NTUC Chief: More retrenchments coming

Ahtong

People on the inside bro, their Country man. Their own kind pushing their resume thru. What is MOM doing approving "S" passes without asking the potential employer if a local is ably qualified to carry out the work. Haiz talk and talk mah boh yong........given up.

This is normal in all companies leh. If got existing employee (assuming this fellow's performance is decent) willing to vouch for the newbie vs an unknown quantity. Surely, this can't be the first time you've experienced this?

What should not be allowed is hiring the other fellow because he doesn't have NS or other local obligations but from your own words, this isn't the case.

Disclaimer: ex-saipem staff here and because I was once there, I can say that Saipem wasn't the kind of company that prioritizes foreigners over locals (Italians and French excluded).

Edited by Kusje

This is normal in all companies leh. If got existing employee (assuming this fellow's performance is decent) willing to vouch for the newbie vs an unknown quantity. Surely, this can't be the first time you've experienced this?

What should not be allowed is hiring the other fellow because he doesn't have NS or other local obligations but from your own words, this isn't the case.

Disclaimer: ex-saipem staff here and because I was once there, I can say that Saipem wasn't the kind of company that prioritizes foreigners over locals (Italians and French excluded).

20 years of experience in the Oil and Gas field vs 5 years, if I am unknown quantity then I do not know what is known. Hahahahha. Ex-Saipem staff, may be you might want to head on down to Sembawang and have a looky looky.......anyways, no ill feelings bro, only thing, Singaporeans are being, have been and being screwed BIG time and nobody gives a damn. 

Just recently went for an interview with Saipem, they are building 2 FPSOs' in Sembawang Shipyard. I was shortlisted along with another Indian National on "S" pass, much less experience and certification......guess who got the job? The Indian National on "S" pass, because of recommendation. I had my doubts that things like this were happening in Singapore, but after this personal experience all doubts are cleared.

We give 2 years of our life to defend this Island and we are repaid with jobs for Aliens. Kah Pui.........what a load of rubbish. If MOM goes to the site office they will be shocked.....almost 90% of them are aliens and 60% of them Indians and Pinoys. Where are the Singaporeans?

MATILAH SINGAPURA.......

Remember we all agree on meritocracy.

If the tables turn and instead a Singaporean insider pulling the strings for you. Then would that be meritocracy that we are fighting about.

If a Singaporean job applicant is so way way better than a FT based on similar salary. I am sure the company will employ the Singaporean.

However, if the Singaporean is marginally or slightly better than most would prefer FT. No need to have his job disrupted by reservist which can be more than 2 weeks in a year. FT on local package will be even more welcome. In addition FT at PMET level often at least for the 1st contract are often living alone. So no need for employer worrying about paternity leave and so on.

An employer is not stupid to employ a dud just because he or she expected a significantly lower salary than his or her Singaporean counterpart. The company still needs to be profitable based on capable people.

My own experience firing FT straight forward and will not butch around. They pack bag and leave.

The current policy is aim for a world city in Singapore. So what do you and I expect?

This is the reality.

We can't blame anyone but ourselves really. Not as if there is no job around. Competition is always there. Suppose if our authorities intervene and got ride of the FT issue. Next we would be complaining that our elites in society are keeping jobs for their kind and friends and relatives like in the civil service in Philippines.

if you are hungry enough you will find a way. Just like buying a car, for some the hunger for a nice car is so great they starve themselves, borrow from friends and relatives shamelessly and worse from credit companies.

It is a different game altogether so we need to "fight" with a new strategy. Otherwise why let our SAF training go to waste.

By the way, the truth is nobody screw us big time unless we allow it to happen?

why do we keep feeling sorry for ourselves and keep saying we Singaporeans keno screwed big time. It is a destructive cycle and counterproductive. Nobody in this world is going to put a goodie hamper at your house front door. We have to earn it. This is a fact because we made the choice of aiming for a world city.

It is times like this I feel sorry for many. Despite advice and warning given not to be excessive in their spending and not to be boastful of your ability to buy polex watches and expensive cars if you are already stretched. Well unfortunately some people just got to learn the hard way despite good advice. Too late for some of these people.

Hope people become smarter.

Good luck.

Edited by Still2016

20 years of experience in the Oil and Gas field vs 5 years, if I am unknown quantity then I do not know what is known. Hahahahha. Ex-Saipem staff, may be you might want to head on down to Sembawang and have a looky looky.......anyways, no ill feelings bro, only thing, Singaporeans are being, have been and being screwed BIG time and nobody gives a damn.

