Sabbie Clutched December 3, 2011 Share December 3, 2011 There is no such word as IRregardless... FYI He is the rich towkay with no formal education la....communication needs not just be verbal.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Razer_Blaze 2nd Gear December 3, 2011 Share December 3, 2011 Hello Degree holders, How many are not there yet after working so many years? How many quit your high paying job due to work stress? Just curious la.... Sometimes I wonder why our society always try to "sell" that having degree equals success? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear December 3, 2011 Share December 3, 2011 u dunno meh, nowadays if u look at the requirements of the candidate which employers want to hire. they usually place a farking long list of skillsets but only willing to pay peanuts... not the $600k peanut for .. u will tao chio if they pay u $60k peanut per annum [laugh] then comes these FTs, for some reason, they are young and in their CV, can do fly up the sky, dig into the ground kinda skill.... at 1/2 a peanut pay. somehow the employers believed them and hire them instead of a local Becos the boss need to cover backside in case his boss ask him for black and white . So they only look at paper qualification lor. Good corporate governance was the name. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pchmj Clutched December 3, 2011 Share December 3, 2011 Hi Pchmj, from your post, I don Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pchmj Clutched December 3, 2011 Share December 3, 2011 (edited) Every time I see my malaysian colleagues, I envy them. All of them get PR very easily, work side by side with me, get around the same pay, doesn't matter which uni they came from. Some don't need to rent house/room, stay with relative. The best is 1 colleague, since CPF is locked and they have no intention to live here, she use it to buy a old HDB with her sister. They rent out the whole house and stay in a rental room somewhere else, since they only need a place to sleep and go back to malaysia every weekend. CPF used to pay installment, then can get cash from the rental. Bought few years back so now property price up, they have capital gain + monthly rental to collect. So if they work till 55, they sell HDB, throw back PR status, cash out remaining CPF and can live very very comfortably in their hometown. Compare this to citizens with similar job. Edited December 3, 2011 by Pchmj Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged December 3, 2011 Share December 3, 2011 Thanks for the advice. I'll for sure change job after I get my bonus, should be easily to find job after CNY. Company I'm in is a MNC but no position to promote unless they create a new position for me, I report directly to director and there's nobody in between. My department only have 2 staffs, each of us handle 1 product line. The last 'promotion' is from junior to senior staff with very little pay increment. I need to jump out for better prospect. More like a new industry. Try something related to your field of studies so you have a better value tonstart off with. And for fug's sake, be more positive. Life owes you nothing and we are dealt the same hand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator December 3, 2011 Share December 3, 2011 There is no such word as IRregardless... FYI -ve + -ve = +ve Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear December 3, 2011 Share December 3, 2011 Thanks for the advice. I'll for sure change job after I get my bonus, should be easily to find job after CNY. Company I'm in is a MNC but no position to promote unless they create a new position for me, I report directly to director and there's nobody in between. My department only have 2 staffs, each of us handle 1 product line. The last 'promotion' is from junior to senior staff with very little pay increment. I need to jump out for better prospect. Caution If you do have to, just ensure you 'don Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched December 3, 2011 Share December 3, 2011 Every time I see my malaysian colleagues, I envy them. All of them get PR very easily, work side by side with me, get around the same pay, doesn't matter which uni they came from. Some don't need to rent house/room, stay with relative. The best is 1 colleague, since CPF is locked and they have no intention to live here, she use it to buy a old HDB with her sister. They rent out the whole house and stay in a rental room somewhere else, since they only need a place to sleep and go back to malaysia every weekend. CPF used to pay installment, then can get cash from the rental. Bought few years back so now property price up, they have capital gain + monthly rental to collect. So if they work till 55, they sell HDB, throw back PR status, cash out remaining CPF and can live very very comfortably in their hometown. Compare this to citizens with similar job. Sounds like ft exploiting our system again Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear December 3, 2011 Share December 3, 2011 Every time I see my malaysian colleagues, I envy them. All of them get PR very easily, work side by side with me, get around the same pay, doesn't matter which uni they came from. Some don't need to rent house/room, stay with relative. The best is 1 colleague, since CPF is locked and they have no intention to live here, she use it to buy a old HDB with her sister. They rent out the whole house and stay in a rental room somewhere else, since they only need a place to sleep and go back to malaysia every weekend. CPF used to pay installment, then can get cash from the rental. Bought few years back so now property price up, they have capital gain + monthly rental to collect. So if they work till 55, they sell HDB, throw back PR status, cash out remaining CPF and can live very very comfortably in their hometown. Compare this to citizens with similar job. 