Jonjees 1st Gear November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 Since there's quite a fair bit of talk on this topic, is there anyway to check with these online companies if there is anything that may void the insurance from the start? My Situation: Honest first time carbuyer, buy 3rd hand "Medium risk" car: Suzuki Swift. (Fairly high accident/mod rate) As far as I know, seller say no mods, workshop says nothing out of the ordinary (even rims are original). I get quotes from mainstream companies like NTUC, Tokio, MSIG and of course DA. Assuming DA is cheapest. I wish to ask them if my car "is free from any modification". Can I ask them to direct me to an authorized workshop and get them to certify? Also, assuming I am married, I have driven the car without incident for a year now under DA, but my company is posting me overseas for a year, and I have my wife as a named driver. She drives it to work regularly since Jan, and in March there is an accident. Coverage was based on a Jan-Jan cycle. Based on this year alone, my wife has driven it more than me but the car is under my name as per LTA's records. And as per DA's records I have already driven it under their coverage for a year. Can they void it as well? Policy was car for work use, me as main driver, wife as named driver. comprehensive third party or equivalent, authorized workshop plan. Hope someone can give insights, or if DA or any other insurer can clarify on this. Dont need to clarify, if your wife has an accident, it is void ~! Best is to stick with the bigger insurance companies for piece of mind. These other insurances are just way too sneaky with their coverages and clauses ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keenblade Clutched November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 engrish and lieing, yup you just hit the nail on the head. Why you cannot type in correct english? It is a really simple language no? How is this possible for you? eh.... if you see the rest of his reply, his England is actually pretty good. I would assume it's intentional lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keenblade Clutched November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 Dont need to clarify, if your wife has an accident, it is void ~! Best is to stick with the bigger insurance companies for piece of mind. These other insurances are just way too sneaky with their coverages and clauses Hmm... quite scared then. Now still with Tokio Marine, think I'll do more research before renewing or jumping to a cheaper alternative lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 engrish and lieing, yup you just hit the nail on the head. Why you cannot type in correct english? It is a really simple language no? How is this possible for you? If the couple wanted to lie intentionally for fronting, would the wife then not know how to answer a simple question like who uses the car most often? It is one thing to be lying and cheating, another thing to be ignorance. So which is which here? Well after this case, we will now ALL know and we can cheat better. DA FTW~! bleh Prob is when they are bent on knowing the "truth". There is no running away when they drill and ask for evidence and proof that you are indeed using your car for leisure and not work and that you are not fronting whatsoever. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 Prob is when they are bent on knowing the "truth". There is no running away when they drill and ask for evidence and proof that you are indeed using your car for leisure and not work and that you are not fronting whatsoever. i feel since the insurance company has accepted to insure... the onus is on them to prove fronting rather than the insured proving he/she is not fronting Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 eh.... if you see the rest of his reply, his England is actually pretty good. I would assume it's intentional lol I guess my engrish sperring knot powderful enuf. Yep it were intentional in the extreme. But sometimes my spelling do let me down quite notoriously - I is not very de perfection. :D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 Since there's quite a fair bit of talk on this topic, is there anyway to check with these online companies if there is anything that may void the insurance from the start? My Situation: Honest first time carbuyer, buy 3rd hand "Medium risk" car: Suzuki Swift. (Fairly high accident/mod rate) As far as I know, seller say no mods, workshop says nothing out of the ordinary (even rims are original). I get quotes from mainstream companies like NTUC, Tokio, MSIG and of course DA. Assuming DA is cheapest. I wish to ask them if my car "is free from any modification". Can I ask them to direct me to an authorized workshop and get them to certify? Also, assuming I am married, I have driven the car without incident for a year now under DA, but my company is posting me overseas for a year, and I have my wife as a named driver. She drives it to work regularly since Jan, and in March there is an accident. Coverage was based on a Jan-Jan cycle. Based on this year alone, my wife has driven it more than me but the car is under my name as per LTA's records. And as per DA's records I have already driven it under their coverage for a year. Can they void it as well? Policy was car for work use, me as main driver, wife as named driver. comprehensive third party or equivalent, authorized workshop plan. Hope someone can give insights, or if DA or any other insurer can clarify on this. Based on DA explanation, u need to inform about change of main driver from u to ur wife. Once informed & accepted by DA would be safe from being void. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 Since there's quite a fair bit of talk on this topic, is there anyway to check with these online companies if there is anything that may void the insurance from the start? My Situation: Honest first time carbuyer, buy 3rd hand "Medium risk" car: Suzuki Swift. (Fairly high accident/mod rate) As far as I know, seller say no mods, workshop says nothing out of the ordinary (even rims are original). I get quotes from mainstream companies like NTUC, Tokio, MSIG and of course DA. Assuming DA is cheapest. I wish to ask them if my car "is free from any modification". Can I ask them to direct me to an authorized workshop and get them to certify? Also, assuming I am married, I have driven the car without incident for a year now under DA, but my company is posting me overseas for a year, and I have my wife as a named driver. She drives it to work regularly since Jan, and in March there is an accident. Coverage was based on a Jan-Jan cycle. Based on this year alone, my wife has driven it more than me but the car is under my name as per LTA's records. And as per DA's records I have already driven it under their coverage for a year. Can they void it as well? Policy was car for work use, me as main driver, wife as named driver. comprehensive third party or equivalent, authorized workshop plan. Hope someone can give insights, or if DA or any other insurer can clarify on this. when time to renew, you are suppose to update the particular and if you are not the main driver, then change it to your wife name for their approval, if they access her to be higher risk then pay higher premium. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 Based on DA explanation, u need to inform about change of main driver from u to ur wife. Once informed & accepted by DA would be safe from being void. the renewal although like automatic, you need to update the particular as well if any changes. I believe although other insurance company may renew your policy automatically if you do not declare changes, if any thing happen they will tell you that you should inform of these change cos the renewal was based on the assumption that all remain status quo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 engrish and lieing, yup you just hit the nail on the head. Why you cannot type in correct english? It is a really simple language no? How is this possible for you? If the couple wanted to lie intentionally for fronting, would the wife then not know how to answer a simple question like who uses the car most often? It is one thing to be lying and cheating, another thing to be ignorance. So which is which here? Well after this case, we will now ALL know and we can cheat better. DA FTW~! bleh ignorance is not protected if she were to ask for quote DA will not accept her in the first place Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 Obviously you are a DA lackey. Perhaps 1 day you will buy medical insurance and only to find that they void it because you did not declare that you have sex more than 7 times in a week and not always at home. Because DA is doing exactly that, screwing people up. They had every option to get that couple the correct coverage, make them do a top up even. But obviously voiding is easier. Not doing that just encourages lying. After this case, do you think "fronting" is easier detected huh? Now we all know what to say if actually fronting ~!!! Also if the couple is intentionally fronting, would the wife be so stupid to say that she drives the car most often? So clearly it was not intentional. Anyway I think the really loser here is DA. BAD PR here, including actually 'educating' users on how to avoid 'fronting detection plus now we know they take the easiest way out, which is totally not customer oriented. if you can remain calm and remember how to lie after the accident, or you must remember to tell your wife to lie after she got a shock of her life in the accident. Then by all mean i think two of them can pass the test [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XenonWhite 1st Gear November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 At the end of the day, i guess buying car insurance is like buying a car.. All car "can go" from Point A to Point B, some are faster, some more comfortable, some more risky, some with more breakdown etc... Don't u guys think so?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 the renewal although like automatic, you need to update the particular as well if any changes. I believe although other insurance company may renew your policy automatically if you do not declare changes, if any thing happen they will tell you that you should inform of these change cos the renewal was based on the assumption that all remain status quo. When I last did renewal was not automatic - I still had to refill the one page declaration thingy (I am with MSIG) - this was my third year with them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keenblade Clutched November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 Based on DA explanation, u need to inform about change of main driver from u to ur wife. Once informed & accepted by DA would be safe from being void. Hmm... but if the policy coverage changes from myself to my wife since she is now the main driver, won't that give them the right to void my NCD since it's no longer continuous coverage under the same name? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 When I last did renewal was not automatic - I still had to refill the one page declaration thingy (I am with MSIG) - this was my third year with them. some which i receive the renewal letter, with the invoice of $$$ (like 30% more than other) ask to send back a signed copy and attached with a cheque!! no one call and explain the clause again in case in forget what i declare Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 (edited) Hmm... but if the policy coverage changes from myself to my wife since she is now the main driver, won't that give them the right to void my NCD since it's no longer continuous coverage under the same name? your NCD can keep for one year. If you die die must remain as main driver to safe guard your NCD, declare in full and pay more thats all. Edited November 23, 2011 by Jman888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 Aiya, no point arguing lah. The pro-DA supporters tink they're getting a smart deal despite what has been said and demonstrated. Juz remember, you always get what u pay for and dun come in here and cry farder marder like many others if ever kena the same situation. Caveat emptor. For the rest of us, we may (or may not) pay more but at least we're buying a peace of mind. Heck, isn't that what insurance is about in the first place? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 23, 2011 Share November 23, 2011 Aiya, no point arguing lah. The pro-DA supporters tink they're getting a smart deal despite what has been said and demonstrated. Juz remember, you always get what u pay for and dun come in here and cry farder marder like many others if ever kena the same situation. Caveat emptor. For the rest of us, we may (or may not) pay more but at least we're buying a peace of mind. Heck, isn't that what insurance is about in the first place? all insurance also got their unhappy customer no matter how much higher they pay, LL mean LL. remember to buy NCD protector ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...