Jrage 1st Gear December 1, 2011 Share December 1, 2011 (edited) Was reading this article yesterday. I am wondering with so many ppls having huge cash buildup. Could there be a possiblity that fiat $$ will eventually "burst". https://www.kitcomm.com/showthread.php?t=93752 Edited December 1, 2011 by Jrage ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rosschang 1st Gear December 1, 2011 Share December 1, 2011 Thanks for the link, been reading a lot on these sort of stuff lately. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched December 1, 2011 Share December 1, 2011 worse still, I think there is possibility of stagflation, I went uob to place a fixed deposit at 0.9% and dun think i can beat inflation Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jrage 1st Gear December 1, 2011 Author Share December 1, 2011 (edited) i think it's more scary than that... There is a chance when fiat $$ because zero. And everyone just grab whatever their $$ can buy. I have some gold holding.. but as you know gold dun earn you interest., basically it just to bouy against inflation. I was just wondering.. Althought property price is heading for a correction, fiat $$ is heading the same direction and possiblity to become nothing. If is better to start grabbing whatever $$ can buy now. The recent reports on singaporean growing assets.. is very much a warning of inflation.. where ppl simply have too much $$. Edited December 1, 2011 by Jrage Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched December 1, 2011 Share December 1, 2011 that's mainly in europe.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched December 1, 2011 Share December 1, 2011 i think it's more scary than that... There is a chance when fiat $$ because zero. And everyone just grab whatever their $$ can buy. I have some gold holding.. but as you know gold dun earn you interest., basically it just to bouy against inflation. I was just wondering.. Althought property price is heading for a correction, fiat $$ is heading the same direction and possiblity to become nothing. If is better to start grabbing whatever $$ can buy now. The recent reports on singaporean growing assets.. is very much a warning of inflation.. where ppl simply have too much $$. are you saying it's best to buy whatever hard assets you can have now? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jrage 1st Gear December 1, 2011 Author Share December 1, 2011 (edited) are you saying it's best to buy whatever hard assets you can have now? yes. Cos' the rate that wealth is growing is alarming... It no longer just a transfer of wealth from EU/US to asia.. It a devaluation of printed $$. This has happened again and again in history, where fiat $$ fails and we head back to gold. Edited December 1, 2011 by Jrage Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched December 1, 2011 Share December 1, 2011 yes. Cos' the rate that wealth is growing is alarming... It no longer just a transfer of wealth from EU/US to asia.. It a devaluation of printed $$. This has happened again and again in history, where fiat $$ fails and we head back to gold. I been stocking up physical gold as well as paper gold. but holding is small compared to those resting in cpf and bank. That's interesting? so you buy gold bars from UOB? and where do you store them? in cisco safe deposit boxes? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jrage 1st Gear December 1, 2011 Author Share December 1, 2011 (edited) That's interesting? so you buy gold bars from UOB? and where do you store them? in cisco safe deposit boxes? Sorry.. it's a secret.. will have to kill you if i tell you..:P Edited December 1, 2011 by Jrage Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Without_a_car Clutched December 1, 2011 Share December 1, 2011 yes. Cos' the rate that wealth is growing is alarming... It no longer just a transfer of wealth from EU/US to asia.. It a devaluation of printed $$. This has happened again and again in history, where fiat $$ fails and we head back to gold. I suggest you sell your paper gold. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jrage 1st Gear December 1, 2011 Author Share December 1, 2011 I suggest you sell your paper gold. hmm.. will do .. but put the $$ to where ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Without_a_car Clutched December 1, 2011 Share December 1, 2011 hmm.. will do .. but put the $$ to where ? Buy a piece of property in Malaysia with some land in the backyard, and diesel electric generator. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched December 1, 2011 Share December 1, 2011 The Federal Reserve along with the European Central Bank, Bank of Canada, Bank of Japan, Bank of England, and the Swiss National Bank are all lowering their U.S. dollar swap rates by 50 basis points! This is going to create massive worldwide monetary inflation and flood the world with U.S. dollars! The Fed claims that these coordinated actions will enhance their capacity to provide liquidity support to the global financial system in order to "ease strains in financial markets and thereby mitigate the effects of such strains on the supply of credit to households and businesses and so help foster economic activity." It was also announced this morning that arrangements have been made to establish temporary bilateral liquidity swap arrangements so that liquidity can be provided in each jurisdiction in any of their currencies should market conditions so warrant. Although the Fed said, "there is no need to offer liquidity in non-domestic currencies other than the U.S. dollar" at this time, the stage is now set to create massive worldwide monetary inflation in other fiat currencies as well. The whole entire global fiat currency system could soon come to an end. The only solution to the upcoming hyperinflationary crisis will be a global digital gold backed currency. NIA believes China will soon announce that they have dramatically increased their gold holdings to backup their rapidly growing foreign currency reserves, which have now reached $3.2 trillion. China's central bank just announced this morning that they are lowering their reserve requirement ratio by 50 basis points to 21% from 21.5%! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear December 1, 2011 Share December 1, 2011 Can know your age, if you are local born? I can understand if you are a foreigner, here as a tourist, or recently neutralised citizen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rosschang 1st Gear December 1, 2011 Share December 1, 2011 That's interesting? so you buy gold bars from UOB? and where do you store them? in cisco safe deposit boxes? GST. 7% buy and 7% sell for physical gold. mai siao la... before inflation squash you, SG GOV already suck u dry dry. you'll need a gold appreciation of 14%... or a SGD depreciation of 14% to make even... Paper gold la... only got admin charges etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rosschang 1st Gear December 1, 2011 Share December 1, 2011 Buy a piece of property in Malaysia with some land in the backyard, and diesel electric generator. No nid generator. can illegal wire and steal electricity. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Without_a_car Clutched December 1, 2011 Share December 1, 2011 No nid generator. can illegal wire and steal electricity. In case they shut down the power plants, you can use palm oil seeds to make bio diesel. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched December 1, 2011 Share December 1, 2011 GST. 7% buy and 7% sell for physical gold. mai siao la... before inflation squash you, SG GOV already suck u dry dry. you'll need a gold appreciation of 14%... or a SGD depreciation of 14% to make even... Paper gold la... only got admin charges etc. You mean like GOLD ETF? anyway the market now is crazy, there is no trend anymore, so I decided just leave it in money market and not do anything...yet ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...