CNA: 8,800 PRs Served NS Over Last 5 years

Vulcann

The real question is how many PRs we have to date and what percentage of their children siam NS throughout and not only the last 5 years...

From CNA:

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1166966/1/.html

8,800 PRs served NS over last 5 years

Posted: 22 November 2011 1500 hrs

SINGAPORE: Over the last five years, about 8,800 males who had become permanent residents under the sponsorship of their parents were enlisted for and served National Service (NS).

About 6,100 of them have taken up citizenship.

Defence Minister Dr Ng Eng Hen gave the figures in a written reply to a parliamentary question from Nee Soon GRC MP, Dr Lim Wee Kiak.

In that same period, about 4,200 males who had become permanent residents under the sponsorship of their parents renounced their PR status prior to serving National Service.

Dr Ng said the failure of these permanent residents to serve NS will be taken into account when they subsequently apply to study or work in Singapore.

These PRs were warned about the consequences of their action at the point of renunciation.

Edited by Vulcann

actually I don't understand why NS is always an issue??? What's wrong with serving NS? I have been thru 2.5 years of NSF, then follows by 6 years in the wild because some how my docket don't know ended up in which chief clerk's drawer... Then suddenly out of the blue kanna call up for my first ICT in late twenties in a combat battalion whereby all of them just ORDed from their mono-intake. All fit fit and cat X. Me and a few souls belong to veteran group. We also chong mountain and chong sea with them. Manage to serve out my 7 high 3 low and got my hamiltan watch.

No big deal mah... I really don't care who had served and who did not and who got 12 years deferment. Important thing is I enjoy myself during my time as a combat soldier

Why NS always is an issue? perhaps those PR or pple who siam NS can answer that.

if singaporean can server 2.5 or 2 yr without issue, so why can't they serve the NS instead have to siam.

simple... They siam because they have no heart here, have no interest here and do not intend to stay here.... What's more need to say? We are the one inviting them to become PR. We are the one that grant them PR......All along is a one-sided love affairs. If they song song, they return our affection lor... If they buay song, they get us to pay for their dinner, pay for their cinema show, pay for their shopping trip, then bye bye....

Another real question, is the NS 'dig trench, BMT, kenna tekan' type? Or is it 'Tony Tan's son styled type of NS in aircon lab doing research'?

actually I don't understand why NS is always an issue??? What's wrong with serving NS? I have been thru 2.5 years of NSF, then follows by 6 years in the wild because some how my docket don't know ended up in which chief clerk's drawer... Then suddenly out of the blue kanna call up for my first ICT in late twenties in a combat battalion whereby all of them just ORDed from their mono-intake. All fit fit and cat X. Me and a few souls belong to veteran group. We also chong mountain and chong sea with them. Manage to serve out my 7 high 3 low and got my hamiltan watch.

No big deal mah... I really don't care who had served and who did not and who got 12 years deferment. Important thing is I enjoy myself during my time as a combat soldier

U enjoyed but not most of us ok.. I'm an RP in the airforce, we have many events with catering, usually after the officers and regulars makan, then 'invite' us the NSFs to eat the leftovers and clean the mess.. Now can you dig that?

In wartime, I think I will machinegun my RSM ass instead of the enemies...

for some , NS means more risk, risk being injured for life or death, dun tell me that we risk injury and death outside but the probablility of getting it during NS training is much higher nmind all those slogan about safety safety safety 1st. lost a limb or 2, the country say thank you thank you for ur sacrifice. dats all

The real question is how many PRs we have to date and what percentage of their children siam NS throughout and not only the last 5 years...

From CNA:

SINGAPORE: Over the last five years, about 8,800 males who had become permanent residents under the sponsorship of their parents were enlisted for and served National Service (NS).

Defence Minister Dr Ng Eng Hen gave the figures in a written reply to a parliamentary question from Nee Soon GRC MP, Dr Lim Wee Kiak.

In that same period, about 4,200 males who had become permanent residents under the sponsorship of their parents renounced their PR status prior to serving National Service.

Dr Ng said the failure of these permanent residents to serve NS will be taken into account when they subsequently apply to study or work in Singapore.

These PRs were warned about the consequences of their action at the point of renunciation.

The numbers are given in the article:

4,200 renounced their PR to avoid NS

8,800 did NS

so its accurate to say MOST PRs kids do NS.

that goes against what many here have thought....... [rolleyes]

Personally I think all residents of NS starting age should do NS. Im glad to see most PRs kids are doing just that

Edited by Badder

Another real question, is the NS 'dig trench, BMT, kenna tekan' type? Or is it 'Tony Tan's son styled type of NS in aircon lab doing research'?

