Gukubird Neutral Newbie November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 of the 4200 males who renounced the PR and 8800 who got enlisted, I wonder what are their 'A' leve result, poly result, 'O' level result. Are we losing talent due to NS? Which is more important to PAP? quantity or quality? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear November 22, 2011 Author Share November 22, 2011 Is a form of training bro... We washed toilet, we stand by bed, we washed the canteen, we washed the store, we do a lot of yeoman duties. All of us been through this s--t including officers themselves during their recruit and trainee days. But the friendship, camaderie and bond formed during such non-combat duties extend to field exercises and during missions. We have not tested the camaderie during war but I tend to believe it will be the same. Is a mind set issue. Focus on the good things and you will lead a happier and fulfilling lives. Why should you focus on the cleaning part? Focus on the food, bro. When my platoon and me went on mission, the amount of personal equipment each of us carry, the amount of stores we bring along, the objectives to achieve couple with lack of sleep and the combat ration..... If we don't focus our mind on the positive things, we are all dead before we even move out of the camp main gate. Personally, I found the experience during NS helped me a lot in my subsequent undergraduate studies and later working life. Bro I would say your experience was a pleasant one so good for you. Many of us, including yours truly, unfortunately did not enjoy as much as you. Like quite a big portion of guys out there, we suffered since day 1 from idiocratic or simply sadistic instructors. Why they behaved like that then was beyond us because they looked and spoke exactly like us but their actions were Focus on food? You gotta be kidding me right? As far as I was concerned during my army BMT in the eighties, the cookhouses were still operated by uninterested regulars or disgrunted NSFs and I could tell you the food served then s*cked and it s*ked big time - BF: bread was often stale, butter and jam was 1 teaspoon each per recruit (I kid you not!!!), hard-boiled or hard-rock eggs as we called them were unpalatable and milo was just milo water; LUNCH & DINNER: rice was often uncooked & often ke liao (impurities like small pebbles or insects), chicken wings were the size of of pigeon wings, veg was yellow colour (when did they cook them, 5am in the morning? ), chicken or pork was actually rubber in disguise; NIGHTSNACK: bee hoon fried with just sea water (I swe*r many of us believe that!) with a few quail eggs thrown in or rock hard fruit cakes left over since WWII. And there were quite a few times the cookhouse ran out of washing liquid and so the oily mass trays were rejected by the COS even though we tried our mightiest scrubbing them mee qi qi under running water (Guess some one higher up might had wondered why water bill was high then... Combat rations were the hard tacks (dog biscuits but ever tried throwing to a doggy and the fella did not even sniff it but walked away uninterested), pork cubes (avoid these unless you wanted instant constipation ), red beans, sardines (exchanged with our Muslim counterparts with red beans but be prepared to have a stinky mouth throughout the outfield period) and some others like jam, chocolate, all nothing to shout about then. I believe the quality of food of those batches earlier than mine was not much better and likely to be worst... Camaderie? Provided you had like-minded platoon or section-mates. I had the misfortune of having CK or sabo king fellow recruits/trainees throughout my training phases and once they play punk all suffered. Many were uninterested and just wanted siam this siam that but their actions just made it harder for themselves and the rest of us. No good time those days bro. ICT I was "fortunate" enough to be an attached personnel and like a illegitimate children in a family, in a unit you were often kicked around unowned and unwanted and bunks/food rations often not indented for you. But when needed for some tough duties like carry stores or man stations, rest assured your names would be called up immediately. Whatever it is, it is all over now and those days are gone forever. I believe many bros suffered even more than me so I should not be saying my experience was the worst. Point is, we do not want the PRlings to suffer the same sh!t we went through last time but they must have the decency to serve NS as a man after enjoying the benefits of what this nation has provided for them and the sacrifices of earlier NS men made to let them have a good life here. Taking an easy out by renouncing the PR status to avoid NS is thus a cowardly act . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 actually I don't understand why NS is always an issue??? What's wrong with serving NS? I have been thru 2.5 years of NSF, then follows by 6 years in the wild because some how my docket don't know ended up in which chief clerk's drawer... Then suddenly out of the blue kanna call up for my first ICT in late twenties in a combat battalion whereby all of them just ORDed from their mono-intake. All fit fit and cat X. Me and a few souls belong to veteran group. We also chong mountain and chong sea with them. Manage to serve out my 7 high 3 low and got my hamiltan watch. No big deal mah... I really don't care who had served and who did not and who got 12 years deferment. Important thing is I enjoy myself during my time as a combat soldier It's not the issue with serving NS. Have you heard of the slogan "Jobs for FT, NS for Sinkies"? I believe many of us here won't mind if the NS allowance is paid at market rate of what one would expect to get when working outside. When serving NS, we are lagging behind by 2 years when the FTs easily come in and get a headstart in their careers. This is very true if you comparing with the peers from poly. FTs after graduating enters the job market, Sinkies spend 2 year in NS doing unrelated stuffs of no useful value/experience that aids in job seeking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jetabout777 1st Gear November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 Is a form of training bro... We washed toilet, we stand by bed, we washed the canteen, we washed the store, we do a lot of yeoman duties. All of us been through this s--t including officers themselves during their recruit and trainee days. But the friendship, camaderie and bond formed during such non-combat duties extend to field exercises and during missions. We have not tested the camaderie during war but I tend to believe it will be the same. Is a mind set issue. Focus on the good things and you will lead a happier and fulfilling lives. Why should you focus on the cleaning part? Focus on the food, bro. When my platoon and me went on mission, the amount of personal equipment each of us carry, the amount of stores we bring along, the objectives to achieve couple with lack of sleep and the combat ration..... If we don't focus our mind on the positive things, we are all dead before we even move out of the camp main gate. Personally, I found the experience during NS helped me a lot in my subsequent undergraduate studies and later working life. As hard as we try to convince ourselves that NS can benefit us in many personal ways, it is hard not to look at other nations which do not have NS and have citizens who manage to get through life's stages as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayoflight 5th Gear November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 I agree..jobs for FT, NS for sinkies. The ah neis with their unknown india MBA at age 20 will rock your boat. What? U just finished NS at 20/21? what? U havnt take your degree? By the time out of uni, ah pek liao la. Just last wk i met a headhunter who is a pinoy. She said "all the filipinnos are coming to take your jobs". nuff said. Convo ended. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 I agree..jobs for FT, NS for sinkies. The ah neis with their unknown india MBA at age 20 will rock your boat. What? U just finished NS at 20/21? what? U havnt take your degree? By the time out of uni, ah pek liao la. Just last wk i met a headhunter who is a pinoy. She said "all the filipinnos are coming to take your jobs". nuff said. Convo ended. Tsk, you should not have ended the call so soon. You should have told her a lot have already done so, but they are taking up all the jobs located around Orchard Plaza at night. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt 6th Gear November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 (edited) Recently, there was a furoe on the internet about someone who criticized Singaporean men that they only want benefits from the gov but when they are tasked to served NS, they would be first to want to evade. Singaporean men ask for him to be punished. But why ? I never thought he was wrong and this threads just substantied it. Edited November 22, 2011 by Davidtkl Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 Recently, there was a furoe on the internet about someone who criticized Singaporean men that they would be first to want to evade NS but also first to want benefits from the gov. I never thought he was wrong and this threads just substantied it. I think you had missed the point. The majority in this thread have already served their NS, thus it is only natural to demand for benefits. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt 6th Gear November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 but do they want to serve NS? front their responses, it is clear. I think you had missed the point. The majority in this thread have already served their NS, thus it is only natural to demand for benefits. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rockaphonics 2nd Gear November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 Eh... how many downgrade to PES C to E? I think your guess as good as mine. How many sporeans are pes c and pes e? go figure Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 The chicken in the green can was tasty Once gana COS duty during CNY. the hokkien peng cook make special food for us, we and the cook also arh one . the regular officer also nice. but we all discharge our duty diligently hor Yes, environment is tough, it is the people and mindset that make the diff. Stll remember my PTI use to say, want to do, do a proper one, improper one, do one hundred time also no use Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 (edited) but do they want to serve NS? front their responses, it is clear. I believed a lot find it noble and as a right of passage as a young Singaporean male, but alas, this perception is immediately shattered to pieces as they go through the daily grind during NS. At the end of it, some enjoyed due to the camaraderie, while others loath NS as they felt it is their time which is being wasted in NS. You can't put the blame on the sons of common folks when even the president's son find NS a chore to