Facing a property dilemma

Adrianli

Will u sell???  

50 members have voted

1. 1. Will u sell???

• Yes
    • No

On 9/8/2014 at 3:43 AM, Adrianli said:

After seeing that thread on the tussle, reminds me of my own thread here.

Update.

My fren and his siblings are in a legal tussle of how much share each should get. So he still staying in the house. Think he wana let it drag on and on and on. [sweatdrop]

Sorry to say but your friend really buay zi dong.

If his parents intended the house be shared among the siblings, then what gives him the right to claim the whole thing as his and stay there all alone? It is unfair to his other brothers and sisters - if the parents had intended for the house not be sold then they would have put it in their will.

On 9/8/2014 at 4:48 AM, Kusje said:

If his parents intended the house be shared among the siblings, then what gives him the right to claim the whole thing as his and stay there all alone? It is unfair to his other brothers and sisters - if the parents had intended for the house not be sold then they would have put it in their will.

Last time, old ppl no will leh. I think his parents were dead in the 70's leh. Anyway, he say gona sell but now disputing abt the share of the property.

Update.

My fren and his siblings are in a legal tussle of how much share each should get. So he still staying in the house. Think he wana let it drag on and on and on. [sweatdrop]

hmmm...is this the place near one of the major telcos der? prev a hotel?....ok not confirmed...hahha jus saw an earlier post

Nope... disagree

If his parents intended the house be shared among the siblings, then what gives him the right to claim the whole thing as his and stay there all alone?

从小长大的地方..... 是我也不肯卖...

It is unfair to his other brothers and sisters - if the parents had intended for the house not be sold then they would have put it in their will.

My assertion is that the other bro/sis dont need the $$ from sales proceeds... juz want to $$ for other purposes.

In short... its a rich man's game.. you never know the real intentions behind.. its really not so simple

Kudos to bro ad's friend.. 念旧

On 9/8/2014 at 4:52 AM, RadX said:

hmmm...is this the place near one of the major telcos der? prev a hotel?....ok not confirmed...hahha jus saw an earlier post

Nope.

On 9/8/2014 at 4:51 AM, Adrianli said:

Last time, old ppl no will leh. I think his parents were dead in the 70's leh. Anyway, he say gona sell but now disputing abt the share of the property.

No will then how to dispute the share? You mean it doesn't fall under one of this standards?

http://statutes.agc.gov.sg/aol/search/display/view.w3p;page=0;query=DocId%3A9ce463a4-f756-40c3-8503-9de6a25884c0%20%20Status%3Ainforce%20Depth%3A0;rec=0

Anyway, when you first posted, your friend was supposedly thinking of keeping the property as a remembrance to his parents but turns out it is all about the money. Like I said, he must be fair to the siblings. If his parents passed away in the 70s that means he has been staying there rent free (for the siblings' share) for 40 years already.

Please advise your friend not to be so selfish.

On 9/8/2014 at 4:56 AM, SuPerBoRed said:

My assertion is that the other bro/sis dont need the $$ from sales proceeds... juz want to $$ for other purposes.

In short... its a rich man's game.. you never know the real intentions behind.. its really not so simple

Kudos to bro ad's friend.. 念旧

Need or want isn't for his friend to decide. The house belongs to all of them and not just one person.

Anyway, now his friend is willing to sell but is disputing the share so it seems that it is about money and not the "feeling".

On 9/8/2014 at 5:03 AM, Kusje said:

No will then how to dispute the share? You mean it doesn't fall under one of this standards?

http://statutes.agc.gov.sg/aol/search/display/view.w3p;page=0;query=DocId%3A9ce463a4-f756-40c3-8503-9de6a25884c0%20%20Status%3Ainforce%20Depth%3A0;rec=0

Anyway, when you first posted, your friend was supposedly thinking of keeping the property as a remembrance to his parents but turns out it is all about the money. Like I said, he must be fair to the siblings. If his parents passed away in the 70s that means he has been staying there rent free (for the siblings' share) for 40 years already.

Please advise your friend not to be so selfish.

I dont think he is after any money. More of dragging the case on and on so he can remain staying there as I see it. That is what I see from an outsider point of view. Being so old liao, in his 60's, he will not want to move away from the area.

hmm.. as per TS mentioned, the friend parents went thru a hard time to achieve that plot of land.. sentimental values in which the nephew/neice may not have been able to witness and thus understand..

afterall, it seems like majority is against the sale of the property.. so i don't feel the friend is buay zi dong.. instead, I feel is the nephew/niece that is buay zi dong..

P.S: I saw a forummer posts and surprised~ 2 years back his advices are jin solid and so much less sarcastic sia!

Edited by Knoobie

Update.

this case reminds us to set up a proper will and instructions for our own asset distribution to our desendents.

DON'T DIE WITHOUT A WILL, UNLESS YOU WANT YOUR FAMILY TO BREAK UP.

On 9/8/2014 at 8:22 AM, Donut said:

this case reminds us to set up a proper will and instructions for our own asset distribution to our desendents.

DON'T DIE WITHOUT A WILL, UNLESS YOU WANT YOUR FAMILY TO BREAK UP.

or unless you're in hell lot of debts! [laugh]

On 9/8/2014 at 9:11 AM, Knoobie said:

or unless you're in hell lot of debts! [laugh]

oh yes, u r right for some ppl.

surviving family will spit on the coffin