20 yrs mean you could be over qualified.

did you ask what was their budget?

blame LHL for signing CECA.

given the number of indians that come to singapore vs the number of singaporeans that goes to india. it seems like we're at the losing end.

Just recently went for an interview with Saipem, they are building 2 FPSOs' in Sembawang Shipyard. I was shortlisted along with another Indian National on "S" pass, much less experience and certification......guess who got the job? The Indian National on "S" pass, because of recommendation. I had my doubts that things like this were happening in Singapore, but after this personal experience all doubts are cleared. 

We give 2 years of our life to defend this Island and we are repaid with jobs for Aliens. Kah Pui.........what a load of rubbish. If MOM goes to the site office they will be shocked.....almost 90% of them are aliens and 60% of them Indians and Pinoys. Where are the Singaporeans?

MATILAH SINGAPURA.......

Unknown quantity in the sense that no one in the company (or dept) is willing to vouch for you. You can have 20 years experience but that is all written down in a few sentences on a sheet of paper called your CV. Compared to someone with 5 years experience (I am presuming this is enough for the role) and someone else willing to vouch for him (if no good, I tok), which do you think is the less risky of the 2 for the hiring manager?

No point for me to go down to Sembawang also la.... I am still well acquainted with the people there involved in the Kaombo Sul and Norte project but as an ex-employee, I doubt I will even make it past the front gate. Anyway, my point is that this kind of kaki lang thing has been going on for ages and has nothing to do with FT or locals. I'm also surprised that you can work 20 years without encountering this before. Your working life must have been really smooth sailing until now.

Give him the benefit of the doubt la. Most people and companies will already check these things before interviewing a person (somemore he says he was shortlisted). 

Remember we all agree on meritocracy.

If the tables turn and instead a Singaporean insider pulling the strings for you. Then would that be meritocracy that we are fighting about.

If a Singaporean job applicant is so way way better than a FT based on similar salary. I am sure the company will employ the Singaporean.

However, if the Singaporean is marginally or slightly better than most would prefer FT. No need to have his job disrupted by reservist which can be more than 2 weeks in a year. FT on local package will be even more welcome. In addition FT at PMET level often at least for the 1st contract are often living alone. So no need for employer worrying about paternity leave and so on.

An employer is not stupid to employ a dud just because he or she expected a significantly lower salary than his or her Singaporean counterpart. The company still needs to be profitable based on capable people.

My own experience firing FT straight forward and will not butch around. They pack bag and leave.

The current policy is aim for a world city in Singapore. So what do you and I expect?

This is the reality.

We can't blame anyone but ourselves really. Not as if there is no job around. Competition is always there. Suppose if our authorities intervene and got ride of the FT issue. Next we would be complaining that our elites in society are keeping jobs for their kind and friends and relatives like in the civil service in Philippines.

if you are hungry enough you will find a way. Just like buying a car, for some the hunger for a nice car is so great they starve themselves, borrow from friends and relatives shamelessly and worse from credit companies.

It is a different game altogether so we need to "fight" with a new strategy. Otherwise why let our SAF training go to waste.

This is a load of nonsense la.

Why does a Singaporean need to be significantly better to be considered? For a job in Singapore, I would say that all else being equal, the Singaporean should always have priority. It is one thing to say we need to be meritocratic and another to say that we are disadvantaged because we need to serve NS. Govt needs to level the playing field here to take NS into account otherwise why should I serve NS as a Singaporean?

Edited by Kusje

Overqualified = expensive? Under current environment with the lots of excess capacity across all segment of oil and gas, costing can make or break a project. But it is also well known II will always prefer to hire II. They take care of their own but this may not be the reason for the company not hiring a local.

Guys guys, aiyah let it be lah......let things be. I was just venting my bafflement. We Singaporeans must stick together. Our own recommending our own is ok right? We look out for each other in our little island. Imagine if the table was turned and we were in their country doing the same.....quite scary right? Wishing all a very nice day ahead and Merry Christmas, hope the tide turns in the New Year. Chario.

PS: Sorry if I rocked a few chairs. 

When go for interview must learn to BS a bit.

I know this and I know that. I was heading this

project, I was heading that project. Don't know

also never mind. Works for me.  [thumbsup]

its the same in the Banking and Finance industry.  In some foreign banks, some departments are like Bank of India.  Hiadee of mine works in the IT dept of one of the banks, he says his manager(Neh) is already making life difficult for him.  MOM knows?

isn't it expected that you stand a better chance of being hired in your own home country vs a foreigner? all else being equal of cus. 

