Reo 4th Gear February 2, 2016 Share February 2, 2016 Oh no, that reminds me I had the front door speaker cracking (sound) but just one and towards again 8-9 years. Indeed, this shouldn't be coming from a GS but again I'm aware this is a common problem too. If you've not replaced these parts, go do it now than later: front bushings, both sway bar and control arm (hope I got them right). If you're looking at doing it other than Borneo, let me know if you need tips where to buy and fixed. The replacement is inexpensive but it makes your GS feels like new again (well, almost). The front shocks as well. These are wear and tear and should be replaced 5-6 years into. Unfortunately, these guidelines are not incorporated into the service manual. Perhaps you should look at the peeling and speakers as wear and tear too, if that makes you feel better ;-) I researched this problem on international Lexus forum, ours are not isolated cases. As you mentioned, painting may not be as smooth, that is reason why Lexus chose to use stickers? I just recently changed out the factory ML paper speakers on all 4 doors, the sound was cracking. Upon inspection of the speakers, the paper cones are cracked in multiple areas and the magnets at the rear of the speakers are all rusted... appalling for a premium make. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic February 2, 2016 Share February 2, 2016 I would say if after those years the speakers have perished, then one is more fortunate than those who have had engines rebuilt, gearboxes replaced etc. I had that problem once on a German car. It turned out that the door waterproofing was tampered with because previous owner for some reason had to get behind the door casings... My previous IS was afflicted by the sticky dashboard issue. BM's solution was to cover the parts costs, I would cover the labour costs, and it would take a month for the parts to arrive. The parts included the whole dashboard, and all the door casings, which was interesting because it was factory trimmed with leather. For that I had to cover $400. I thought that was a reasonable offer for a 7 year old car that had been out of warrentee for a few years. Others had the parts covered with leather, but I would think the costs came out to be the same as having a new interior, minus seats, put in. My current IS is at 45k and no issues. My previous IS did 168k. No issues till near the end where the alternator got a bit noisy and was a $400 fix. Even consumables were minimal, disc pads only 3 sets, disc rotors only 2 sets, and the most frequently changed part was wiper blades. Hope my present car will be as durable. Currently signs are good. One owner of a brand new (non Lexus) had his battery go flat. He couldn't get the bonnet to open to jump start the car so it was towed to the agent. The subsequent bill included a new bonnet latch at almost $500. It was considered a wear and tear item, (it was a new car) and so non negotiable. Owner explained that during his ownership he had not even the opportunity to open the bonnet once....so he was quite perplexed by the explanation. I agree that speakers and cosmetic issues do seem paltry in comparison with engine and transmission problems. only major issue I had with my ride is my hybrid power control chips failing resulting in the hybrid battery not charging properly. Luckily it was within the 5yr extended warranty that comes with the car. Everything (chip and a brand new hybrid battery) replaced without cost with downtime of 2 days at BM. I counted myself lucky then. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic February 2, 2016 Share February 2, 2016 Oh no, that reminds me I had the front door speaker cracking (sound) but just one and towards again 8-9 years. Indeed, this shouldn't be coming from a GS but again I'm aware this is a common problem too. If you've not replaced these parts, go do it now than later: front bushings, both sway bar and control arm (hope I got them right). If you're looking at doing it other than Borneo, let me know if you need tips where to buy and fixed. The replacement is inexpensive but it makes your GS feels like new again (well, almost). The front shocks as well. These are wear and tear and should be replaced 5-6 years into. Unfortunately, these guidelines are not incorporated into the service manual. Perhaps you should look at the peeling and speakers as wear and tear too, if that makes you feel better ;-) I had my rear shocks replaced at the 5 yr mark, I blame the heavy rear weight distribution due to the hybrid battery, mileage and the poor road conditions I subject the car to daily. This is really wear and tear I have no argument about. So far have been monitoring my front shocks as well as the steering components, so far so good. I make sure I ask my workshop to check for any signs of leaking from the front shocks each time I service. BTW what happen to your sway bar and control arm? Or you meant the bushings for the sway bar and control arm? