Jman888 Moderator November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 What would be the charge on these two bullies? Screams of pain didn't stop men from punching bus driver Mon, Nov 21, 2011 The New Paper Bus captain John Achin re-enacting how he fended off the blows from two men who hurled beer bottles at the bus he was driving. (Inset) One of the beer bottles stuck in the windscreen. The double-decker bus had holes on its windscreen and two large web-like cracks across the tempered glass. The glass panel of the front door lay in a heap of shards and fragments on the ground. Pieces of glass fragments littered the driver's console. But the bus had not been in a road accident. It had been the target of two bullies who had deliberately attacked it. They battered the bus with their fists, then hurled beer bottles at it before smashing the glass door panel into smithereens with a beer crate. That wasn't all. After their destruction, they forced their way through the smashed door into the bus and pummelled the driver as about 20 passengers cowered in fear and screamed in horror. The road rage incident occurred at around 11pm last Wednesday when the bus captain of Service 87 saw a lorry blocking a bus stop at Hougang Avenue 3, near Block 106. Mr John Achin, 35, said he had earlier left Bedok Interchange and was heading towards Sengkang Interchange. "There were three passengers who wanted to alight, and some people at the bus-stop had also flagged down the bus," he told The New Paper. "But a white lorry parked at the bus stop was preventing buses from entering the bus bay. I tapped the horn once to alert the lorry driver and waited for him to move off." Instead of moving his vehicle, the lorry driver came out and gestured his arm angrily at Mr Achin. He beckoned at Mr Achin to get down from the five-month-old Volvo double-decker. When Mr Achin remained in his console, the lorry driver approached the bus and launched into an angry tirade, shouting and pounding his fists on the windscreen and the driver's window. "I was worried and activated the emergency button to alert the Operations Control Centre to the situation," Mr Achin said. He then saw the lorry driver storm off towards a nearby coffee shop. But his ordeal wasn't over. In fact, it had barely begun. The lorry driver suddenly reappeared with a crate of empty beer bottles. Said Mr Achin: "He was carrying it with both arms and threw the crate to the ground in front of the bus. I hurriedly got out of my driver's console. I knew there was trouble ahead. "He grabbed the beer bottles and started throwing them at the windscreen." The tempered glass began to give way from the impact. A beer bottle even got stuck in one of the holes on the windscreen. The passengers screamed. Those sitting near the front and waiting to alight fled to the rear of the bus where they huddled together. Mr Achin said there were about 20 passengers on board at the time. One woman in her 20s started to cry. To make matters worse, another man joined the lorry driver in hurling beer bottles at the windscreen, further distressing the passengers. Said Mr Achin: "I asked the passengers to remain calm, but they were very frightened. "A few passengers wanted me to open the door and let them alight, but I did not want to risk the safety of the passengers. It was possible that the attackers could hurt us." The two attackers soon ran out of beer bottles, but that didn't deter them. They were bent on getting into the bus and the beer crate became their next weapon of choice. Said Mr Achin: "The lorry driver grabbed the empty crate and used it to ram the front door. The other man helped him. They kept hitting the door until the glass cracked and broke." Mr Achin stood near the door and pleaded with the men to stop but they continued yelling at him while battering the door. Finally they succeeded in smashing the glass. Mr Achin beseeched the men not to enter the bus, but they ignored him and climbed in, one after the other, under the metal bar across the door. "They came right at me and started punching me," said Mr Achin, who tried to ward off their blows by shielding his face with his arms. He fell onto the long seat near the stairs, where the men continued to pummel him. Said Mr Achin: "I kept crying out 'stop' and 'sakit' (pain in Malay), but they kept punching me." The attack lasted several minutes, before the two police officers arrived and went up the bus to stop them. Said Mr Achin: "Even when the police officers were holding them back, the two men still tried to hit me." The police said they received a call for help regarding a dispute at the bus stop at about 11pm. The bus captain suffered minor injuries and was sent to Tan Tock Seng Hospital for treatment. Two men, aged 40 and 45, were arrested. Mr Achin, who sustained injuries on the left side of his face, right chest area and right leg, was given three days of medical leave. When The New Paper saw the bus at the Hougang depot, all that remained of the front glass door panel was a heap of bits and pieces of glass. The captain, who lives in Johor Baru with his wife and daughter, eight, and son, four, said: "I usually reach home at 1.30am after my shift ends, but that night, I got home at nearly 4am. My wife cried when I told her what happened. "I was just trying to do my job when these two men attacked me." Ms Tammy Tan, the senior vice-president of corporate communications for SBS Transit, said: "The attack on our bus captain and our bus was a mindless act of road rage. "Thankfully, our bus captain was not too seriously injured and none of our passengers was physically harmed. "The mental trauma that our captain and passengers suffered is, however, something that cannot be erased. We hope the assailants are brought to justice." Last year, SBS Transit recorded 27 cases of assault on bus captains while there have been 21 cases so far this year. