Facing a property dilemma

Adrianli

Will u sell???  

50 members have voted

1. 1. Will u sell???

• Yes
    • No

Judging by the number of replies generated by TS' post within one day, property seems to be friggin hot still.

So don't buy yet.

And yes, your friend should sell. If not now, then when? When property ceases to be popular?

Edited by Viceroymenthol

sell and downgrade to resale HDB, got more than 1m to spare.

sell and downgrade to condo, got around 1m also to spare.

assuming the sale price is around 15m/7

why dont sell? at least he will have extra cash on hand

Last time i watched a local drama on TV, there was a similar case. In the show it was said that there are some laws here in SG that if the owners do not stay in the property and do not care about it (ie, don't maintain it) for a long period like double-digit number of years, it is as good as abandoning it. And whoever can show proof (receipts, etc) that he has taken care of the property, then he can legally claim ownership.

It's a TV show, but there might be some truth in it. Your friend should seek legal advise.

Thats a good idea. Will let him know of this option.

then i would say his sibling already very good liao.... he is staying there for free... naturally he has to pay for all these....

now price is good. of course ppl would be tempted to sell....

the important question is...... property under who's name?

I dont know the property under whose name. He headache cos he already received the lawyer letter from his siblings. I will just let him know the advises mentioned here. Let him decide for himself. I dont want to meddle with his family matters. Just to share it over here.

If he sell the property, he will need to find a new place leh. So I dont think he can pocket everything. And with the new HDB rules, I think he cant get any flat immediately. More of his mindset, after so long living in landed, he has to move to a pigeon hole. Not sure if he can take it.

He can get a HDB resale flat....

the amount he gonna get is even able to get him an EC or a Condo...

it all depends on his mindset...

i thought recession coming

apparently it is not true

Students help potential buyers queue for Bedok Residences unit

Posted: 21 November 2011 2057 hrs

SINGAPORE: Units at a new property launch go on sale on Wednesday and already some 500 people are in the queue.

And about 100 of them are students.

Most of the students said they are helping family or friends queue for a spot in Bedok Residences, a development coming up at Bedok New Town.

Interested buyers must get a queue number, and the students said they are being paid about S$10 an hour to do the job.

Residents in the area said some of them have been there since 10:00 pm on Sunday.

Bedok Residences will have 583 units and is part of a 15-storey integrated development consisting of residential units, a shopping mall and a transportation hub.

The development is by CapitaLand Residential Singapore and CapitaMalls Asia.

Ya drove by there yesterday...

crazy....

and all the talk about the uncertainty next year....

it shows that they are right to say SG ppl are rich...

Now would be a good time to sell - many think the market fall next year.

When it comes to family, I would just sell to maintain the harmony. Fight a long and expensive court case who will benefit in the end? (other than the lawyers)

Your friend win, gets to stay for longer (but will still have to sell at some stage), your friend lose he have to sell and move on.

Just sell now, the money made is more than enough to buy another nice place to live in - family harmony is maintained and everybody good to go.

If attached to the memories - always remember that will always have those, memories live in your mind, not in a house.

Also think about what sort of memories your friend will have if he tears apart the family to keep the house. What will the house mean to him then?

The chinese tradition... or rather immigrant chinese tradition... we would like to have a house for the family to pass from 1 generation to another..

Usually the eldest son will get the responsibility. Later when his time is due.. how to face his parent up there?

Selling is easy. But to buy back... almost impossible in Singapore now.

The now generation... only cares about themselves. [:(]

If he sell the property, he will need to find a new place leh. So I dont think he can pocket everything. And with the new HDB rules, I think he cant get any flat immediately. More of his mindset, after so long living in landed, he has to move to a pigeon hole. Not sure if he can take it.

aiyo, got $2-$3M fall from the sky onto his lap still wan to queue up and ask gahmen to give new hdb flat meh? :wacko::wacko:

The chinese tradition... or rather immigrant chinese tradition... we would like to have a house for the family to pass from 1 generation to another..

Usually the eldest son will get the responsibility. Later when his time is due.. how to face his parent up there?

Yeah, thatz my fren's mentality too. Hope he has a peaceful ending. Dont wana see it being splashed on the papers one of these days. [dead]

Before you fly back, go to Islandglade to ta pao char kuayteow with ham for me. ok?

[laugh] Have a good trip.

Is that in a old rundown Hawker centre ? I think I eat before.

I normally go Mcallistor road for my Lor Bak and Char Kuay Teow and Green sour drink called Ambra.... ???

4122077[/url]']

We just have to get real with times...But, going on the point of Chinese tradition, the eldest should inherit the house... If so, we wont have this discussion then!!Cheers...

Yup, he is living there for free. But he is the only one paying for the upkeeping(water, electric, adhoc repairs, property tax, etc) of the property. His siblings have not helped him pay at all.

Your friend is treating his siblings unfairly and sacrificing family ties with his own personal ideals.

Imagine if you and your brother own a condo and each holds a 50% share.

Just because he pays the property tax and maintenance of it, do you think it is fair to you if he occupies the whole condo like its his own?

When you want to cash out, he comes and tell you that you have no right to do it. Reason being he has been staying for free there all these while and also taking care of the condo. How would u feel? [furious] right?