TT at work TT doing his job... must b dam hard work smiling everyday man thats y need $4M salary

Edited by Duckduck

From CNA:

Eh... how many downgrade to PES C to E? I think your guess as good as mine.

U enjoyed but not most of us ok.. I'm an RP in the airforce, we have many events with catering, usually after the officers and regulars makan, then 'invite' us the NSFs to eat the leftovers and clean the mess.. Now can you dig that?

In wartime, I think I will machinegun my RSM ass instead of the enemies...

Is a form of training bro... We washed toilet, we stand by bed, we washed the canteen, we washed the store, we do a lot of yeoman duties. All of us been through this s--t including officers themselves during their recruit and trainee days. But the friendship, camaderie and bond formed during such non-combat duties extend to field exercises and during missions. We have not tested the camaderie during war but I tend to believe it will be the same.

Is a mind set issue. Focus on the good things and you will lead a happier and fulfilling lives. Why should you focus on the cleaning part? Focus on the food, bro. When my platoon and me went on mission, the amount of personal equipment each of us carry, the amount of stores we bring along, the objectives to achieve couple with lack of sleep and the combat ration..... If we don't focus our mind on the positive things, we are all dead before we even move out of the camp main gate.

Personally, I found the experience during NS helped me a lot in my subsequent undergraduate studies and later working life.

Is a form of training bro... We washed toilet, we stand by bed, we washed the canteen, we washed the store, we do a lot of yeoman duties. All of us been through this s--t including officers themselves during their recruit and trainee days. But the friendship, camaderie and bond formed during such non-combat duties extend to field exercises and during missions. We have not tested the camaderie during war but I tend to believe it will be the same.

Is a mind set issue. Focus on the good things and you will lead a happier and fulfilling lives. Why should you focus on the cleaning part? Focus on the food, bro. When my platoon and me went on mission, the amount of personal equipment each of us carry, the amount of stores we bring along, the objectives to achieve couple with lack of sleep and the combat ration..... If we don't focus our mind on the positive things, we are all dead before we even move out of the camp main gate.

Personally, I found the experience during NS helped me a lot in my subsequent undergraduate studies and later working life.

[thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

Wet-food is a no no outfield. Unless you're ok digging latrine every 2 days. hehe

PR nos. is about 530k at June this year according to CNA's earlier report:

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1155998/1/.html

Conservatively, let's assume that half of the PR family is a happy family of 4: daddy, mummy, a boy-boy and a girl-girl.

And of the boy-boys, half of them are young and not eligible for NS immediately.

So the no. of eligible boy-boys for NS= 0.5* ((530,000)/4x2)=33,125

Say also half of them some how got medical reasons or have strange 12-year deferments so final total= 0.5*33,125=16,563.

The nos. just did not make sense...

Where did the 16,563-8,800-4,200= 3,563 go to?

I know my off the envelope calculation not really exact science but the authorities need to be more convincing.

They also need to publish the statistics the day since the male children of PRs need to serve NS till now how many actually siam it and not juts the past 5 years.

NS is a sensitive issue which need to be dealt with delicately... [:(]

[/color]

can they be specific about the consequences and list some examples? else this is all talk and no action.

in the first place, why give out PR? I know a relative who is from malaysia, works as a production operator earning max $800 and got PR a few years ago... this is how cheap it is...

PR nos. is about 530k at June this year according to CNA's earlier report:

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1155998/1/.html

Conservatively, let's assume that half of the PR family is a happy family of 4: daddy, mummy, a boy-boy and a girl-girl.

And of the boy-boys, half of them are young and not eligible for NS immediately.

So the no. of eligible boy-boys for NS= 0.5* ((530,000)/4x2)=33,125

Say also half of them some how got medical reasons or have strange 12-year deferments so final total= 0.5*33,125=16,563.

The nos. just did not make sense...

Where did the 16,563-8,800-4,200= 3,563 go to?

I know my off the envelope calculation not really exact science but the authorities need to be more convincing.

They also need to publish the statistics the day since the male children of PRs need to serve NS till now how many actually siam it and not juts the past 5 years.

NS is a sensitive issue which need to be dealt with delicately... [:(]

You do get that all the children dont share the same age and birthday right?.... :wacko: also many of them will be too old to have kids already

the data is all there in post. you dont need anymore - unless you dont like to agree with the data

(thats called having a bias)

Edited by Badder