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 nothing will happen to attacker lah.. polis will tell them find lawyer if want to pursue Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 Hope the law come down on these 2 f**kers heavily.. It's obvious that they're in the wrong, yet dare to chut this kinda stunts.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 Damn! poor driver! poor passengers! the lorry driver sounds like he has some temper control issues....glad he got pinched Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 nothing will happen to attacker lah.. polis will tell them find lawyer if want to pursue If i'm not wrong, there has been a few prosecuted road rage cases.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 nothing will happen to attacker lah.. polis will tell them find lawyer if want to pursue they damaged the bus so........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kspchew 2nd Gear November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 What would be the charge on these two bullies? Screams of pain didn't stop men from punching bus driver Mon, Nov 21, 2011 The New Paper Bus captain John Achin re-enacting how he fended off the blows from two men who hurled beer bottles at the bus he was driving. (Inset) One of the beer bottles stuck in the windscreen. The double-decker bus had holes on its windscreen and two large web-like cracks across the tempered glass. The glass panel of the front door lay in a heap of shards and fragments on the ground. Pieces of glass fragments littered the driver's console. But the bus had not been in a road accident. It had been the target of two bullies who had deliberately attacked it. They battered the bus with their fists, then hurled beer bottles at it before smashing the glass door panel into smithereens with a beer crate. That wasn't all. After their destruction, they forced their way through the smashed door into the bus and pummelled the driver as about 20 passengers cowered in fear and screamed in horror. The road rage incident occurred at around 11pm last Wednesday when the bus captain of Service 87 saw a lorry blocking a bus stop at Hougang Avenue 3, near Block 106. Mr John Achin, 35, said he had earlier left Bedok Interchange and was heading towards Sengkang Interchange. "There were three passengers who wanted to alight, and some people at the bus-stop had also flagged down the bus," he told The New Paper. "But a white lorry parked at the bus stop was preventing buses from entering the bus bay. I tapped the horn once to alert the lorry driver and waited for him to move off." Instead of moving his vehicle, the lorry driver came out and gestured his arm angrily at Mr Achin. He beckoned at Mr Achin to get down from the five-month-old Volvo double-decker. When Mr Achin remained in his console, the lorry driver approached the bus and launched into an angry tirade, shouting and pounding his fists on the windscreen and the driver's window. "I was worried and activated the emergency button to alert the Operations Control Centre to the situation," Mr Achin said. He then saw the lorry driver storm off towards a nearby coffee shop. But his ordeal wasn't over. In fact, it had barely begun. The lorry driver suddenly reappeared with a crate of empty beer bottles. Said Mr Achin: "He was carrying it with both arms and threw the crate to the ground in front of the bus. I hurriedly got out of my driver's console. I knew there was trouble ahead. "He grabbed the beer bottles and started throwing them at the windscreen." The tempered glass began to give way from the impact. A beer bottle even got stuck in one of the holes on the windscreen. The passengers screamed. Those sitting near the front and waiting to alight fled to the rear of the bus where they huddled together. Mr Achin said there were about 20 passengers on board at the time. One woman in her 20s started to cry. To make matters worse, another man joined the lorry driver in hurling beer bottles at the windscreen, further distressing the passengers. Said Mr Achin: "I asked the passengers to remain calm, but they were very frightened. "A few passengers wanted me to open the door and let them alight, but I did not want to risk the safety of the passengers. It was possible that the attackers could hurt us." The two attackers soon ran out of beer bottles, but that didn't deter them. They were bent on getting into the bus and the beer crate