Degree holder: are you still struggle to be successful?

Dinosaka

What made you think that you will be more successful being a Malaysian holding Singapore permanent residence status.

You are what you make yourself of.. regardless of your citizenship.

Singapore citizens have a very clear advantage over citizens of our neighbouring countries. We have a good (not the very best but good) education system from Primary up to University, education fee before University level are cheap, we are educated in English (this is a very clear advantage if you know how to capitalize on it) and most of us are bilingual.

We are disadvantaged by NS because of the time spent in service deprives us the same amount of time in furthering our careers or studies. The things that you learn from NS and the eagerness to regain the lost time should do you well if you take NS in positive stride.

True...Singapore education system is good (not best) but the after schooling prospect is lousy to the core!!!!!!!

Edited by Ronleech

Typically, the first 5 years of working r the hardest years in the average guy's life. The advantages of having a good degree will only show after that, of course, providing this guy really has skills, not just one of those types good at passing exams haha

[smash][thumbsup]

If young degree holder say he can not make it in the system, our country is hopeless liao...

same problem in US, Korea, Taiwan and Japan, not surprise -_-

I O level only, if I don't take on many jobs how to survive? so I am insurance agent, property agent, and now I even thinking of driving taxi!!! it's a tough life for me bro not like you degree holders sit in cushy office and surf mcf whole day!!!

Then you should be very successful wad, comprain wad?

No everyone can juggle between being an insurance agent, property agent and yet holding a full-time position at a bank. -_-

and able camp on mcf day & night [laugh] [laugh]

what about the young people without degree, condemned for life?

no, they succeed :D

degree no big deal since 20 years ago, many acquire one in the middle of their career actually do better than those fresh one.

Dont expect to get somewhere within a big corp in 3 years, degree holder or otherwise

Some people take longer, others take shorter.

As long as you know you are good and contributing, continue to perfect your craft and further your knowledge and network.

Perseverance in that direction is key to climbing the corp ladder with high integrity.

I meet so many young graduates who think they can just become someone in a big firm after 3 - 5 yrs.

I after 15yrs still a nobody, wiping tables, getting hands dirty.

KNN plse dont grumble.

What made you think that you will be more successful being a Malaysian holding Singapore permanent residence status.

You are what you make yourself of.. regardless of your citizenship.

Singapore citizens have a very clear advantage over citizens of our neighbouring countries. We have a good (not the very best but good) education system from Primary up to University, education fee before University level are cheap, we are educated in English (this is a very clear advantage if you know how to capitalize on it) and most of us are bilingual.

We are disadvantaged by NS because of the time spent in service deprives us the same amount of time in furthering our careers or studies. The things that you learn from NS and the eagerness to regain the lost time should do you well if you take NS in positive stride.

My colleagues are from malaysia, some with cert of little known university there. They are young and have more experience than me. Things I learn in NS is useless for my job until now. Out of 30+ employees, I'm the only 1 with NS liability. Company is very calculative about salary, I've nothing to ask for more pay. So what if their university standard is lower? They can still work here side by side with me, same rank, same opportunity. At the end of day, they convert to RM, went back every weekend enjoy.

My colleague, a Singaporean, stays in Malaysia and commute to work in Singapore everyday. But you need a new passport every year.

Sori hor...I 4 Orh Level not qualified to work in a bank....just struggling to make ends meet with my 2 jobs....so how you wanna buy insurance or property from me or not....? [laugh]

I Dont have a degree.

But i think your subject should read...

1) Are you struggling to be successful?

2) Do you struggle to be successful?

This is after my 6 months intensive Engrish training on MCF... :D

To be fair, NS does train character to a certain extent, and in govt related jobs, get paid a few hundred over those without NS...but yes you are also right...the 2 to 3 years head start make a big difference....for example girls your same age can be your managers when you start working...but bopian we can only work around the system and not against it....I got 2.5 years of NS and 4 years of a useless degree(pls ignore the earlier boliao posts I made)....I started working at 26....whereas at 26...there are many millionaires at USA areadi....so no choice have to play catch up...like I was a virgin till 25 and now playing catch up...

Hello Degree holders,

How many are not there yet after working so many years?

How many quit your high paying job due to work stress?

Just curious la....

This kind of topic is very common during meet-ups with friends. A simple "where u working now?" will lead to it. Some start complaining low pay and such. I actually have quite a number of such friends. But i find most of them are where they are because they didn't plan their careers at all. All waiting for pay rise or for their bosses to promote them....wait wait wait.

Asked them why in the first place they chose this career/industry. Mostly answered starting pay good or was the 1st offer. They didn't even bothered to research on the industry.

Asked them how often they attend courses to upgrade themselves.... mostly answered seldom do so cos company never sponsor... almost fainted. Some say no time but before that they were talking about the Korean dramas they were following, LOL.

ZERO PLANNING. Of cos fail. All they do is wait for things to happen. Sorry to say that such people deserve to fail.

The key to success is planning. And get out of comfort zone.

My colleague, a Singaporean, stays in Malaysia and commute to work in Singapore everyday. But you need a new passport every year.

With MACS, no need.