How often do I need to change tyres and battery?

Majordan

Message added by kobayashiGT

674381796_WhatsAppImage2020-10-21at8_56_52AM.thumb.jpeg.a7cff1349ce64806094384dc3ab1e1d3.jpeg

These are all the problem you could be facing when you didn't properly maintain your tyres!

On 12/15/2020 at 5:43 AM, Eyke said:

now also have lithium battery, but much more expensive and potential fire hazard 😅

Expand  

Well, you can hook up DIY lithium battery if you want.

Get some powerful cells like 21700, put them in 3 series. Stick on it a balancing charging pcb. The problem would likely be the alternator, the charging voltage cannot exceed 12.6V (4.2V x 3)

On 9/26/2021 at 7:00 AM, AndrewLee72 said:

Alamak, juz spotted my front right side tyre got this small chip. P zero 17". Bought Sep 2019. Ran about 25k only. Shld i change them ?

20210926_143341.jpg

is time to consider replace it (not urgent ), this sign shown the tire could be surface hardened , too aggressive driving or cornering on brick surface ( particularly the HDB open carpark ) the edges are very sharp . just my Personal view. any inputs are welcome

Expand  

Alamak, juz spotted my front right side tyre got this small chip. P zero 17". Bought Sep 2019. Ran about 25k only. Shld i change them ?

20210926_143341.jpg

Expand  

This you gotto ask yourself. It is your money.

IMO such tires sacrifice wear rate for performance. Not ideal for daily drive. Just saying.

20210926_143341.jpg

Expand  

Depends on individual, for me I will change. 

I used to use CSC6 but the wear rate very fast always change around 20k to 25k. Now using PS4 max mileage will use until 30km then change if not earlier depend on the visual wear rate

remember the old saying “tyre are your only contact with the road” 

watch last weekend Russia F1 you know the power and different in tyre will make when the road are wet!

Edited by D3badge

20210926_143341.jpg

Expand  

tough call, its quite a slice taken off, fortunately its at a part of the tyre which is fairly thick.

if no noise and no vibration, I'll continue using and monitor for any possible further deterioration, and in the meantime start looking out for replacement. 

Sometimes i think sg motorists overspend on tyres. If you look at tyre manufacturer websites,eg michelin, their advice is even less strict than mcf.... eg dont use beyond 10 years vs 5 years must change. Go angmo forums also the consensus is if the thread depth touch the 1.6mm indicator then change, can use up to 30,000 miles etc, and they drive through 4 seasons. No wonder we got so many tyre shops around. Good business.

Always check the manufactured date on the tyre even when it's brand new...

I once got a 2yo "brand new"...worn out very very fast despite good treadwear rating...

It's ok to go for used ones provided the condition can last till scrap if coe is to expire shortly but remember not to haolian and chiong like no tomorrow then may have to scrap earlier than expected...😅

On 10/5/2021 at 11:55 PM, Karoon said:

Sometimes i think sg motorists overspend on tyres. If you look at tyre manufacturer websites,eg michelin, their advice is even less strict than mcf.... eg dont use beyond 10 years vs 5 years must change. Go angmo forums also the consensus is if the thread depth touch the 1.6mm indicator then change, can use up to 30,000 miles etc, and they drive through 4 seasons. No wonder we got so many tyre shops around. Good business.

Expand  

Before I changed tyres, my car feels sliding in wet MSCP.

The tyre was used for 20+k km. 

Mind you, it was Michelin PS4.

On 10/6/2021 at 1:22 AM, inlinesix said:

Before I changed tyres, my car feels sliding in wet MSCP.

The tyre was used for 20+k km. 

Mind you, it was Michelin PS4.

Expand  

That's the obvious sign to change liao

Grippy tyres usually cause high pitch screeching sound in MSCP especially while moving out of the lot...my neighbours sure hate me when I need to move out of it in early morning 😁

I too just changed my tires recently. The previous stock tires Bridgestone Alenza are losing grip in the wet. It is touching the tire wear indicators as well. So changed to Michelin PS4 SUV https://www.sgcarmart.com/products/overview.php?ID=13410, tires design for suv cars.

Initially I wanted Primacy 4 but my tire supplier told me to to get the PS4 suv instead, price difference is $20/ea more for PS4. So far I kept going back for Michelin cos their wear rate last longer than other brands in the market. I have tried other brands wear rate just not as good. They are no cheap but what you pay is what you get.

I follow your good advice for my MIL car.

On 10/5/2021 at 11:55 PM, Karoon said:

Expand