NTUC Chief: More retrenchments coming

Ahtong

to me... the only issue would be if when hirer, recommender, new employee.. all come from the same country

if want to recommend u .. also dunno how to fill in the ''gender'' column...  [laugh]

Haha please tell the truth.

Sex: as much as possible especially with syt.

Race: human

Address: don't mind Jamec, don't mind the devil, don't mind lesbian in a man's body

not too keen on - oi you.

Work history: only worked hard when paid well. 

blame LHL for signing CECA.

given the number of indians that come to singapore vs the number of singaporeans that goes to india. it seems like we're at the losing end.

I agree with this. People will always say why not more sinkees want to go india, myanmar, other boomtown 3rd world countries?

Because they are precisely that, 3rd world countries, while we are considered developed. Its many many steps down. Business owners and elites will only go look see, sign deals and come home, while ordinary sinkees will be stationed there for years without family. What would motivate anyone to do that?

I'm not sure if other countries with India CECA have clause that invite so many of them to come over. Maybe we're special.

Sorry friend unless you are the one paying the salary of an employee, you will not be an idealist but practical.

If you insist that for a job in sg you would say that all else being equal the sgporean should always have priority. Go ask the employers and those currently looking for a job (quietly).

This is the ugly truth. If you don't want even to acknowledge the issue then how to solve those suffering from it.

By the way according to our government NS is a privilege.

Put our patriotic views aside and analyze the situation from a company's point of view. Put two columns, FT versus local their advantage and disadvantage of hiring them.

just for your info my Malaysian graduate from University 2 1/2 years earlier than me. They starter earning early then me and had the opportunity to be first movers. How do I feel? I may be different from you. I don't see them as Malaysians but see them instead as my friends and classmates. So no big deal for. From then on I acknowledge this and move on. It is the price or privilege of holding on to the red ic. Like it or not that is reality.

I'm not saying it is the company's role to level the field. I'm saying the government should do so. NS as a privilege is bulls**t la - don't tell me you believe that.

Yes, we are talking about reality but reality can change too you know? Obviously we first need to do something about it instead of sitting around hoping that our government will change on their own accord.

Your assertion is that we are 2nd class citizens in our own country and we should just suck thumb? No way - not my style even if I have to sacrifice and have a lower standard of living overall.

BTW, I also have a lot of non-local friends and it is indeed no big deal. I don't hold any grudges against them for getting a better deal than me - my grudge is against the system.

Edited by Kusje

The jobs here are not always that fantastic.

Always making us do more for less.

I don't know if its fair or not that foreigners

come here and take the jobs we don't want

but no one put a gun to their head right?

I sympathise with their complaints but they

chose to come here. As for us being lazy to

work abroad. This might be true of others

but not me. I am willing to work abroad without

my wife in Vietnam, Thailand, Taiwan, Korea or

Japan. If anyone has any opening I am there!  [thumbsup]

Just recently went for an interview with Saipem, they are building 2 FPSOs' in Sembawang Shipyard. I was shortlisted along with another Indian National on "S" pass, much less experience and certification......guess who got the job? The Indian National on "S" pass, because of recommendation. I had my doubts that things like this were happening in Singapore, but after this personal experience all doubts are cleared. 

We give 2 years of our life to defend this Island and we are repaid with jobs for Aliens. Kah Pui.........what a load of rubbish. If MOM goes to the site office they will be shocked.....almost 90% of them are aliens and 60% of them Indians and Pinoys. Where are the Singaporeans?

MATILAH SINGAPURA.......

bro

treat this a blessing in disguise coz almost all shipwards services had been transferred out of sembawang now left with residues 2nd, 3rd supports who are mainly indian towkays . . . . . last heard that sembawang shipward was supposed be ceased from perations by 2020 (stretched from 2017)....

bro

treat this a blessing in disguise coz almost all shipwards services had been transferred out of sembawang now left with residues 2nd, 3rd supports who are mainly indian towkays . . . . . last heard that sembawang shipward was supposed be ceased from perations by 2020 (stretched from 2017)....

This kaombo proj that he applied for is a short term role. Last I heard, 1 FPSO will be completed mid of next year and the entire project will be concluded end of next year. 