became their next weapon of choice. Said Mr Achin: "The lorry driver grabbed the empty crate and used it to ram the front door. The other man helped him. They kept hitting the door until the glass cracked and broke." Mr Achin stood near the door and pleaded with the men to stop but they continued yelling at him while battering the door. Finally they succeeded in smashing the glass. Mr Achin beseeched the men not to enter the bus, but they ignored him and climbed in, one after the other, under the metal bar across the door. "They came right at me and started punching me," said Mr Achin, who tried to ward off their blows by shielding his face with his arms. He fell onto the long seat near the stairs, where the men continued to pummel him. Said Mr Achin: "I kept crying out 'stop' and 'sakit' (pain in Malay), but they kept punching me." The attack lasted several minutes, before the two police officers arrived and went up the bus to stop them. Said Mr Achin: "Even when the police officers were holding them back, the two men still tried to hit me." The police said they received a call for help regarding a dispute at the bus stop at about 11pm. The bus captain suffered minor injuries and was sent to Tan Tock Seng Hospital for treatment. Two men, aged 40 and 45, were arrested. Mr Achin, who sustained injuries on the left side of his face, right chest area and right leg, was given three days of medical leave. When The New Paper saw the bus at the Hougang depot, all that remained of the front glass door panel was a heap of bits and pieces of glass. The captain, who lives in Johor Baru with his wife and daughter, eight, and son, four, said: "I usually reach home at 1.30am after my shift ends, but that night, I got home at nearly 4am. My wife cried when I told her what happened. "I was just trying to do my job when these two men attacked me." Ms Tammy Tan, the senior vice-president of corporate communications for SBS Transit, said: "The attack on our bus captain and our bus was a mindless act of road rage. "Thankfully, our bus captain was not too seriously injured and none of our passengers was physically harmed. "The mental trauma that our captain and passengers suffered is, however, something that cannot be erased. We hope the assailants are brought to justice." Last year, SBS Transit recorded 27 cases of assault on bus captains while there have been 21 cases so far this year. FT involved? Only FT describe above is the bus driver. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 Probably nothing major because the bus captain was not seriously injured. The $$$ they need to pay the bus company might be more serious. On the other note, I always find it quite difficult to believe that there was no provocation for such act of violent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 If i'm not wrong, there has been a few prosecuted road rage cases.. dunno wat wrong w society these days......seems like more ppl short fuse nia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 Probably nothing major because the bus captain was not seriously injured. The $$ they need to pay the bus company might be more serious. On the other note, I always find it quite difficult to believe that there was no provocation for such act of violent. bus is public prop? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 22, 2011 Author Share November 22, 2011 nothing will happen to attacker lah.. polis will tell them find lawyer if want to pursue its not the driver that they are concern about, its the damage bus, and SBS got money [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 its not the driver that they are concern about, its the damage bus, and SBS got money yah lor a 5 month old Volvo bus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 22, 2011 Author Share November 22, 2011 Probably nothing major because the bus captain was not seriously injured. The $$$ they need to pay the bus company might be more serious. On the other note, I always find it quite difficult to believe that there was no provocation for such act of violent. at least for bear, if you dun move, they won't attack right? most likely they were half drunk! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 Probably nothing major because the bus captain was not seriously injured. The $$$ they need to pay the bus company might be more serious. On the other note, I always find it quite difficult to believe that there was no provocation for such act of violent. agree. Something must have triggered the berserker mode in the two lowlee chaps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 john achin ... eurasian? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 bus is public prop? dunch think so but they will receive a claim gao-gao from SBS legal department. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 What if the 2 lowlee chaps are bankrupts? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged November 22, 2011 Share November 22, 2011 at least for bear, if you dun move, they won't attack right? most likely they were half drunk! 2 stupid fella deserves sometime in the slammer. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...