Going into JB? READ THIS !

Ethene

Hi guys, i got many info and help from here and i just wanna do my fair share to let you guys what just happened to me this morning when i go into JB for my regular car servicing.

As tomorrow, 22 nov 2011 is a public holiday in JB, my workshop do not have enough man power so i booked the earliest appointment and was rushing down from home. I set off at about 9am hastily and when i cleared the immigration area, i saw the officers checking the fuel guage on EVERY car. I looked at my fuel guage and HK... it was 1/4 only. Totally forgotten about it and thought that's it for me, and i was thinking of trying to say i wanna u-turn back. Fortunately, there is a Wish infront of me and he was pulled over after the officer checked his fuel guage. So starting from me onwards, there is no one checking and i just passed. bloody lucky and got the buy 4D feeling already... BUT WAIT.....

Drove into M'sia and cleared the immigration. As i was just about to exit the area, M'sia side also doing check. But i saw them randomnly stopping certain cars. I was stopped eventually and this young punk in uniform ask me open all my door and boot. He saw i had a portable desktop speaker in a box and asked me to open. I bought the speaker 2 days ago from Sim lim square and it was faulty, so my plan was to bring it along, and i can drive straight to SLS for an exchange right after my car servicing. It doesn't make sense for me to go all the way back home to take the speaker and then turn to SLS again i thought. So this young officer say cannot bring in. It is a taxable item. I just keep quiet. Then he started asking me off topic qns like:

1. Is your car stock? (Was driving an old school SiR)

2. Where i get my bucket seat

3. where i upgrade my brake

4. how much power my car has

5. What suspension am i on....

WTF man. I was thinking wad the hell he trying to do. Then, came another guy in civilian clothing, apparently the In-charge there. He gave me a jiao bin and the young officer told him about my speaker. He start to look at my car again and this time he spotted that my car don't have the SG road tax paper. OMG suay like F because i was doing a full car wash and removed the label and most probably left it at home. So i told him the whole story but he refuse to listen and ask me to go sit at a table. Here's the short conversation write up:

In-charge : You know you cannot bring in speaker ? I will fine you. it is taxable.

Me : Sorry sir, give chance la i seldom come in and this is a spoilt speaker (and i tell him my whole intention)

In-charge (ignored me and interrupt me) : I don't care what you say, you think we malaysia can anyhow la? In singapore you scared, don't even dare to throw a piece of paper, but you think you come in you can anyhow with us la?

Me : No sir ! I was really going to service my car you don't believe you call my workshop now ask.

In-charge : How i know? ha? you bringing your car go inside sell illegally right!

Me : No no no... Why would i do that? Sir just give chance I seldom go in JB. you can check my records. I got no offence.

In-charge : (pressing a calculator anyhow) you see min i can fine u $200 already. 20 times is $4000. (then he open a book with all the carbon copies of the past fine and show me. I saw some $600 fine some $1000 fine)

Me : Sir give chance, this one my first time kenna.

In-charge : ok you tell me how much u have ?

Me : (scared he will check me so i told the truth) I only have SG$200. really.

In-charge : Ok you service car how much you tell me ? you tell me ?

Me : (dunno if it was a trick qns and i anyhow bom a amt) I think $100 la sir.

In-charge : Ok i fine u the remaining SG$100.

Me : ok ok thank you sir. ( didnt wanna argue anymore)

Then suddenly his jiao bin gone and become like very nice and ask me go to a small room pay. I was issued a receipt and they just took my SG$100. (Later i will post a pic). I said thank you sir and faster zao. He replied don't do it again.

So guys just take note when you going in JB anytime now! I personally really not sure of what's taxable and what's not so i'll treat this as a school fee. Basket, should had just said i only have $50. They seriously anyhow fine one. Now in JB dunno later go back SG will tio again or not... zzz.. update you guys again. Great morning everyone.

[mad][mad]

Edited by Ethene

u shd not pay him a single cent...all car comes with speaker...so every car also tio fine? tell him u r going to lodge a police report at nearby police station. take down his ID...

u r just too careless to give him money to fine u on the stupid speaker? OMG

u shd not pay him a single cent...all car comes with speaker...so every car also tio fine? tell him u r going to lodge a police report at nearby police station. take down his ID...

u r just too careless to give him money to fine u on the stupid speaker? OMG

It is a portable desktop speaker and he said all is taxable. Even small bottle of oil i bring in for servicing also must declare. WTF. I definitely in losing end because i lack of the knowledge in this area and don't dare to chiong with him.

He say either i pay fine or arrest me. knn...

NOW that you mentioned it. FK ! you are right all car comes with speaker. #(&()$@)$#%

Edited by Ethene

I kena once before at JB kastams.. the motherfarker wanted to tax me for some strobe lights I had in the car (still in box). I told him it's for personal use and not for sale and he refused to believe me. So I told him that he can confiscate the lights if he wanted, I'm not going to pay tax for personal items. He LL let me go, together with the lights as well.

TS should have just asked the kastams to confiscate the speakers instead. I'm sure the speakers don't cost more than the RM100 fine.

I kena once before at JB kastams.. the motherfarker wanted to tax me for some strobe lights I had in the car (still in box). I told him it's for personal use and not for sale and he refused to believe me. So I told him that he can confiscate the lights if he wanted, I'm not going to pay tax for personal items. He LL let me go, together with the lights as well.

TS should have just asked the kastams to confiscate the speakers instead. I'm sure the speakers don't cost more than the RM100 fine.

thought of that but unfortunately it cost me $300. zzz

Any electrical items whether faulty or not have to be declared if its in its original box. MY Officer not at fault. Usually sees them picking on cars that is heavily modded with loud noisy exhaust (maybe they know these chaps are richer).

100 SGD fine is indeed cheap. Non declared goods are usually either disposed on the spot with a fine of 1k - 2k RM.

electronic product is not taxable la bro.....u can tell him u use the desktop speaker as ur car speaker wat...is non of his business if u dun use it and put else where....i suggest u lodge a report in malaysia since u got the fine slip rite? sue them upside down.....

I need to confirm the rule and regulations on this first before i lodge report... which is why i post here..

Don't wait i LPPL myself....

thought of that but unfortunately it cost me $300. zzz

Wah.. then like that bo pian liao la bro.. should have just left the speakers at home. Personally I never bring taxable items into JB. My case was unintended as I totally forgot about the lights and they spotted it under my seat [laugh]