Mazdaowner Moderator November 19, 2011 Share November 19, 2011 I understand your point, yes, but there is nothing we can do, vote or not, it's already done, only thing one can do is make the best of the situation. In any situation, there is always a way out. My boys future are not planned, I leave them to decide on what they want to do best, my planning in terms of finance was from the day they were born, even when I wasn't making much, wife and myself would save on whatever we could for them. Education was from a fund I took up for them as well. My belief is, suffer not, enjoy later, then enjoy now, and suffer till God knows when. Decision that made now does affect our next generation let me quote one pro&con policy that made in the past, for example 'two is enough' and 'roof to all people'. So far the sinkie i meet, for face value type their the minority bunch. I'm glad to heard that you have planned for your boys future. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wasted 1st Gear November 19, 2011 Share November 19, 2011 think many SG people have supported the IR ... sure alot money lost .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged November 19, 2011 Share November 19, 2011 north-korean type of propaganda. We are the bestest. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Singhao 1st Gear November 19, 2011 Share November 19, 2011 Times have changed dude. Things (esp housing) are not as cheap as before. Even if you try to live a simple contented life, you may still be stuck in debt, or be in debt for most of your working life. You have done well for yourself, but we are living in different times... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator November 19, 2011 Share November 19, 2011 Yes, I know what you mean. what used to be 45k for a 4rm is now 200-300k and for smaller. I, like you and everyone else, didn't think I'd see the daylights of clearing my house payments within XX number of years, but I did. (Not some windfall etc..) Still not impossible to save. Times have changed dude. Things (esp housing) are not as cheap as before. Even if you try to live a simple contented life, you may still be stuck in debt, or be in debt for most of your working life. You have done well for yourself, but we are living in different times... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic November 19, 2011 Share November 19, 2011 http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_735333.html By Aaron Low Singapore's households are at their wealthiest, boosted by rising property prices, a report released by the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) stated on Friday. Household wealth stood at a record high of $1.471 trillion in the three months to September, up 8.6 per cent from $1.354 trillion in the same period in 2010, said the central bank. Property made up about 50.2 per cent of the household assets, while cash, Central Provident Fund balances, stocks and shares, as well as insurance, formed the other half of households' assets. Companies and banks were also in the pink of health, with good profits, a strong base of funding and healthy balance sheets. muayhahahaha, got say as good as no say.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear November 19, 2011 Share November 19, 2011 Times have changed dude. Things (esp housing) are not as cheap as before. Even if you try to live a simple contented life, you may still be stuck in debt, or be in debt for most of your working life. You have done well for yourself, but we are living in different times... its all about planning and lifestyle..thats all not hard to achieve... ya say is easy than done...however each to it's own Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear November 19, 2011 Share November 19, 2011 "good job" by the govt... COE makes sure most cars on the roads are relatively new old buildings are torn down to build new nice and posh private residences no wonder Singapore looks so rich but most of its people are forever servicing long term debts they hate ppl who are debt free... so the only way for them to make most of us still in debt is u noe wat la... no need for me to say much.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged November 19, 2011 Share November 19, 2011 Thank you, it comes as one ages and learns life lessons, but to some, even as they age, they still cringe to their immaturity, which I would say as terribly saddening. You for one have seen my POV, and will be wise in all your endeavors. I wish you good life and good health, along with good decisions. Brudder MO, after your close door and perfected the art of Tok Kok Sing Song Part 2 Thread for 7 7 49 days X 2 (Part I included), you came out toking Wisdom. I think I need to go TKSS Part II too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic November 19, 2011 Share November 19, 2011 (edited) they hate ppl who are debt free... so the only way for them to make most of us still in debt is u noe wat la... no need for me to say much.... i dont know what leh, plse explain. Edited November 19, 2011 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CKP 3rd Gear November 19, 2011 Share November 19, 2011 (edited) i dont know what leh, plse explain. A few hundred years ago, a wise man already explained clearly: "We must not let our rulers load