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reo 4th Gear February 2, 2016 Share February 2, 2016 Was talking about the bushings. Amazing how rubber can make such a big difference, pun intended. I had my rear shocks replaced at the 5 yr mark, I blame the heavy rear weight distribution due to the hybrid battery, mileage and the poor road conditions I subject the car to daily. This is really wear and tear I have no argument about. So far have been monitoring my front shocks as well as the steering components, so far so good. I make sure I ask my workshop to check for any signs of leaking from the front shocks each time I service. BTW what happen to your sway bar and control arm? Or you meant the bushings for the sway bar and control arm? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tycleslie 1st Gear February 7, 2016 Share February 7, 2016 Hi I just n booked the nx200t. My SA wanted to give 3yrs free servicing or $2.5k off, but I wasn't sure what the servicing dept is like. Can I use my own oil and not be charged for the oil? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Char 5th Gear February 7, 2016 Share February 7, 2016 Hi I just n booked the nx200t. My SA wanted to give 3yrs free servicing or $2.5k off, but I wasn't sure what the servicing dept is like. Can I use my own oil and not be charged for the oil?Congrats ! Btw , can PM me the offer price ? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged February 8, 2016 Share February 8, 2016 Hi I just n booked the nx200t. My SA wanted to give 3yrs free servicing or $2.5k off, but I wasn't sure what the servicing dept is like. Can I use my own oil and not be charged for the oil?The servicing prices for borneo and specific for nx is online. Around 1200 per year. Normally you get the 1st year free anyway. So you either get 2500 off or 2400 worth of servicing. Do note that prices will go up with inflation over years. I would prefer the free servicing. Nx turbo uses a special 0w-20 weight engine oil. Not easy to find and wun be cheap also. And dun think lexus allow own oil. And seriously you buy luxury car dun try to punch pennies lah. ... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tycleslie 1st Gear February 8, 2016 Share February 8, 2016 Thanks for the info. My experience is that ADs seldom provide good engine oil so I prefer to choose better aftermarket ones. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic February 9, 2016 Share February 9, 2016 Thanks for the info. My experience is that ADs seldom provide good engine oil so I prefer to choose better aftermarket ones. My 2cents. Frankly, for engine oils, just use the recommended specs is enough. Any difference you might feel across different brands but same specs is supertentorial i.e. All in the mind. For oils, I look at only 2 factors: Mineral/semi or fully synthetic Weightage XW20, XW40 The cold start figure I wouldn't even bother in the tropics. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tycleslie 1st Gear February 9, 2016 Share February 9, 2016 Thanks but I beg to differ, I enjoy trying different oils and there's a difference in acceleration, FC, smoothness etc. Does anyone know what brand of oil Borneo Motors uses for the Lexus in Singapore? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged February 9, 2016 Share February 9, 2016 Thanks but I beg to differ, I enjoy trying different oils and there's a difference in acceleration, FC, smoothness etc. Does anyone know what brand of oil Borneo Motors uses for the Lexus in Singapore? Bro, if this sort of detail keeps you awake at night, then you should clarify it before you sign, so that this can be inside your decision making criteria. Seriously initially I even keep checking the oil level every few days to see if have oil consumption, but after a few thousand KM into the car, I can't be bothered. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tycleslie 1st Gear February 9, 2016 Share February 9, 2016 (edited) Pls don't read so much into my posts, my questions are very basic but it seems to look like I'm trying to save money, over scrutinize the oil. Edited February 9, 2016 by Tycleslie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sofarsogood Clutched March 2, 2016 Share March 2, 2016 Anyone has comments on the IS200T? I took one out for the test drive and the throttle response was pretty good. Interior/styling expectedly good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wonsim67 Neutral Newbie March 2, 2016 Share March 2, 2016 Understand NX 200t and RX200T using same engine, and that turbo engine is more nosiy than the refined Lexus engine. Anyone driving NX200T or RX200T can comment? Thanks Btw, I am considering RX200T Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Char 5th Gear March 2, 2016 Share March 2, 2016 ES250 same engine with Camry right ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged March 2, 2016 Share March 2, 2016 Anyone has comments on the IS200T? I took one out for the test drive and the throttle response was pretty good. Interior/styling expectedly good. IS200t looks nice.... how much is the sell price quoted? I have NX with same engine, but only 6 speed. Very linear response, high torque at low rev. Usually I seldom get to rev above 2000, unless heavy acceleration. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwannie 1st Gear March 3, 2016 Share March 3, 2016 Anyone has comments on the IS200T? I took one out for the test drive and the throttle response was pretty good. Interior/styling expectedly good. Hi everyone, I'm new here. I own an IS200t and shall chip in, in this forum's spirit of sharing. I have driven the NX200t. With all respect to the NX200t's strong points (e.g. cabin space), I found the IS200t a far more refined ride, being less bumpy and quieter. Its 8-speed gearbox shifts better than the NX200t's 6-speeder, and it is slightly more powerful (due to a freer-flowing exhaust according to what I have read). Its satisfying power delivery has been well covered in local press reviews. It can easily outrun any C180, C200 or any entry level BMW. You will easily cut through local traffic in this. It takes high speed corners flat, despite the comfort oriented Turanza T001s that come standard. However, it under steers at the limit. There is also a noticeable lag when moving off from low gear while stationary or at low speed. Cutting out of stationary traffic into a fast lane requires some caution. What has not been covered by the reviews: I believe the brakes are upgraded to IS350 grade with 13.1 inch front rotors with 4 pot calipers. It now comes with a Lexus flat card key, which I was told was not available for the IS250, and a Yamaha performance damper to dampen vibrations from the 4 cylinder engine. I notice many users here are concerned about lack of silence. I believe one needs to benchmark the IS200t against its competitors and it is just as silent as, if not more silent than them. The IS250's V6 (which I have driven) is smoother, but the power and torque delivery make this a far superior engine, in my view. Is this car for you? It depends on your needs. The rear seat can only seat 2 comfortably. It does not have the C-Class's and Q50's level of tech. We'll have to wait for the release of the Luxury spec to compare. The need to switch off the engine start-stop function every time is a constant source of irritation. So is the fact that the side mirrors do not tilt downwards when the car is put in Reverse. There isn't enough interior storage space. I am aware this is my first post. I do not work for BM, Toyota or Lexus. 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sofarsogood Clutched March 4, 2016 Share March 4, 2016 Seems like you have driven it hard already. Is yours the executive version? How much did you get it at? I don't like the start-stop function, although manufacturer said that it can withstand thousands and thousands times of this. There should be a way to permanently disable this? Hi everyone, I'm new here. I own an IS200t and shall chip in, in this forum's spirit of sharing.I have driven the NX200t. With all respect to the NX200t's strong points (e.g. cabin space), I found the IS200t a far more refined ride, being less bumpy and quieter. Its 8-speed gearbox shifts better than the NX200t's 6-speeder, and it is slightly more powerful (due to a freer-flowing exhaust according to what I have read).Its satisfying power delivery has been well covered in local press reviews. It can easily outrun any C180, C200 or any entry level BMW. You will easily cut through local traffic in this. It takes high speed corners flat, despite the comfort oriented Turanza T001s that come standard. However, it under steers at the limit.There is also a noticeable lag when moving off from low gear while stationary or at low speed. Cutting out of stationary traffic into a fast lane requires some caution.What has not been covered by the reviews: I believe the brakes are upgraded to IS350 grade with 13.1 inch front rotors with 4 pot calipers. It now comes with a Lexus flat card key, which I was told was not available for the IS250, and a Yamaha performance damper to dampen vibrations from the 4 cylinder engine.I notice many users here are concerned about lack of silence. I believe one needs to benchmark the IS200t against its competitors and it is just as silent as, if not more silent than them. The IS250's V6 (which I have driven) is smoother, but the power and torque delivery make this a far superior engine, in my view.Is this car for you? It depends on your needs. The rear seat can only seat 2 comfortably. It does not have the C-Class's and Q50's level of tech. We'll have to wait for the release of the Luxury spec to compare.The need to switch off the engine start-stop function every time is a constant source of irritation. So is the fact that the side mirrors do not tilt downwards when the car is put in Reverse. There isn't enough interior storage space.I am aware this is my first post. I do not work for BM, Toyota or Lexus. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...