start with. Edited November 22, 2011 by Lethalstrike Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear November 22, 2011 Author Share November 22, 2011 Conservatively, let's assume that half of the PR family is a happy family of 4: daddy, mummy, a boy-boy and a girl-girl. And of the boy-boys, half of them are young and not eligible for NS immediately. So the no. of eligible boy-boys for NS= 0.5* ((530,000)/4x2)=33,125 Say also half of them some how got medical reasons or have strange 12-year deferments so final total= 0.5*33,125=16,563. The nos. just did not make sense... Where did the 16,563-8,800-4,200= 3,563 go to? ..... They also need to publish the statistics the day since the male children of PRs need to serve NS till now how many actually siam it and not juts the past 5 years. *sigh* Have to be a mathematic sinseh... PR nos. = 530,000 as of June 2011 Assumption: 1. Half of these are in families = 530,000/2 = 265,000 i.e. the other half of 265,000 comprising: (i) singles; (ii) young couples w/o kids yet; (iii) couples with girls; (iv) old couples whose grown kids does not come with them; & (v) couples who could not produce kids all of whom would not be contributing to NS or able to yet for (i) & (ii). 2. The average happy PR family is consisted of: (i) a man/husband/father; (ii) a woman/wife/mother; (iii) a boy/son/brother; & (iv) a girl/daughter/sister NB: The above assumption does not take into account a family with: (i) couple with 1 or more sons; & (ii) a single parent with 1 or more sons to be more conservative. 3. Only the boy/son/brother is required to serve. 4. So the total no. of 2nd generation eligible male PRs to serve = 265,000/4 = 66,250 5. Assuming half of them are too young to serve yet. 6. Therefore the total no. now = 66,250/2 = 33,125 7. Assuming again half of them have medical reasons or have strange 12-year deferments. 8. Therefore the total no. now = 33,125/2 = 16,563 9. Taking into account the serving 8,800(salute! ) 4,200 (PTUI!!! ), we will have = 16,563-8,800-4,200 = 3,563 who some how could not be accounted for. Hope this off-the-envelope, unbiased calculation which is not exact science is clear to some. And so far after so many donkey years since the implementation of the PR scheme & after a humiliating GE (in their opinion), we finally have a indication of how many 2nd generation PRs served NS during the last 5 years. Just hope they will do one step further & publish the exact figures how many serve each year since the PR scheme was implemented. For those still not clear, 8,800 plus a few hundreds or even thousands more , say total of 8,800x3 over 15 years = 26,400 out of 530,000 is just barely 5% only & nothing to shout about. IMHO, 5% of half million PRs having served NS is a little tad too low.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 I hope amongst all Singaporean, we put aside petty difference n politic when come to NS. This is the pillar for the stability of our nation. else.how will business invest here. If even the gun you also want to give up, than prepare to let people screw yr ass. Keep the gun n NS, you will do the screwing instead. But on the other hand, leadership n business leadership must recognise this. cannot take local for granted. There ar certain things that are more important than dollar n cents. Lost money can earn back, lost the people, lost everything. Just a two cents worth from one of the son of Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 (edited) I hope amongst all Singaporean, we put aside petty difference n politic when come to NS. This is the pillar for the stability of our nation. else.how will business invest here. If even the gun you also want to give up, than prepare to let people screw yr ass. Keep the gun n NS, you will do the screwing instead. But on the other hand, leadership n business leadership must recognise this. cannot take local for granted. There ar certain things that are more important than dollar n cents. Lost money can earn back, lost the people, lost everything. Just a two cents worth from one of the son of Singapore. Well said. But it seems like some companies view reservist commitments more like a liability than a necessary duty or obligation. Edited November 22, 2011 by Lethalstrike Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 Then we must help our younger bro to change mind set lor. There is always things to learn everywhere. During NS, fitness level is build up, learn discipline n the value of team work. Learn how to strengthen your mind and not to yield during tough time and unfair treatment....etc it is only two years to endure all this, learn from it to be a better leader and man These are all life skill if only one go in with the correct mindset. Last ..... do we learnt to treat other people fairly when we attain the position of power one day? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 (edited) This is becos these company are run by people with small mind, short sighted and no leadership. Only interested in short term gain by getting the kpi. Than later these kPI scorer will move up and the vicious cycle began. These KPI scorer will not mind killing the goose that lay egg to score their point. Edited November 22, 2011 by GoodCar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 Well said. But it seems like some companies view reservist commitments more like a liability than a necessary duty or obligation. coz they got to find someone to replace u ma.. must pay him and must also pay YOU. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...