Gearoil 1st Gear November 17, 2011 Share November 17, 2011 humm...ha ha ha....you are !!!!! The bicycle world in Sinkland very small.. One hint ...an experienced biker would almost get the clue... I'm might not 'spot on' target the first time.. Cos I tend to partonise good shops and avoid the rest...but I do hear things.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear November 17, 2011 Author Share November 17, 2011 then you can only depend on "ka" and not "ka chia" liao lor.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 17, 2011 Share November 17, 2011 Who say for $500 you can't get a foldie and a relatively new one even if 2nd hand? If you don't know about the subject of foldie or bicycle for that matter...don't comment lah... Doesn't mean you drive car everything must be expensive hor... Wait you kenna bash by an Ang Mo simply becos being a typical Sinkie, you open your bloody mouth first without backing it up with reliable fists! I have been riding foldie to work since Dec 2006. I nvr say $500 can't get foldie but it is a waste of time to go foldie shop. Definitely up sell 1. Better to go giant/carrefour. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 17, 2011 Share November 17, 2011 $500 u can get a decent foldie.... Please define decent foldie. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear November 17, 2011 Share November 17, 2011 I have been riding foldie to work since Dec 2006. I nvr say $500 can't get foldie but it is a waste of time to go foldie shop. Definitely up sell 1. Better to go giant/carrefour. Don't go Giant and Carrefour..those foldies are crap even for the price one has to pay.. Go togopart lah...sure got good deal coming in once in a while.. But if not choosy...there are alot of choices available at togopart, with good offer prices, almost all the time.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 17, 2011 Share November 17, 2011 Is it that one at West Coast? Or if not...the one that sell UK made foldie ... Definitely not UK made 1 becauee it got no bike from US of A. By the way, which shop u patronise? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear November 17, 2011 Author Share November 17, 2011 looks like you know the stuff any recommendation for me ?? really $500 budget only...no point spending too much on something I just use casually....i just saw from their website... tern link C7...$550...what you think?? know any other shops that carry this model...cause I think that shop is out for me...can't fit into them...rather buy from other shops... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear November 17, 2011 Share November 17, 2011 Please define decent foldie. Decent foldie are like for example dahon D7 or boardwalk, eco series and so other funny brand like Urata or whatever... These are starting models.. For $500 can get 2nd hand relatively new. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 17, 2011 Share November 17, 2011 Don't go Giant and Carrefour..those foldies are crap even for the price one has to pay.. Go togopart lah...sure got good deal coming in once in a while.. But if not choosy...there are alot of choices available at togopart, with good offer prices, almost all the time.. For ppl with not much experience on bicycle, it is very hard to check the condition of used bike from togoparts. By the way, i bought b4 a strida from a bro in this forum. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 17, 2011 Share November 17, 2011 Decent foldie are like for example dahon D7 or boardwalk, eco series and so other funny brand like Urata or whatever... These are starting models.. For $500 can get 2nd hand relatively new. For me, it has to hardy and easy to fold & unfold. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scb11980 1st Gear November 17, 2011 Share November 17, 2011 I wonder if any have walk into a foldable bike shop asking for something which is in the range of 500...then you are introduce with something close to a 1000 and something close to 3000...and the pple tell you the close to 1000 one is like s-h-i-t...can't even tell where it is make from...probably from china...the close to 3000 one is 100% USA !!! humm...i am looking for something in the range of 500...not looking for a 3000 type...my usage is to ride to buy food and explore my neighbourhood occassionally... then he tell me those neighbourhood shop sell bicycle one is like s-h-i-t...all the bicycle got design flaw !!!! then he tell me i buy 3000 can make myself cycle because I won't leave the 3000 as a white elephant...i ask myself in my heart why i must pay 3000 and get binded for the worst reason ??? either i look like a fat carrot...else must be i look rich...else i must look like idiot...or...ha ha ha...a die hard cycling fan who always tell pple otherwise... or maybe i just went into a hermes shop arm only with gucci budget !!! Probably he just can't tell that I am just a poor guy having accumulated the 500 over the many months and just can afford that budget !!!!! now i don't dare walk into foldable bike shop liao... i bought my no-brand folding bicycle for $100 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear November 17, 2011 Share November 17, 2011 Go for Dahon.......good foldie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear November 17, 2011 Author Share November 17, 2011 u use frequently...then can justify the cost of a strida lar...me is 50% + chances of become a elephant !!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 17, 2011 Share November 17, 2011 u use frequently...then can justify the cost of a strida lar...me is 50% + chances of become a elephant !!! I have 3 white elephant at home lah. I have retired strida leow for more than 3 yrs. Too slow for me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear November 17, 2011 Author Share November 17, 2011 the close to 1000 one...pple say don't know make where leh...maybe china !!! ha ha ha actually i was looking at the C6... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear November 17, 2011 Author Share November 17, 2011 my hse no space to park so many elephant...!!!! my pocket also don't allow them to exist !!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 17, 2011 Share November 17, 2011 my hse no space to park so many elephant...!!!! my pocket also don't allow them to exist !!! For 4 folding bike, it takes up space no bigger than 1 chest drawer in my service balcony. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear November 17, 2011 Share November 17, 2011 looks like you know the stuff any recommendation for me ?? really $500 budget only...no point spending too much on something I just use casually....i just saw from their website... tern link C7...$550...what you think?? know any other shops that carry this model...cause I think that shop is out for me...can't fit into them...rather buy from other shops... Tern was started by former dahon owner too when dahon founder son Joshua, split with his father.. Well, I don't think I'll go into details of that 'split'..you can read all about it at other site but Tern should have the same if not better quality build against similiar levle of Dahon models. I myself, have not have the chance yet to try Tern ( they only arrive here recently) but if given the chance to personally view a Tern model to compare to Dahon...I would be in better position to tell you more in details as to what you're paying for and whether which model or brand has a better deal. From what I gather C7 would mean it has cassette cog 7 speed. If it does not use a neo rear derailleur ( like Dahon) and uses a normal deraillieur llike SRAM or Shimano then it is better. Check what other component level it comes with. What is the total weight? Check how it folds, how the folding joints are constructed and whether it has lugs to carry rear rack. See whether the wheel set are solid uses stainless spokes and whether the hubs are of good brand. then try riding the bike..does it suit you? Which shop that sell Tern , as it is a 'new' brand I'm not so sure but those like Gee Hin Chan at Waterloo and current dahon dealers should sell. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...