NTUC Chief: More retrenchments coming

Ahtong

heard a story of last time a poor HR person had to go around the office giving ppl letters notifying them of their retrenchment and after running around giving the letters came back to her table and saw her own termination letter on her table. sibeh moody.

Like this? [laugh]

I don't think that performance upturned any downturns but it certainly scared off any wandering spirits within a 10 mile radius. [laugh]

yet? [laugh]

don't forget we have a dumbfark in this forum who thinks that there is no difference between PR and citizen. [rolleyes]

yah man...how BADder can that get [laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh]

yet? [laugh]

don't forget we have a dumbfark in this forum who thinks that there is no difference between PR and citizen. [rolleyes]

I think there is no difference between PR and citizen. in fact they are better of.

They can withdraw CPF whenever they want whereas we cannot

Like this? [laugh]

my hair actually stood up the 1 sec after i hit play. sibei scary... didnt managed to play for 3 secs....

Edited by Tom_kkh

Retrenchments in Singapore hit 7-year high; highest since 2009 financial crisis
  • Posted 13 Dec 2016 11:11
  •  
  • Updated 13 Dec 2016 11:20
workers-singapore-file.jpg
People crossing a street in Singapore's Central Business District. (File photo: Ngau Kai Yan)
  •  
  •  
    •  
    •  
      •  
      •  
        •  Email
        •  More
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

SINGAPORE: The number of workers laid off in Singapore hit a seven-year high in 2016 – the highest since the global financial crisis in 2009, figures released on Tuesday (Dec 13) by the Ministry of Manpower (MOM) showed.

A total of 13,730 workers were retrenched in the first nine months of this year, an increase from the 10,220 retrenched during the same period last year, according to the ministry’s labour market report.

However, 49 per cent of workers retrenched in the second quarter found re-employment, an increase from the 45 per cent in the previous quarter, the ministry said.

Total employment grew by 14,500 in the first nine months, the lowest such growth since 2009. During the third quarter, total employment shrank by 2,700 – the first decline in more than a year, MOM findings showed.

“The contraction in total employment, heightened redundancy levels and decline in job vacancies to unemployed ratio reflect the current subdued global economic conditions and ongoing economic restructuring,” the ministry said.

It added that tripartite partners will continue to help affected workers to look for new job opportunities. 

Retrenchments in Singapore hit 7-year high; highest since 2009 financial crisis
workers-singapore-file.jpg

SINGAPORE: The number of workers laid off in Singapore hit a seven-year high in 2016 – the highest since the global financial crisis in 2009, figures released on Tuesday (Dec 13) by the Ministry of Manpower (MOM) showed.

A total of 13,730 workers were retrenched in the first nine months of this year, an increase from the 10,220 retrenched during the same period last year, according to the ministry’s labour market report.

However, 49 per cent of workers retrenched in the second quarter found re-employment, an increase from the 45 per cent in the previous quarter, the ministry said.

Total employment grew by 14,500 in the first nine months, the lowest such growth since 2009. During the third quarter, total employment shrank by 2,700 – the first decline in more than a year, MOM findings showed.

“The contraction in total employment, heightened redundancy levels and decline in job vacancies to unemployed ratio reflect the current subdued global economic conditions and ongoing economic restructuring,” the ministry said.

It added that tripartite partners will continue to help affected workers to look for new job opportunities. 

the figure is actually much higher than reported.

most impacted are the PMETs where re-employments only devaluates or taking hits for redundancy, lower payroll and roles . . . .

tripartite partners can only be effectively helping the lower mass with very limited scalabilities

coming fresh graduates storming into a much scarcier employment pool....

I know its pointless to finger at these ntuc chiefs and their leaders since they ONLY know how to suck their citizens dry with higher expenses, administrtaive  summons/fines etc. while keeping their superscale salaries by wayangs all months and all year rounds.

Just recently went for an interview with Saipem, they are building 2 FPSOs' in Sembawang Shipyard. I was shortlisted along with another Indian National on "S" pass, much less experience and certification......guess who got the job? The Indian National on "S" pass, because of recommendation. I had my doubts that things like this were happening in Singapore, but after this personal experience all doubts are cleared. 

We give 2 years of our life to defend this Island and we are repaid with jobs for Aliens. Kah Pui.........what a load of rubbish. If MOM goes to the site office they will be shocked.....almost 90% of them are aliens and 60% of them Indians and Pinoys. Where are the Singaporeans?

MATILAH SINGAPURA.......

Just recently went for an interview with Saipem, they are building 2 FPSOs' in Sembawang Shipyard. I was shortlisted along with another Indian National on "S" pass, much less experience and certification......guess who got the job? The Indian National on "S" pass, because of recommendation. I had my doubts that things like this were happening in Singapore, but after this personal experience all doubts are cleared.

We give 2 years of our life to defend this Island and we are repaid with jobs for Aliens. Kah Pui.........what a load of rubbish. If MOM goes to the site office they will be shocked.....almost 90% of them are aliens and 60% of them Indians and Pinoys. Where are the Singaporeans?

MATILAH SINGAPURA.......

What do u mean because of recommendation?

People on the inside bro, their Country man. Their own kind pushing their resume thru. What is MOM doing approving "S" passes without asking the potential employer if a local is ably qualified to carry out the work. Haiz talk and talk mah boh yong........given up.