create inconvenience to others which you CANNOT. And that is your logically fact to cause inconvenience to fellow drivers. That is why you are just blaring away.

Simple simple things like asking people to give way during driving means no logic to what I have written ? I rest my case coz even simple things you cannot comprehend. Dont bother replying me if you dont understand what is giving way and not causing inconvenience.

:wacko:

You mean you talk logic by putting other's perspective out of context? You call this facts and logic and concurred by saying whatever the situation ? Your reasoning beyond my understanding. [knife]

Brother, I think the points you've made across to him and some of us, are that as long as the driver is within speed limit, regardless of lane, the driver do not have to give way, especially during tailgating situations.

Better yet, zam brake, cause accident, slow down traffic just because one refuse to give way and the other is tailgating.

So let's say, if there are no injuries involved, you've gotten revenge, and a new bumper. But you've caused a major traffic slow down, (much more if it's in the middle lanes), and let's just say, there is someone in this traffic slow-down who is rushing to visit a dying relative, an ambulance sending someone to hospital, a fire engine rushing to save fire. All these just for one new bumper? Personally, I find it very selfish.

I think, in the end, if one checks mirror regularly, is aware of the traffic conditions, gives way safely when possible, then tailgaters do not have much chance.

Ok. I am wrong and I have no facts, logic or whatever becasue I GIVE WAY to fellow motorists.

And you are right, with all the facts, logic and whatever becasue you stubbornly believe in yourself NOT GIVING way to fellow motorists and causing others inconvenience. Great. You are very generous and not selfish and always have fellow drivers in mind.

Dont bother to reply me. If want, just reply me Can Give Way or Cannot Give Way. Nothing interest except these two sentences as in relation to road hogging and nothing else.

Brother, I think the points you've made across to him and some of us, are that as long as the driver is within speed limit, regardless of lane, the driver do not have to give way, especially during tailgating situations.

Better yet, zam brake, cause accident, slow down traffic just because one refuse to give way and the other is tailgating.

So let's say, if there are no injuries involved, you've gotten revenge, and a new bumper. But you've caused a major traffic slow down, (much more if it's in the middle lanes), and let's just say, there is someone in this traffic slow-down who is rushing to visit a dying relative, an ambulance sending someone to hospital, a fire engine rushing to save fire. All these just for one new bumper? Personally, I find it very selfish.

I think, in the end, if one checks mirror regularly, is aware of the traffic conditions, gives way safely when possible, then tailgaters do not have much chance.

Huh? Bro, what I'm putting across is in the context of the case mentioned. If someone needs to overtake we do not deliberately make it difficult but if someone deliberately tailgate you when they can use other lane safely then this is too much. Jam brake is a sign for tailgaters to backoff and maintain a safe distance depending on the road conditions.

You should have said all those above earlier. Then it would not have reached Page 8 and Renegade777 will not be so du lan. [laugh]

Edited by StefanK

Ok. I am wrong and I have no facts, logic or whatever becasue I GIVE WAY to fellow motorists.

And you are right, with all the facts, logic and whatever becasue you stubbornly believe in yourself NOT GIVING way to fellow motorists and causing others inconvenience. Great. You are very generous and not selfish and always have fellow drivers in mind.

Dont bother to reply me. If want, just reply me Can Give Way or Cannot Give Way. Nothing interest except these two sentences as in relation to road hogging and nothing else.

Seems like you still refuse to acknowledge that whatever you have written is out of the context against the backdrop of what lsflsf put up. So be it then. Pointless to go round and round. Yawn.