Degree holder: are you still struggle to be successful?

Dinosaka

Correct, some company really waste people time. I remember i went to one interview, the manager tell me based on your CV, you dont have related experience in this field....! I was thinking if you think that i have no related experience, then why you called me up for interview??? Waste my time and my leave to come for interview! [:|]

I went for an interview 3 years back...indicated my expected salary... went thru penal interview and never touch on pay matter....3 days later they wrote an email to me to inform me i was accepted by them and asked me to go and sign the LOA.... i wrote a email back to ask about my salary package and benefits, surprising..they are expecting me to take a paycut of 20% off my current salary....i rejected them...knn cant afford also dun tell other so and make ppl waste time to go for interview.....

Nowadays many companies refuse to touch on pay matters in the first round...

not even in the 2nd round...

only 3rd round then they make their offer...

knn and u clearly stated how much u r asking for...

so if they have no intention to meet it, y bother to even arrange for the interview...

ahem..... [laugh][laugh] not that kind of wanted

but he did create a niche......as nobody knows how to escape from a toilet till now still [:p]

Columbarium got lots of niche to choose from

high or low

left or right

front or back

Nowadays many companies refuse to touch on pay matters in the first round...

not even in the 2nd round...

only 3rd round then they make their offer...

knn and u clearly stated how much u r asking for...

so if they have no intention to meet it, y bother to even arrange for the interview...

i got one interview many years ago

the CEO told me dont be another idiot

i wondered why

the bugger before ask the CEO for her phone number

the CEO happens to be the daughter of some rich man

I told her, she was not my type and already i got my wife who is the prettiest gal in my life

fark, i didnt get the job

perhaps i should have rephrase

i can understand why, you are very pretty and hence make man say stupid things

but then i was not so "worldly smart"

all i had in mind was proud of what i have and can do

did not realised that most jobs taken nowadays are those buggers who can boast and bluff their way around

Brudder, 30 yrs ago Lucky Plaza is the most popular Mall in SG.. then, there weren't any Pinoys yet.

tiger you must be in your mid 40's or late 40's already

so you know john travolta

Correct, some company really waste people time. I remember i went to one interview, the manager tell me based on your CV, you dont have related experience in this field....! I was thinking if you think that i have no related experience, then why you called me up for interview??? Waste my time and my leave to come for interview! [:|]

Haha i kana such before esp when during phone conversation before gng down,i will ask them back "whats make u think i will join then?got director dividend payout isit?"

Then they also paiseh lol

it depends on wat u wan. if u content w ur BnB car, entry level condo, im sure doing wat u r now shd achieve them.

but its w the peers u mixing with, maintaining status quo makes u unhappy. am i right?

hmm, to be honest, my best fren drives a maserati, and stays in a 2 million property, I also have a secondary school fren who stays in a 5 million bungalow and drives 2 sports car, am I jealous of them? well actually not, we are equal as frens although they are much more well off than me, Do I envy them? Well maybe a little but life goes on, sometimes we are just limited by our ability and there is only so far we can go, by forcing the issue will not make us happier. So I will be happy with a supercharged entry level conti car, a mass market condo with 3 big rooms and a maid's room, and maybe 1.5million in spare cash. That's it, this will make me happy but I am long way from number 2 and 3 yet so I am not happy now. however, yes I believe in progress and self improvement so it's up that everyone improves yourself before you get kicked out but the next FT or young upstart.

Actually 10k/mth for a normal degree holder at age 40 only mean you are not underachieving. It doesn't mean you are successful but rather it means you are on the correct path and not off track.

yup, that's nothing great but probably reasonable if you work in a big mnc, if you work in a sme, may be abit different

10K is gross or net?

Gross or net only 1K difference la..

All i want to advocate is... Always measure yourself with your own ruler. In this society, we're measured and recognised by others cos we're part of the system. But that's just it and often towards the end what matters is your own report card to yourself... Be happy, contented and count your blessings. Most are not happy and spend 80% of their efforts for that 20% of lacking... Ask yourself if that's worth your effort or should you just take a step back and enjoy your 80% good fortune and achievements. Cheers.

Wise words... How long is your ruler? :huh:

I think that's easy for you to say because as you mentioned earlier at the age of 35, you can probably retire or semi retire already, but how about those people struggling and earning say 2.5K a month and have to support their familes? But what you say may apply to rich people, see your neighbour buy cayman than you have to get a 911 to be happy.....so it's easy to be contented if you are comfortable and earning 10K a month but if you are on the opposite end of it, may be tough

Wise words... How long is your ruler? :huh:

I am a third of my potential in my own view. Am indifferent to many thing now, when i reach two thirds I'll be off from the rat race. When i hit my full potential I'll retire and go travel the world with my wife.

I think that's easy for you to say because as you mentioned earlier at the age of 35, you can probably retire or semi retire already, but how about those people struggling and earning say 2.5K a month and have to support their familes? But what you say may apply to rich people, see your neighbour buy cayman than you have to get a 911 to be happy.....so it's easy to be contented if you are comfortable and earning 10K a month but if you are on the opposite end of it, may be tough

Why must one be happy when he is one up against his neighbor? You're happy or not based on your own value judgement and not based upon whether you become the object of desire in the eyes of thy neighbor... Set your thinking right as the report card has your name on it not you and your neighbor's...

As I said this is only possible if one is comparing a Cayman to Z4....you won't be happy if one is comparing a picanto to a getz...

Actually I could even have bothered posting on such a moronic title for a topic even for any meaningful disscussion....

What makes TS think that being just a degree holder ( which is a dime for dozens) or even a PhD holder, gives that person any chance of success in life....

Any Ah Beng Ah Long would definitely see where I'm coming from... [laugh]

But I'm not surprised that TS is a Big headed graduate of some sort that could never fathom how one would have the means by their early 30s to own and live in such multi-million dollars house...

And to make TS even more preplexed and confused, that owner of that Sentosa Cove Bungalow, isn't ANY GRADUATE to begin with! [laugh]

hmm, to be honest, my best fren drives a maserati, and stays in a 2 million property, I also have a secondary school fren who stays in a 5 million bungalow and drives 2 sports car, am I jealous of them? well actually not, we are equal as frens although they are much more well off than me, Do I envy them? Well maybe a little but life goes on, sometimes we are just limited by our ability and there is only so far we can go, by forcing the issue will not make us happier. So I will be happy with a supercharged entry level conti car, a mass market condo with 3 big rooms and a maid's room, and maybe 1.5million in spare cash. That's it, this will make me happy but I am long way from number 2 and 3 yet so I am not happy now. however, yes I believe in progress and self improvement so it's up that everyone improves yourself before you get kicked out but the next FT or young upstart.

But I too stay in a multi-million dollar house, no Masa-the-rati, no sport cars..or any so called super charge nonsense ..but got a few cats....which don't seem to have come from very exotic category...

You need so much to be happy?....

Then I guess if you're me....

You'll be very unhappy then....

-----

----------

That is if you managed to own even one multi-million dollar house to begin with!

Dream on.... :D