Degree holder: are you still struggle to be successful?

Dinosaka

A degree is just a stepping stone towards your job, success has nothing to do with academics unless you work for the govt, for O level people like me, I am lucky I can sell insurance and make a decent living because I am a man of high moral integrity and help people plan their finances....

you're right, in fact a degree can be a hindrance to some pple....

A degree is just a stepping stone towards your job, success has nothing to do with academics unless you work for the govt, for O level people like me, I am lucky I can sell insurance and make a decent living because I am a man of high moral integrity and help people plan their finances....

Fark u la. How many jobs do you have? [laugh]

I know degree is just a piece of paper, the richest people are not highly educated. My parents don't even pass PSLE and can have family, small house and a car. They just need 15 years to fully repay HDB loan. Now it's impossible.

Is it possible for me to become a malaysian and singapore PR? If can, then I don't have any more complains.

When i first started working, for the first 7 years (yes, seven) i was overworked and underpaid...... maybe I was the exception?.... but many people I know suffered the same in the first 3-4 years of the career until they found their niche (not plain sailing before that). So hold on to your current job and be focused but keep your eyes open for opportunities.

I'm struggling. Graduate in 08, then went to repay NS since I disrupt for study. 2 months before ORD, lehman bro collaspe.

Had a hard time finding job, finally end up with a job with low pay and totally unrelated to my studies. I just take it since recession at its worse phase, cannot be picky. Now it's almost 3 years and my pay remains the lowest among my peers, can't even hit 3k. Applied for jobs since the start of the year, ask for 3.2k in resume, but received 0 call.

I believe one reason is because we are the only company in SGP doing this thing, so I can only apply for positions which I've no experience in. Makes me hate NS and the govt even more, if not for NS, I'll most likely have a better job/career development. Come out from NS and I see those foreigners taking over jobs which I can do, at a lower pay. Call me weak but I blame our govt for taking away my opportunities, this is a fact. I'm almost 30 and still no reasonable career path. I seriously wonder how am I going to have a family and a HDB flat, car is out of the question and I don't even dare to think. Many of my friends who get married and buy HDB are struggling to make ends meet. Haiz... [shakehead]

He is having fun with nukes. His days are numbered. His fat boy looks more chubby and can claim that he is rich and successful as a degree holder. Very relevant to this thread.

he survives till today, coz he smarter than gaddafi?? :o

By going at your definition, i just hope that our ministers felt very successful and wanted. So far, they had made it known that they felt rich only, but this does not mean they feel that they are successful.

So the moral of the story is even when you are right up there, it does not mean you will feel successful.

when a minister is only capable of feeling rich, that says a lot :D

A degree is just a stepping stone towards your job, success has nothing to do with academics unless you work for the govt, for O level people like me, I am lucky I can sell insurance and make a decent living because I am a man of high moral integrity and help con people plan their finances....

Fark u la. How many jobs do you have? [laugh]

I O level only, if I don't take on many jobs how to survive? so I am insurance agent, property agent, and now I even thinking of driving taxi!!! it's a tough life for me bro not like you degree holders sit in cushy office and surf mcf whole day!!!

and the bottomline is, the choice is yours. Yes, easier said than done.

A degree gives you the basics to do your job well (hopefully) to function at a higher level than others. However, streetsmartness, is another thing altogether. Quite a lot of other factors come in to play too, and lady luck as well.

I find myself fortunate to have been at the right place at the right time, and the invaluable experiences gained has wisened me for the better

and choose the right numbers at the right time also?

at the toto queue.. :D

you're right, in fact a degree can be a hindrance to some pple....

That's true...with a degree....people play it safe and get a 9 to 6 office job that well pays the bills but perhaps don't really contribute to society or is what he is passionate about....whereas i know alot of people with poly certs became successful entreprenuers....

I O level only, if I don't take on many jobs how to survive? so I am insurance agent, property agent, and now I even thinking of driving taxi!!! it's a tough life for me bro not like you degree holders sit in cushy office and surf mcf whole day!!!

i want to drive limo taxi.... free only can fetch xmm eat wind :D

but how you surf MCF driving a taxi?

i want to drive limo taxi.... free only can fetch xmm eat wind :D

but how you surf MCF driving a taxi?

haven't yet, so far selling insurance and property still can survive la...but market very bad leow....may have to drive taxi soon

I'm struggling. Graduate in 08, then went to repay NS since I disrupt for study. 2 months before ORD, lehman bro collaspe.

Had a hard time finding job, finally end up with a job with low pay and totally unrelated to my studies. I just take it since recession at its worse phase, cannot be picky. Now it's almost 3 years and my pay remains the lowest among my peers, can't even hit 3k. Applied for jobs since the start of the year, ask for 3.2k in resume, but received 0 call.

I believe one reason is because we are the only company in SGP doing this thing, so I can only apply for positions which I've no experience in. Makes me hate NS and the govt even more, if not for NS, I'll most likely have a better job/career development. Come out from NS and I see those foreigners taking over jobs which I ...

Don't blame your situation or govt or system lah bro. What you say, i.e. switching to another job where you have zero experience, is something that many others, including myself, have already done. You have to start somewhere, and in my case, even go back to school to get the paper qualification and start out again.

Since you are a grad it should be easy to score more than $3k unless your degree is low quality. Even govt job or uniformed services or teaching definitely pay you higher. And civil or public service is actually not so stressful - good pay to start a family and less stress. Question is: it can be stressful if you don't like the job, so are you prepared to bite the bullet?? [rolleyes] It's up to you to still accept less than $3k jobs or make the switch.

Anyway, in private sector, engineering job, just touching $3k after 3 yrs is still within normal range, don't be surprised. I speak from experience.

Edited by Sosaria

Should be "are you still struggling to be successful?", or "do you still struggle to be successful?", but I think he couldn't decide, so chose a bit of both [laugh]

as long as you and I understand what he means...... the rest wont really help him make his first million :D but maybe a decent job in an angmoh speaking environement

What made you think that you will be more successful being a Malaysian holding Singapore permanent residence status.

You are what you make yourself of.. regardless of your citizenship.

Singapore citizens have a very clear advantage over citizens of our neighbouring countries. We have a good (not the very best but good) education system from Primary up to University, education fee before University level are cheap, we are educated in English (this is a very clear advantage if you know how to capitalize on it) and most of us are bilingual.

We are disadvantaged by NS because of the time spent in service deprives us the same amount of time in furthering our careers or studies. The things that you learn from NS and the eagerness to regain the lost time should do you well if you take NS in positive stride.

I know degree is just a piece of paper, the richest people are not highly educated. My parents don't even pass PSLE and can have family, small house and a car. They just need 15 years to fully repay HDB loan. Now it's impossible.

Is it possible for me to become a malaysian and singapore PR? If can, then I don't have any more complains.