us with perpetual debt. We must make our election between economy and liberty or profusion and servitude. If we run into such debt, as that we must be taxed in our meat and in our drink, in our necessaries and our comforts, in our labors and our amusements, for our calling and our creeds... [we will] have no time to think, no means of calling our miss-managers to account but be glad to obtain subsistence by hiring ourselves to rivet their chains on the necks of our fellow-sufferers... And this is the tendency of all human governments. A departure from principle in one instance becomes a precedent for [another ]... till the bulk of society is reduced to be mere automatons of misery... And the fore-horse of this frightful team is public debt. Taxation follows that, and in its train wretchedness and oppression." Edited November 19, 2011 by CKP Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged November 19, 2011 Share November 19, 2011 http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_735333.html By Aaron Low Singapore's households are at their wealthiest, boosted by rising property prices, a report released by the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) stated on Friday. Household wealth stood at a record high of $1.471 trillion in the three months to September, up 8.6 per cent from $1.354 trillion in the same period in 2010, said the central bank. Now, maybe that total wealth belongs to the top 20% of the population only . So 80% still poor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear November 19, 2011 Share November 19, 2011 No one fully pay for their houses in Singapore, let alone an apartment. Because no one but the Government owns either the land you have your house, or the HDB you lived in. We only lease the apartment or land. If the government decided that they wanted to build a road & ask you to leave & pay half the value of your leased land or apartment, you also LPPL. I am sick of these Properties assert thingy that only benefit the people who earns money from Properties and FTs. People who just wanted a place to stay, which is most people, suffer due to the high price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Without_a_car Clutched November 20, 2011 Share November 20, 2011 No one fully pay for their houses in Singapore, let alone an apartment. Because no one but the Government owns either the land you have your house, or the HDB you lived in. We only lease the apartment or land. If the government decided that they wanted to build a road & ask you to leave & pay half the value of your leased land or apartment, you also LPPL. I am sick of these Properties assert thingy that only benefit the people who earns money from Properties and FTs. People who just wanted a place to stay, which is most people, suffer due to the high price. So I is kum lan? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Without_a_car Clutched November 20, 2011 Share November 20, 2011 A few hundred years ago, a wise man already explained clearly: "We must not let our rulers load us with perpetual debt. We must make our election between economy and liberty or profusion and servitude. If we run into such debt, as that we must be taxed in our meat and in our drink, in our necessaries and our comforts, in our labors and our amusements, for our calling and our creeds... [we will] have no time to think, no means of calling our miss-managers to account but be glad to obtain subsistence by hiring ourselves to rivet their chains on the necks of our fellow-sufferers... And this is the tendency of all human governments. A departure from principle in one instance becomes a precedent for [another ]... till the bulk of society is reduced to be mere automatons of misery... And the fore-horse of this frightful team is public debt. Taxation follows that, and in its train wretchedness and oppression." Who is this wise man? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MX5NC2 1st Gear November 20, 2011 Share November 20, 2011 Let me guess, in the context of a HDB dweller: HDB flat: 50.2% CPF: 20% or less since much of it is used to pay HDB flats and will need to pay back interest on amount withdrawn for flat Stocks and shares: 10% Insurance: 10% As you can see the wealth is not immediately tangible and the individual probably won't get to touch most of it when he/she dies. In conclusion, it's just a trying-to-make-you-feel-good report. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator November 20, 2011 Share November 20, 2011 its all about planning and lifestyle..thats all not hard to achieve... ya say is easy than done...however each to it's own It is not impossible, only lacking is discipline to keep on track. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator November 20, 2011 Share November 20, 2011 I perfected nothing. There is a time to joke and a time to be serious, I draw a very fine line between. You are free to partake in our discussions, if memory serves me well, you did offend our "mascot" in one other thread. The choice is yours, and ours to accept you. Brudder MO, after your close door and perfected the art of Tok Kok Sing Song Part 2 Thread for 7 7 49 days X 2 (Part I included), you came out toking Wisdom. I think I need to go TKSS Part II too. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...