Ahtong 1st Gear November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 Why was bar allowed to have an inappropriate name? I WAS more bewildered than offended to read the report that a bar was registered as Aushwitz with the Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority (Acra). Surely, this is a most inappropriate business name to be registered under, considering that it recalls the notorious World War II concentration camp. The Registrar of Businesses is empowered legally to refuse a person the right to carry on under a business name which, in the opinion of the registrar, is undesirable. What criteria did Acra use to allow such a name to be registered? Houston Johannus Foodcourt chain's name, S21, is undesirable AS REPORTED last Saturday ('Bar's name leaves bad taste for some'), the owner of a bar named Aushwitz removed its signboard after some members of the public were offended. The name of the signboard is similar to the name of a World War II German concentration camp. I have noticed there is a popular foodcourt chain in Singapore named S21. S-21 is a former high school in Cambodia which was used as the notorious Security Prison 21 (S-21) by the Khmer Rouge communist regime from its rise to power in 1975 to its fall in 1979. It was an urban killing field of the Khmer Rouge. If anything, S-21 holds a greater notoriety for Singaporeans by geography and regional association as Cambodia is an Asean member. I wonder if the owners are aware of the implications of the name of their foodcourt chain. I am also puzzled why the name S21 was allowed by the Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority (Acra) in the first place. Acra said it would not endorse any name of business that is 'undesirable'. I think S21 is very undesirable. Siew Heng Keong ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 All a matter of perspective....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 Why was bar allowed to have an inappropriate name?I WAS more bewildered than offended to read the report that a bar was registered as Aushwitz with the Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority (Acra). Surely, this is a most inappropriate business name to be registered under, considering that it recalls the notorious World War II concentration camp. The Registrar of Businesses is empowered legally to refuse a person the right to carry on under a business name which, in the opinion of the registrar, is undesirable. What criteria did Acra use to allow such a name to be registered? Houston Johannus Houston (as in "Houston we have a problem") brings to mind all the tragic deaths of astronauts in the American Space Program. Johannus sounds like Anus. Frankly, I'm more bewildered than offended that anyone would register their son's name as such. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 S21 is less obvious i believe, if ask the coffee shop owner why S21, he probably tell you it his auspicious number but could never relate the whatever camp! from branding perspective S21 is too generic to be registered. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 i dun even know S21 is whatever torture camp...if like that, anything can be taboo to be used as name. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear November 23, 2011 Author Share November 23, 2011 I wonder if there really is a Hilton hotel in Hanoi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 cb lah.....i wan to open cafe 69 cos i born tt year......it is the ksutra position.....wtf Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 cb lah.....i wan to open cafe 69 cos i born tt year......it is the ksutra position.....wtf no one say cannot but mostly likely you are too late Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 no one say cannot but mostly likely you are too late so cafe lau nang oso cannot ah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 Why aren't these idiots protesting the FCUK store and the apparel thencefrom? But to be honest, "Auschwitz" is a little beyond the pale. I wouldn't have made the "S21" connection without prompting - does that mean our "SAR21" rifle is also in bad taste? In the local context, I would never name any place of business (or anything, really) "Unit 731". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 Foodcourt chain's name, S21, is undesirable AS REPORTED last Saturday ('Bar's name leaves bad taste for some'), the owner of a bar named Aushwitz removed its signboard after some members of the public were offended. The name of the signboard is similar to the name of a World War II German concentration camp. I have noticed there is a popular foodcourt chain in Singapore named S21. S-21 is a former high school in Cambodia which was used as the notorious Security Prison 21 (S-21) by the Khmer Rouge communist regime from its rise to power in 1975 to its fall in 1979. It was an urban killing field of the Khmer Rouge. If anything, S-21 holds a greater notoriety for Singaporeans by geography and regional association as Cambodia is an Asean member. I wonder if the owners are aware of the implications of the name of their foodcourt chain. I am also puzzled why the name S21 was allowed by the Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority (Acra) in the first place. Acra said it would not endorse any name of business that is 'undesirable'. I think S21 is very undesirable. Siew Heng Keong some people just like to dig bone in egg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 (edited) Why aren't these idiots protesting the FCUK store and the apparel thencefrom? But to be honest, "Auschwitz" is a little beyond the pale. I wouldn't have made the "S21" connection without prompting - does that mean our "SAR21" rifle is also in bad taste? In the local context, I would never name any place of business (or anything, really) "Unit 731". can i call it cafe Charlie?(Tekong's Charlie, apparently haunted) or tell you wat, Cafe Block 9 Edited November 23, 2011 by RadX Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 So Cafe Istana oso cannot Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear November 23, 2011 Author Share November 23, 2011 Why aren't these idiots protesting the FCUK store and the apparel thencefrom? But to be honest, "Auschwitz" is a little beyond the pale. I wouldn't have made the "S21" connection without prompting - does that mean our "SAR21" rifle is also in bad taste? In the local context, I would never name any place of business (or anything, really) "Unit 731". Last time there was a toy shop at the now demolished Specialist SC selling those 1/6 scale action figures. Window display was a Jap soldier preparing to behead an blindfolded Allied POW. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 i really envy these people who are too free after eating ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 so cafe lau nang oso cannot ah I'd like to register a cafe by the name of KNN Cafe, if that cannot go thru, whatabout Cafe CCB? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 Last time there was a toy shop at the now demolished Specialist SC selling those 1/6 scale action figures. Window display was a Jap soldier preparing to behead an blindfolded Allied POW. Orchard Store. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 What rubbish,so the famous scissors cut economical rice must sell sex toy because it is somewhat related to sex position? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...