Beehive3783 Turbocharged November 29, 2011 Share November 29, 2011 Would you buy a Akira phone with Android OS? With non-existent technical and service support, my answer is no.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 29, 2011 Share November 29, 2011 Would you buy a Akira phone with Android OS? if its spec similar to sgs2 and less than 100 w/o contract.yes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crashburner 3rd Gear November 29, 2011 Share November 29, 2011 Hi all, My mobile contract expired liao so serch for smartphone. After a short survey Galaxy S2 & Iphone 4s come in mind. Not a tech savvy person, main usage: 1) phone call & sms 2) internet 3) take pic/video Feedback on both phone are welcome or you have other to recommendation. TIA Iphone....i got both an iphone and Samsung galaxy s2....i take.iphone anytime Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear November 29, 2011 Share November 29, 2011 bro u using s2 as well? DO u find the shutter speed damn slow? Hard to take pics of my kids using s2 .... yes..s2 shutter dam slow...i didn't know until i took pics with N9 and IP4. the difference was huge. personally, i still feel base on TS requirement, something like IP4 and N9 is ideal for him. i love the interfaces for music, video and phone for both IP4/S and N9. but perhaps just to get something a little out of the box, the N9 is the deal. and if u don't really max out smartphone capabilities, N9 is more than good enough. in fact it even has a file management system, like Android. but if u need a lot of apps to get by, N9 does not cut it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear November 29, 2011 Share November 29, 2011 Please lah... I bet you haven't molest N9. The touch screen is as responsive (if not better) as iPhone4. If you are referring to N8 or my C5-03, yes. The touch screen is terrible! And... N9 screen has higher pixel count than SGSII, at least on paper. Then someone said, MeeGoreng can also download Android apps. I have yet to find out. Will update next time. Hang/restart... too early to give review... as I don't even have a microsim in my N9. BTW, I done OS upgrade this morning, OTA without SIM card. So Nokia will still release update to dono when. agree, this meego is actually quite awesome...nokia will support it for the next few years so it will continue to be improved, but u won't see a lot of apps unless the Android apps can fit. in fact, i find meego has the potential to outdo IOS. but i don't see how the nokia board will back meego ahead of Mango, which is also very good and more marketability Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear November 29, 2011 Share November 29, 2011 Iphone....i got both an iphone and Samsung galaxy s2....i take.iphone anytime for myself, i find it quite shiok to transfer files to and fro btwn pc and s2, bluetooth etc. there's just a lot of freedom with Android which i enjoy, though i admit the UI does not look great. tats y with reference to TS, i think IP4/S is still better for him. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged November 29, 2011 Share November 29, 2011 what's this obsession with apps ?? i bought my N8 purely on the merits of my wants/needs - a very good cam and built-in gps navigator. as long as the maps get updated and usable, i am happy with it. i bot the Note just becoz of its size ... not for much of its functions also. (i have got big palms) true, i did d/l a couple of apps ... but that just to use abit of the 12gb or data ...which i wud not have otherwise used. (i thk i only clock abt 10mb a month) Are Windows Phone still available in SG market ? I don't mind getting this phone because the Specs are as good as others, due to its popularity, I think the High end phones can get $0. More than enuf Apps to use also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear November 29, 2011 Share November 29, 2011 the coming nokia lumia on windows look promising. u can check that out when it arrives in dec. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 29, 2011 Share November 29, 2011 Are Windows Phone still available in SG market ? I don't mind getting this phone because the Specs are as good as others, due to its popularity, I think the High end phones can get $0. More than enuf Apps to use also. yeah still in market. just remember to get a brand with better support. currently they are HTC and Samsung. LG update very slow as evident in Andriod support Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged November 29, 2011 Share November 29, 2011 BTW, I done OS upgrade this morning, OTA without SIM card. So Nokia will still release update to dono when. yup, i upgraded to Symbian Anna abt 3 weeks ago .... now waiting for the Belle release. i thot Nokia disbanded the Symbian team ... but i was kinda surprised to still see updates. anyway, reception test at the new changi business park shopping centre behind the Expo MRT .... both nokia and samsung no reception/poor - only Iphone got reception. anyway, i am still not going to join the ihone gang .... just personal preference. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched November 29, 2011 Share November 29, 2011 That's why Galaxy Nexus was advertised having zero lag when taking photos. After using my HTC desire HD for almost 1 year, I really maxed out the phone until the battery can only last 4-5 hours and I had to continuously charge it whenever I'm in office. yes..s2 shutter dam slow...i didn't know until i took pics with N9 and IP4. the difference was huge. personally, i still feel base on TS requirement, something like IP4 and N9 is ideal for him. i love the interfaces for music, video and phone for both IP4/S and N9. but perhaps just to get something a little out of the box, the N9 is the deal. and if u don't really max out smartphone capabilities, N9 is more than good enough. in fact it even has a file management system, like Android. but if u need a lot of apps to get by, N9 does not cut it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear November 29, 2011 Share November 29, 2011 That's why Galaxy Nexus was advertised having zero lag when taking photos. After using my HTC desire HD for almost 1 year, I really maxed out the phone until the battery can only last 4-5 hours and I had to continuously charge it whenever I'm in office. wat about the Note's shutter speed? any idea? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched November 29, 2011 Share November 29, 2011 I would expect the same as Galaxy S2 as the camera hardware is the same. Reviews on the Internet seems to confirm it. wat about the Note's shutter speed? any idea? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mecontle 1st Gear November 29, 2011 Share November 29, 2011 i crack my ip4 yet no official apple repair to turn to , except BS telco penalty terms might as well get a new ip , is ip on same svc std as 7-11 $50 hp? yes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear November 29, 2011 Share November 29, 2011 i crack my ip4 yet no official apple repair to turn to , except BS telco penalty terms might as well get a new ip , is ip on same svc std as 7-11 $50 hp? yes hmm..are u with singtel? they replaced with a new one when i had a faulty home button. crack screen not sure. but Apple's warranty is strong. just make sure u have yr warranty registered on their system and its international. try Sapura at Funan if the telco can't do it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 29, 2011 Share November 29, 2011 yup, i upgraded to Symbian Anna abt 3 weeks ago .... now waiting for the Belle release. i thot Nokia disbanded the Symbian team ... but i was kinda surprised to still see updates. anyway, reception test at the new changi business park shopping centre behind the Expo MRT .... both nokia and samsung no reception/poor - only Iphone got reception. anyway, i am still not going to join the ihone gang .... just personal preference. they didnt disband it. they only tell them to turn their focus away from symbian slowly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear November 29, 2011 Share November 29, 2011 they didnt disband it. they only tell them to turn their focus away from symbian slowly. correction. They DID disband Symbian Foundation which they acquired many years ago. However, they are still keeping the Symbian as a viable platform for S40 usage. So what Nokia is doing and telling the market is, they are going to scale down the R&D efforts in Symbian. No doubt it will soldier on but likely to play second fiddle to its newly adopted WP7 platform. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear November 29, 2011 Share November 29, 2011 (edited) Not comparing DSLR to handphone. You've missed my point totally. ok you didn't really state your salient point apparently. anyway megapixel count is a marketing gimmick designed to fool consumers and make them become totally aware of the more important parameter, size of pixel. I rather have a sensor in which each pixel has a larger real estate than another sensor of the same size crammed with more pixels. I don't need that many pixels. Edited November 29, 2011 by Happily1986 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...