Urgently Need help! please

Quantum

Hi Guys,

I suddenly encountered serviously clutch problem this morning, I started my 6.5 years old Hyundai Accent 1.5M, stepped clutch tried to engage 1st gear, unfortunately even if I had pressed clutch to floor, still couldn't shift in any gear, except gear crashing sound from gear box, [bigcry] now I even couldn't move car to garage [:(]

Kindly advice what it is the problem, any recommend shop is good for repairing this problem?

thanks a lot

Hi Guys,

I suddenly encountered serviously clutch problem this morning, I started my 6.5 years old Hyundai Accent 1.5M, stepped clutch tried to engage 1st gear, unfortunately even if I had pressed clutch to floor, still couldn't shift in any gear, except gear crashing sound from gear box, [bigcry] now I even couldn't move car to garage [:(]

Kindly advice what it is the problem, any recommend shop is good for repairing this problem?

thanks a lot

Probably your clutch master or slave cylinder is faulty. Hence it is unable to "open"the clutch for you to engage the gears. Have to tow to workshop.

Hi Guys,

thanks a lot

Reverse gear is okie?

Crashing sound from gearbox can only mean bad news.

Time to get a new gearbox or overhaul the parts, whichever is cheaper and faster.

Hi Guys,

thanks a lot

I suspect it could just be the disengage spring thats causing the problem, if you hear or feel that the gear is biting but not secure (the gr gr feeling when you floor clutch during engage). Might need to hoist out engine to fix that, probably a tow to WS is mandatory.

In SG, they would rec to change the clutch system and some would kiasu ask to change gear box, but for manual its rare to change gear box unless accident. In Malaysia and indonesia, they usually overhaul the clutch system. Cheaper and more reliable. New things might means its good at times especially when its hidden inside.

Edited by Maka

Hi Quantum

Try calling Sebs Auto Enterprise.

This workshop used to be an authorised agent for Hyundai cars.

I used to drive an Elantra 1.6 GLS Maual.

Try calling this number: 67471538 for Sebastian or Susan.

Get their advice and ask for quote/$$ on repairs.

Safe Driving!

Probably your clutch master or slave cylinder is faulty. Hence it is unable to "open"the clutch for you to engage the gears. Have to tow to workshop.

any cheap tow and repair shop to recommend, I never used tow in my 10 years driving expericence?

Hi Quantum

Try calling Sebs Auto Enterprise.

This workshop used to be an authorised agent for Hyundai cars.

I used to drive an Elantra 1.6 GLS Maual.

Try calling this number: 67471538 for Sebastian or Susan.

Get their advice and ask for quote/$$ on repairs.

Safe Driving!

thanks and regards [:)]

any cheap tow and repair shop to recommend, I never used tow in my 10 years driving expericence?

I think cheap tow isnt what you need, you need a reliable tow, unless you want to end up repairing more than you expected.

Cheapest tow = rope plus a friend with a car.

This is how we always used to do it.

As to problem? Who knows, it could be any one of a range of problems - I have heard of clutch cables snapping, have seen a car with a crack in the firewall meaning that the hyraulic clutch couldn't engage, could just need a clutch cable adjustment...

Many different things

thanks and regards [:)]

Used Sebs Auto when I just bought my Rio a month or so back. Quite honest IMHO. No need to change one they don't ask you to change. If you need Uncle Seb's mobile, can let me know. I have

I kena once like that before... after I exit from Expressway and before turning was a red light. I put neutral, then I cannot engage any gear liao... I heng heng half clutch and can go in 1st gear... so I drag the car to my workshop then the guy say Clutch Pad Gone...

Another trick is to off your engine and engage the gear first and clutch in and start the engine so at least you are in some gear.

Happened to me recently also. Just drive to the workshop asap. Should still be able to drive. I thought need to tow then called my workshop. They told me just keep pumping the clutch pedal then drive off. Every time you got the chance just pump the clutch pedal again to maintain the pressure.

If you keep pumping the clutch pedal but the pressure never increase then its some other problem already.

Edited by Nzy

Any updates what happended with the accent at the workshop?

Sounds like the clutch master pump. Maybe change the brake fluid at the clutch fluid reservoir to see if it helps. I change mine (Accent 1.3M) every 6-12 months or when it feels difficult to engage the clutch. The Accent just crossed 200,000 km on the original clutch (fingers crossed).

Hi Guys,

thanks a lot

Better to get a tow from ur workshop as it has 'become loose' in engaging ur gears .... as far as to my knowledge .... So need to chnage gearbox (the worst scenario)