'tis best to let go the bitterness. It doesn't help to make you a happier person. While they may have certain privileges, such privileges need not be comparable with you as a local who have your family and real home to turn to daily. I am certain with the right frame of mind, you can go places and you will be surprised at the power of positive thinking and real effort to succeed in Singapore for a local. One of the clearer edge locals have over foreign counterpart in the region is their higher level in the command of the official national language both verbally and in writing. If you do have to communicate and write reports etc.. frequently, such ability does give you an edge over them and in due course, if you do the right thing, propelling faster in your career than them - all things being equal, need not be a surprise. Regarding 'wealth' accumulation as you grow; time is on your side (at least for now) and despite the apparent disadvantage, it need never be in many ways. Afterall, Rome wasn't built overnight and it is better to do it slowly and surely than wasting the precious energy over pessimism. All the best and be happy! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged December 3, 2011 Share December 3, 2011 -ve + -ve = +ve knn.. like tat cbl lah, got say like no say? [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator December 3, 2011 Share December 3, 2011 knn.. like tat cbl lah, got say like no say? [laugh] A.k.a. LPPL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched December 3, 2011 Share December 3, 2011 nowadays degree no use, must get masters, even better still, phd Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged December 3, 2011 Share December 3, 2011 Every time I see my malaysian colleagues, I envy them. All of them get PR very easily, work side by side with me, get around the same pay, doesn't matter which uni they came from. Some don't need to rent house/room, stay with relative. The best is 1 colleague, since CPF is locked and they have no intention to live here, she use it to buy a old HDB with her sister. They rent out the whole house and stay in a rental room somewhere else, since they only need a place to sleep and go back to malaysia every weekend. CPF used to pay installment, then can get cash from the rental. Bought few years back so now property price up, they have capital gain + monthly rental to collect. So if they work till 55, they sell HDB, throw back PR status, cash out remaining CPF and can live very very comfortably in their hometown. Compare this to citizens with similar job. Wa liao, even the Malaysia uncle who came and do my renovation also same like your colleague. 1 thing he told me right away was 'It's SIAO to turn citizen from PR' . Even reno uncle also know this Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged December 3, 2011 Share December 3, 2011 Sounds like ft exploiting our system again Don't blame the exploiter. Blame whoever put in place the system that is being exploited. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged December 3, 2011 Share December 3, 2011 Malaysians working in Singapore have been exploiting the system since day 1. SG garment basically LLST. hold back CPF. But they use it to buy property and when make money, sell and pocket diff shiok shiok. blame them? No. If I'm them I'll also do the same. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Singhao 1st Gear December 3, 2011 Share December 3, 2011 nowadays degree no use, must get masters, even better still, phd This is a rubbish statement. Unless you are very sure it makes a significant difference to your career, don't waste money/time on masters, mba, phd... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 3, 2011 Share December 3, 2011 Malaysians working in Singapore have been exploiting the system since day 1. SG garment basically LLST. hold back CPF. But they use it to buy property and when make money, sell and pocket diff shiok shiok. blame them? No. If I'm them I'll also do the same. If these Malaysians are foreigners/PRs, cant IRAS impose extra capital gain tax/levy on them before they can remit the money (profit from sales of property) back to MY? This may be 'radical/harsh' to foreigners making profit thru property resales in sgp, but we cant let them milk the system so easily. For sure if such a levy is in place, they may think twice before investing in SGP properties, but this may not be a bad thing coz if the demand (from foreign / PR buyers) is reduced, overall it will cold the market (but not killing it) and no more run-away price hikes!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...