Without knowing exactly what role he applied for, I would say that it is likely to be one of those inspector/commissioning roles. Such roles are mostly always on a project basis unless you are hired by the shipyard directly.

Guys guys, aiyah let it be lah......let things be. I was just venting my bafflement. We Singaporeans must stick together. Our own recommending our own is ok right? We look out for each other in our little island. Imagine if the table was turned and we were in their country doing the same.....quite scary right? Wishing all a very nice day ahead and Merry Christmas, hope the tide turns in the New Year. Chario.

PS: Sorry if I rocked a few chairs. 

fren fren its ok - but when it comes to calculating the loss & gain against binding as a nation or nationalist - its BS!

my experiences confirm that almost no sinkies will bind together to look out for each other when they are surviving overseas........

most are kiasi, kiasu and so calculative that they'd rather act blurr than reaching out to help in their expenses of "lau kui"..... only the elitism among elitistics . . . .

what shy shy shy is just BS!

why such behaviour?...... bcoz its lead by example!

this is how our leaders behave !!!

This kaombo proj that he applied for is a short term role. Last I heard, 1 FPSO will be completed mid of next year and the entire project will be concluded end of next year. 

Without knowing exactly what role he applied for, I would say that it is likely to be one of those inspector/commissioning roles. Such roles are mostly always on a project basis unless you are hired by the shipyard directly.

You are right bro. I am a contract Inspector. As it is we are scraping the barrel with no projects in sight and yet we have to deal with this sort of underhand stragety. If they had hired a local I would have been happy as most locals who applied were my kakis as well. 

For the 1st time, defense budget is going to take cut for SG.

Current 2016 budget at $13.9 billion.

This is really eye opener now. I believe our GOV is working very hard for next 2 yrs to pull up socks.

Edited by Tcx607

Of the over 100 banks in SG your fren chose the Bank of India.

Is he Indian? If he is Indian and he is victimised then its not bcos of race.

If your fren is victimise bcos of race then tell him,

no matter how bad a job is, there is no job worse

than having no job. [scholar]

maybe you didnt have the opportunity to experience how a staff could be easily removed. as the saying goes, there are a thousand ways to skin a cat'.

if they dont want you, by telling them is just confirming they method works for them.

your protection is to ensure you stay valuable and indispensible. always mobile and keep to your principle. forget about loyalty, that is history.

maybe you didnt have the opportunity to experience how a staff could be easily removed. as the saying goes, there are a thousand ways to skin a cat'.

if they dont want you, by telling them is just confirming they method works for them.

your protection is to ensure you stay valuable and indispensible. always mobile and keep to your principle. forget about loyalty, that is history.

Sadly I know how easy it is to remove a staff

and these are the good staff and not the duds.

What amazes me is they always cut the muscle

and never the fats. I learn from this and now I 

never do any work. I found out by accident that

not doing any work also meant no mistakes and

my bonus was much better because not making

mistakes is valued by my bosses a lot. They just 

don't like to hear staff making any mistakes.

For the 1st time, defense budget is going to take cut for SG.

Current 2016 budget at $13.9 billion.

This is really eye opener now. I believe our GOV is working very hard for next 2 yrs to pull up socks.

yah! they are looking at all revenues to suck dry the citizens.... carparks fees, logistics, administratives etc..... all fees just go up

lately, jaywalkers' fine is even raised to above $100s....

and they continue to load unnecessary cost into public housing just to jack up the prices; e.g. lost deals from contracts upgraders, solar panels operators etc.

many more . . .

yah! they are looking at all revenues to suck dry the citizens.... carparks fees, logistics, administratives etc..... all fees just go up

lately, jaywalkers' fine is even raised to above $100s....

and they continue to load unnecessary cost into public housing just to jack up the prices; e.g. lost deals from contracts upgraders, solar panels operators etc.

many more . . .

Can elaborate?

I am also in marine/offshore field. Yes the Kaombo twins have been going on for some while. Once the 2 vessels are completed. likely saipem will cut all the guys involved. They purged the singapore office last year. I don't know if working for such multinational is good anymore. hire and fire as they please.

Correction - those on the kaombo project are already on contract roles therefore no need to "cut them".

Hire and fire is the new normal.

I always tell everyone if my company

cannot pay me I don't want to work

there anymore.

No point continue working if the company don't pay... better start to look for another company ...that pays :)