Newspaper say SGrean sibeh rich liao!

Mockngbrd

Then again, if you look at the other side of the coin, most people get themselves into debt, it is really their own doing, and not anyone else, they sign along the dotted line, homes can get cheaper districts, they dowan, saying too far, industrial area, air quality bad, etc...wanna buy here, because "friends" live there, FACE value, etc.. like I said, they get themselves into debt. Can stay in a small HDB flat, it's still a home, how far away is far really? I have people staying in Tampines and working in Jurong Tuas, commuting everyday to work, and wishing they had bought homes in Jurong!

Cannot afford good cars, simple B&B will do, but want to show they made it, buy bigger CC cars, and end up.....in debt and start bitching about it in debt lah, no money, salary not enough, working longer hours.

See what I mean bro? One can live within one's means, I have, brought up 3 boys, al these years, slog I did, complain I couldn't be bothered to, because it was pointless, just get the job done, feed the family and work towards a goal. How people get themselves into debt, we will never know the full story. I'm debt free, and I wasn't born with a silver spoon up my rear end. :D

If there wasn't demand, there wouldn't be supply, vis versa. -_-

Well said bro [thumbsup] I've always liked your postings...really matured views with substance! [nod]

I say it as it is bro. The truth hurts many, but it is the real truth that a lot will not face up to.

What IS face value? I don't give a damn, my face is worthless, it's my family and myself that I have to FACE, not others, pleasing their minds, don't put food on the table for my family. Now that my boys are all grown up, I can sit back a bit and enjoy the fruits of all my years of labour. Not really in the clear yet, still got to take care of their Uni education, after that, I can enjoy my time with my wife. We've come a very very long way....

25yrs coming 26. -_-

I always say, be contented with what you have, no point comparing, the stupidity just never ends. -_-

I say it as it is bro. The truth hurts many, but it is the real truth that a lot will not face up to.

What IS face value? I don't give a damn, my face is worthless, it's my family and myself that I have to FACE, not others, pleasing their minds, don't put food on the table for my family. Now that my boys are all grown up, I can sit back a bit and enjoy the fruits of all my years of labour. Not really in the clear yet, still got to take care of their Uni education, after that, I can enjoy my time with my wife. We've come a very very long way....

25yrs coming 26. -_-

I always say, be contented with what you have, no point comparing, the stupidity just never ends. -_-

Wise man indeed! Cheers!! [thumbsup] Wished there are more sensible people like you around.

Have a nice day! [wave]

I would rather they measure the wealth by the liquidity rather than assets of Singaporeans which can be deceiving. To me, the value of such assets belonging to the creditor is the determining factor of how wealthy the debtor actually is. For e.g., most home and/or vehicle owners may yet have to fully settle their home or vehicle mortgage which are often their biggest commitment.

Therefore, how wealthy Singaporeans are; is a matter of interpretation.

Have a nice day! [sunny]

Edited by Neutralsg

Then again, if you look at the other side of the coin, most people get themselves into debt, it is really their own doing, and not anyone else, they sign along the dotted line, homes can get cheaper districts, they dowan, saying too far, industrial area, air quality bad, etc...wanna buy here, because "friends" live there, FACE value, etc.. like I said, they get themselves into debt. Can stay in a small HDB flat, it's still a home, how far away is far really? I have people staying in Tampines and working in Jurong Tuas, commuting everyday to work, and wishing they had bought homes in Jurong!

Cannot afford good cars, simple B&B will do, but want to show they made it, buy bigger CC cars, and end up.....in debt and start bitching about it in debt lah, no money, salary not enough, working longer hours.

See what I mean bro? One can live within one's means, I have, brought up 3 boys, al these years, slog I did, complain I couldn't be bothered to, because it was pointless, just get the job done, feed the family and work towards a goal. How people get themselves into debt, we will never know the full story. I'm debt free, and I wasn't born with a silver spoon up my rear end. :D

If there wasn't demand, there wouldn't be supply, vis versa. -_-

you missed the big picture, is more on national issue than individual.

for example can 3 boys cope for the ripid rising flat price in their future?

I'm almost like you in two time i will be debt free too.... :D

25yrs coming 26. -_-

WAH Bro Mazdaowner........I RESPECT YOU !!! [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

last time young, always like to compare......whether is salary, branded stuff, chio gf.....etc etc....

Suddenly realised that this kind of comparision WILL NEVER END.......

Straits Times journalist write a feel good to make you happy seems to have the opposite effect.

What's so good about it if it seems to have the opposite effect as you assumed? [laugh]

Have a nice day! [sunny]

Wise man indeed! Cheers!! [thumbsup] Wished there are more sensible people like you around.