In your own country where you have experience of all those little nuances.. peculiar issues.. .. 

i would not go to another country and make noise if the local is chose over me... 

to me.. the issue why on our own turf.. foreigners can call the shots??

WHY? 

and all these.. have a trickle down effect...  they come make money .. dont leave roots.. make enough money .. go home...  

why does our gahmen not penalise these people who take advantage of our low taxes... why allow these people to make money off our PUBLIC property? 

WHY??

its the same in the Banking and Finance industry.  In some foreign banks, some departments are like Bank of India.  Hiadee of mine works in the IT dept of one of the banks, he says his manager(Neh) is already making life difficult for him.  MOM knows?

yes.. this is a personal peeve of mine.. since i work in the industry... 

Edited by SuPerBoRed

Guys guys, aiyah let it be lah......let things be. I was just venting my bafflement. We Singaporeans must stick together. Our own recommending our own is ok right? We look out for each other in our little island. Imagine if the table was turned and we were in their country doing the same.....quite scary right? Wishing all a very nice day ahead and Merry Christmas, hope the tide turns in the New Year. Chario.

PS: Sorry if I rocked a few chairs. 

If only you come here more and everyone know you

we can all vouch for you.

I come here everyday and post a lot so if I needed 

someone to vouch for me, there is no one here

that don't know me.

to me... the only issue would be if when hirer, recommender, new employee.. all come from the same country

If only you come here more and everyone know you

we can all vouch for you.

I come here everyday and post a lot so if I needed 

someone to vouch for me, there is no one here

that don't know me.

if want to recommend u .. also dunno how to fill in the ''gender'' column...  [laugh]

Edited by SuPerBoRed

Of the over 100 banks in SG your fren chose the Bank of India.

Is he Indian? If he is Indian and he is victimised then its not bcos of race.

If your fren is victimise bcos of race then tell him,

no matter how bad a job is, there is no job worse

than having no job.  [scholar]

Unknown quantity in the sense that no one in the company (or dept) is willing to vouch for you. You can have 20 years experience but that is all written down in a few sentences on a sheet of paper called your CV. Compared to someone with 5 years experience (I am presuming this is enough for the role) and someone else willing to vouch for him (if no good, I tok), which do you think is the less risky of the 2 for the hiring manager?

No point for me to go down to Sembawang also la.... I am still well acquainted with the people there involved in the Kaombo Sul and Norte project but as an ex-employee, I doubt I will even make it past the front gate. Anyway, my point is that this kind of kaki lang thing has been going on for ages and has nothing to do with FT or locals. I'm also surprised that you can work 20 years without encountering this before. Your working life must have been really smooth sailing until now.

Give him the benefit of the doubt la. Most people and companies will already check these things before interviewing a person (somemore he says he was shortlisted).

This is a load of nonsense la.

Why does a Singaporean need to be significantly better to be considered? For a job in Singapore, I would say that all else being equal, the Singaporean should always have priority. It is one thing to say we need to be meritocratic and another to say that we are disadvantaged because we need to serve NS. Govt needs to level the playing field here to take NS into account otherwise why should I serve NS as a Singaporean?

Sorry friend unless you are the one paying the salary of an employee, you will not be an idealist but practical.

If you insist that for a job in sg you would say that all else being equal the sgporean should always have priority. Go ask the employers and those currently looking for a job (quietly).

This is the ugly truth. If you don't want even to acknowledge the issue then how to solve those suffering from it.

By the way according to our government NS is a privilege.

Put our patriotic views aside and analyze the situation from a company's point of view. Put two columns, FT versus local their advantage and disadvantage of hiring them.

just for your info my Malaysian graduate from University 2 1/2 years earlier than me. They starter earning early then me and had the opportunity to be first movers. How do I feel? I may be different from you. I don't see them as Malaysians but see them instead as my friends and classmates. So no big deal for. From then on I acknowledge this and move on. It is the price or privilege of holding on to the red ic. Like it or not that is reality.

Of the over 100 banks in SG your fren chose the Bank of India.

Is he Indian? If he is Indian and he is victimised then its not bcos of race.

If your fren is victimise bcos of race then tell him,

no matter how bad a job is, there is no job worse

than having no job.  [scholar]

you misunderstood him..    what he meant was certain departments in certain banks are filled with indian nationals... same as certain call centres are filled with pinoys.. 

Edited by SuPerBoRed