Tonyhawk 1st Gear November 24, 2011 Share November 24, 2011 what's baffling is 2700 served NS without taking up citizenship..they did it to learn combat/survival skills? i have plenty of friends who did just that. they want to stay in singapore, having been brought up here. but they see no need to give up their american/european passports. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyhawk 1st Gear November 24, 2011 Share November 24, 2011 A little OT here: (Forget about those FT/PR immigrant mess and sh*t this Garment had gotten us into in the last 10 years.) Let's say you have son. True blue born and breed Singaporean son. And given the choice, will you let him serve NS duty when his time comes? i have 2 boys. the choice is theirs to make. if it were MY choice, my answer is no. i wouldnt serve if i had an option. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie November 24, 2011 Share November 24, 2011 You conveniently neglect to consider the females . Without taking that into consideration, your statement on "PR kids" is quite baseless just how dumb are you? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie November 24, 2011 Share November 24, 2011 TS the topic should be Less than 1 out of 2 male PR is willing to become a citizen. The total male PR population is: 13000 eligible for NS But of which that became citizen is: 6100 meaning..............................Less than 1 out of 2 male PR is willing to become a citizen! your logic is flawed. your assuming all that wish to become citizen and apply get granted citizenship Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie November 24, 2011 Share November 24, 2011 A little OT here: (Forget about those FT/PR immigrant mess and sh*t this Garment had gotten us into in the last 10 years.) Let's say you have son. True blue born and breed Singaporean son. And given the choice, will you let him serve NS duty when his time comes? hell yeh - its his duty Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie November 24, 2011 Share November 24, 2011 I agree..jobs for FT, NS for sinkies. The ah neis with their unknown india MBA at age 20 will rock your boat. What? U just finished NS at 20/21? what? U havnt take your degree? By the time out of uni, ah pek liao la. Just last wk i met a headhunter who is a pinoy. She said "all the filipinnos are coming to take your jobs". nuff said. Convo ended. BS you cant get an MBA at aged 20. The average age of FT is too old to serve NS, so its not jobs for FT while we do NS. these fts are (on average) already ahead with their careers and not competing with NS/grads Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear November 24, 2011 Share November 24, 2011 your logic is flawed. your assuming all that wish to become citizen and apply get granted citizenship miw's policies make sgp a 7-Eleven or a stepping stone............ they come, grab what they want, and leave............ wont really blame these FTs/FWs... policies which favour FTs excessively at the expense of the locals (and which ignore the locals' sentiments) are bad policies despite seemingly help boost the economy and create more jobs for the FTs..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie November 24, 2011 Share November 24, 2011 miw's policies make sgp a 7-Eleven or a stepping stone............ they come, grab what they want, and leave............ wont really blame these FTs/FWs... Your missing the fact that we dont want them all to stay. A reasonable turnover is better for a country in same was as a reasonable turnover is better for a company. Our island cant support it if they all stay. some do, some dont, and we get "fresh" ones to take their place. at the end of the day we STILL benefit from them while they are here. They gained, we gained - whats the issue? you think we could continue to attract talent if we forced them to stay for x years?? Nobody would come. policies which favour FTs excessively at the expense of the locals (and which ignore the locals' sentiments) are bad policies despite seemingly help boost the economy and create more jobs for the FTs..... seemingly? nothing seeming about it. Im curious what policies are you referring to? as most PRs do NS, whats the issue? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear November 24, 2011 Share November 24, 2011 I believed a lot find it noble and as a right of passage as a young Singaporean male, but alas, this perception is immediately shattered to pieces as they go through the daily grind during NS. At the end of it, some enjoyed due to the camaraderie, while others loath NS as they felt it is their time which is being wasted in NS. You can't put the blame on the sons of common folks when even the president's son find NS a chore to start with. but our dear PRESIDENT TT said everything is above board and stopped talking about it.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear November 24, 2011 Share November 24, 2011 just how dumb are you? Just that little bit smarter than you. that's all Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zech Neutral Newbie November 24, 2011 Share November 24, 2011 How many sporeans are pes c and pes e? go figure Too bad my battelion is comprised all Singaporeans with PES A & B.... only 20 Pes C out of thousands and they also want to upgrade to PES B. So how you want me to compare. My battlelion very on one leh. Best Reservist unit 3 times throughout our reservist years. All the men and officers are very motivated as we address ourselves brothers. Unless you are telling me yours are otherwise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged November 24, 2011 Share November 24, 2011 miw's policies make sgp a 7-Eleven or a stepping stone............ they come, grab what they want, and leave............ wont really blame these FTs/FWs... policies which favour FTs excessively at the expense of the locals (and which ignore the locals' sentiments) are bad policies despite seemingly help boost the economy and create more jobs for the FTs..... I'd be curious which policies do you think favour PRs over Singaporeans? 1. Education? Cannot be 2. healthcare? Also cannot be 3. Property? Nope 4. Govt assitance? Nope Then what? The only one I can imagine is that first gen PR don't (normally) have to serve PR - but 2nd gen certainly do, just like any other Singapore son. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie November 24, 2011 Share November 24, 2011 Just that little bit smarter than you. that's all clearly, as is evident by such a witty comeback Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear November 24, 2011 Share November 24, 2011 Your missing the fact that we dont want them all to stay. A reasonable turnover is better for a country in same was as a reasonable turnover is better for a company. Our island cant support it if they all stay. some do, some dont, and we get "fresh" ones to take their place. at the end of the day we STILL benefit from them while they are here. They gained, we gained - whats the issue? you think we could continue to attract talent if we forced them to stay for x years?? Nobody would come. policies which favour FTs excessively at the expense of the locals (and which ignore the locals' sentiments) are bad policies despite seemingly help boost the economy and create more jobs for the FTs..... seemingly? nothing seeming about it. Im curious what policies are you referring to? as most PRs do NS, whats the issue? every able male citizen does NS... while much fewer PRs (percentage wise) do it. this may not be an issue with you though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie November 24, 2011 Share November 24, 2011 every able male citizen does NS... while much fewer PRs (percentage wise) do it. this may not be an issue with you though. i would like to see all PRs who are of elligable age do NS. Plenty of my (citizen) friends when to great efforts to avoid doing NS. My bro in law was on medical for 3/4 of his NS... lets not BS, we all know given the chance citizens wouldnt do NS... I think 60% is a fairly healthy number of PRs doing it (im actually quite surprised its that high) those that dont do it have to become "dependants" and lose PR status anyway so its their loss. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged November 24, 2011 Share November 24, 2011 Just last wk i met a headhunter who is a pinoy. She said "all the filipinnos are coming to take your jobs". nuff said. Convo ended. wah, u can tahan that ah? if me, i'd shot her back "i'm not applying for the job of a maid" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged November 24, 2011 Share November 24, 2011 A little OT here: (Forget about those FT/PR immigrant mess and sh*t this Garment had gotten us into in the last 10 years.) Let's say you have son. True blue born and breed Singaporean son. And given the choice, will you let him serve NS duty when his time comes? definitely pros of NS: boys become men learn independent and disciplined character building, teamwork and leadership cons of NS: take up 2 years may pick up bad habits such as wayang or chao keng still need to serve 10 ICTs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged November 24, 2011 Share November 24, 2011 My concern is those who gave up their PR by not doing NS, how many will come back later to find jobs and settle here....by applying for employment pass or be a FT, or marry a local gal (and start living here again)? I have heard some doing so. And if he is skilled, our govt will not let him in? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...