Have a nice day! [wave]

Thank you, it comes as one ages and learns life lessons, but to some, even as they age, they still cringe to their immaturity, which I would say as terribly saddening. You for one have seen my POV, and will be wise in all your endeavors. I wish you good life and good health, along with good decisions. -_-

How true, measuring assets is nothing when the the assets is still under receivership of the bank if the payment is defaulted. So the one with the biggest asset is really non other then the BANK.

I would rather they measure the wealth by the liquidity rather than assets of Singaporeans which can be deceiving. To me, the value of such assets belonging to the creditor is the determining factor of how wealthy the debtor actually is. For e.g., most home and/or vehicle owners may yet have to fully settle their home or vehicle mortgage which are often their biggest commitment.

Therefore, how wealthy Singaporeans are; is a matter of interpretation.

Have a nice day! [sunny]

you missed the big picture, is more on national issue than individual.

for example can 3 boys cope for the ripid rising flat price in their future?

I'm almost like you in two time i will be debt free too.... :D

If we were to go on to the future generation, there will be no light at the end of the tunnel.

Everything has a equal and opposite force reaction. If no one pushed up prices, prices would

remain as, it's people bidding up prices that makes prices go up and those who cannot afford

suffer to burden heavy loans just to buy their "dream" homes. What IS a dream home really?

One that serves it's purpose or one for face value or as I said, FRIENDS?

My 3 boys, well, it's all well planned out. I worry not for my boys, they not for me either. :D

before subprime many usa citizens own few properties or live in one huge proprerty that far beyond their means

now, what?

property is an asset if it generates income but it's a liability if you are paying to live in it

having said that many friends said he/she know another who each time upgrade their hdb/condo they made huge profit

so, i have no fact to rebut that statement to buy expensive property > live in it > sell > make profit > better than bank FD / investment many folds

Bro, nothing to respect me about, I said a long time back, I have always been contented,

the comparing never ends, and it's pure stupidity. Live our life as the way YOU want it to be, and not for others to see, who gives a fark what people think, all the money in the world can't change what essholes think about you, so....screw it. Why bother what people think. You are far better then a lot of people, and being able to reply my mail is already a sign that you are lucky, not to win 4D/Toto, but to be able to see the sunrise and sunset every other day. Some don't have the luxury to even see the next day.

WAH Bro Mazdaowner........I RESPECT YOU !!! [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

last time young, always like to compare......whether is salary, branded stuff, chio gf.....etc etc....

Suddenly realised that this kind of comparision WILL NEVER END.......

All I can say is, you will NEVER now the truth. They sold for a profit or not, you will never know, why they sold it, as well. If it was so good, why sell in the first place, and move to a smaller place? Pinch of salts are there to be taken. -_-

before subprime many usa citizens own few properties or live in one huge proprerty that far beyond their means

now, what?

property is an asset if it generates income but it's a liability if you are paying to live in it

having said that many friends said he/she know another who each time upgrade their hdb/condo they made huge profit

so, i have no fact to rebut that statement to buy expensive property > live in it > sell > make profit > better than bank FD / investment many folds

my thoughts are...

initially after independence, the intention of govt and HDB was great...

to build cheap public housings for the people, who lived in attap houses in kampong that had issues with hygiene, overcrowding and especially fire

the 70s and 80s are the housing boom, which eventually gained good results as the govt developed new towns and built many flats... eventually 85% of Singaporeans had a place called their home

after 2000, the whole concept became distorted after MBT took over the Ministry of National Development in 1999

public flats were viewed as assets, even linked with the idea of investment and speculation

BTOs and DBSS were launched.. on one hand, supply suddenly stopped, on the other hand, demand surged with the import of foreigners

resale flats became expensive as many new flats were not ready, people were willingly to pay more COVs

not to mention the demands coming from the PRs who couldn't buy new flats

the lands where the resale flats were standing on became expensive, causing the prices of the nearby lands to surge as well... so when HDB and the private developers were keen to launch new projects, they had to pay more to SLA and URA who owned the lands

new flats and condos became expensive as well... a vicious cycle

need a huge financial crisis to reset everything

If we were to go on to the future generation, there will be no light at the end of the tunnel.

Everything has a equal and opposite force reaction. If no one pushed up prices, prices would

remain as, it's people bidding up prices that makes prices go up and those who cannot afford

suffer to burden heavy loans just to buy their "dream" homes. What IS a dream home really?

One that serves it's purpose or one for face value or as I said, FRIENDS?

My 3 boys, well, it's all well planned out. I worry not for my boys, they not for me either. :D

Decision that made now does affect our next generation

let me quote one pro&con policy that made in the past, for example 'two is enough' and 'roof to all people'.

So far the sinkie i meet, for face value type their the minority bunch.

I'm glad to heard that you have planned for your boys future.

Edited by Jerryl