Choosh 1st Gear December 6, 2011 Share December 6, 2011 One of my client's ride was 1.3L Honda Civic hybrid and according to him, the consumption was between 12.5 km/l to 13 km/l of which no saving at all as compared to Altis / Vios BUT KAH Motor claimed was 22 km/l at time for his ride. In the end he sold it off after 3 years of usage (He 's the 1st owner). So. no point to consider the used Civic Hybird and it's more wiser to consider Altis / Vios (Vios about 14 km/l to 15 km/l that easily achieveable) The way the hybrid is driven plays a major part in its fuel consumption. If your client gets 13km/L for the Civic hybrid, he is likely to get only 10km/L for a regular 1.8L Civic or even an altis, driving style being equal in both cars. I agree 22km/l for Civic hybrid is a bit optimistic for singapore roads but 17-18km/l is easily obtainable. Vios is a significantly smaller car compared to civic and definitely less luxurious, so not really comparing apples to apples unless one is willingly to forgo the space and comfort. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 I plan to buy this for my wife, and wanted some hassle-free and good FC car. Thanks for your help. No Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 Car weight counts. Example; Myvi already 14 to 16km/L along local roads Myvi may look cute and rounded, but drag coefficient is very high. It catches wind easily instead of cutting through winds. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikael74 Neutral Newbie December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 Hi, I am considering to buy used Hybrid and chanced upon a used 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid 1.3A I started to read into this forum and want to get a feel of technical/common issues (if there are) typical of Honda Hybrid. It seems that the unstability or depletion of hybrid battery is quite common. The dealer told me that a replacement battery is between 1.5 - 2 thousand (cant check with Kah Motor over weekend). Any brothers/sisters drive hybrids over here in this forum? Can advise if the hybrid batteries is a bugging issue (and any other things that i should watch out for)? I plan to buy this for my wife, and wanted some hassle-free and good FC car. Thanks for your help. Can seriously consider buying hybrid now, as our govt moving towards carbon based road tax system, and the civic hybrid emits very little CO2 http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...672126&st=0 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 (edited) Myvi may look cute and rounded, but drag coefficient is very high. It catches wind easily instead of cutting through winds. Perhaps an earthquake had interupted during the designing of a MPV. In a hurry to salvage after the earthquake, they got this hatchback instead Edited December 7, 2011 by Good-Carbuyer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 If looking for point A to point b car with good fc, u should consider spark, kancil. Maybe vios if got more budget. If u are looking to buy civic, u are looking for more things like ride quality, comfort and image. Civic should be compared to cars in z similar class such as new altis, Mazda 6 or Jetta, and whether its running cost is lower During Spark test-drive, Salesman said: you need not slow down to go over the speed hump if you are already in 3rd gear (just below 50km/H). He was right: I did not feel the speed hump as I drove over them . Cars that size usually can not be that comfortable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mawaflight Clutched December 7, 2011 Share December 7, 2011 Just replace the IMA battery when it deteriorated (not a big deal) , my friend claim half tank to KL with a FC of 18-21 km/L with a constant speed of 110-120km/hr. His mileage is ard 100,000km currently. He is still very happy with his Civic Hybrid and now waiting for the next model. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikael74 Neutral Newbie December 8, 2011 Share December 8, 2011 Kah motor already selling the new honda civic hybrid It has a 1.5l engine instead of the 1.3l (same engine as cr-z?) and uses lithium ion battery In US this car gets 44mpg highway and 44mpg city http://www.honda.com.sg/cars/price_sheet.asp Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mawaflight Clutched December 8, 2011 Share December 8, 2011 (edited) Kah motor already selling the new honda civic hybrid It has a 1.5l engine instead of the 1.3l (same engine as cr-z?) and uses lithium ion battery In US this car gets 44mpg highway and 44mpg city http://www.honda.com.sg/cars/price_sheet.asp Thats a CR-Z on display, manual trans and 2 door like the former CRX. Heard next year its coming the auto version. Now they taking order for new Civic Hybrid? No vehicle on display leh..... Edited December 8, 2011 by Mawaflight Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikael74 Neutral Newbie December 27, 2011 Share December 27, 2011 Thats a CR-Z on display, manual trans and 2 door like the former CRX. Heard next year its coming the auto version. Now they taking order for new Civic Hybrid? No vehicle on display leh..... New 2012 civic model now on display at leng kee! They only have the silver 1.6 but was told the hybrid will have the same body and more features Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jaceleon Neutral Newbie June 20, 2012 Share June 20, 2012 Kah motor already selling the new honda civic hybrid It has a 1.5l engine instead of the 1.3l (same engine as cr-z?) and uses lithium ion battery In US this car gets 44mpg highway and 44mpg city http://www.honda.com.sg/cars/price_sheet.asp The new civic looks too family car and also korean-ish..... personally dont like... and it seems not many people buy... last time with new civic, ppl snatch and need to pre-order.....this time round like different... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 20, 2012 Share June 20, 2012 (edited) The new civic looks too family car and also korean-ish..... personally dont like... and it seems not many people buy... last time with new civic, ppl snatch and need to pre-order.....this time round like different... Last time new civic, people snatch mainly because last time COE is low, so you can get the civic below 80K, design consider nice. But now COE so high, you need to pay at least 110K or more to get the civic, also design become not so nice, that's why not many people buy. Edited June 20, 2012 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade777 5th Gear June 20, 2012 Share June 20, 2012 (edited) the battery should be in the region of 5-6k Buy car must buy reliable one. Driving car always worry engine "piang", gear box "piang" are bad enough leow. Now with this battery costing $5 to $6k, defintely adds up to your worries. Better forget such cars if dollars and sense is an issue. Edited June 20, 2012 by Renegade777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Majordan 2nd Gear June 28, 2012 Share June 28, 2012 not sure about the new civic hybrid but I decided not to get the previous one cos of small boot space and sucky stop-start tech Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 28, 2012 Share June 28, 2012 Buy car must buy reliable one. Driving car always worry engine "piang", gear box "piang" are bad enough leow. Now with this battery costing $5 to $6k, defintely adds up to your worries. Better forget such cars if dollars and sense is an issue. Agreed, must buy reliable car, so best is to buy altis or sunny, there are sure reliable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
FocusWagon 1st Gear June 28, 2012 Share June 28, 2012 just consider how much the hybrid need to save you before its worth it to change 5-6k bty Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear July 2, 2012 Share July 2, 2012 Just replace the IMA battery when it deteriorated (not a big deal) , my friend claim half tank to KL with a FC of 18-21 km/L with a constant speed of 110-120km/hr. His mileage is ard 100,000km currently. He is still very happy with his Civic Hybrid and now waiting for the next model. i can do half a tank to KL too, the distance isn't very far just 300km++ only but my half tank uses 30L petrol so there isn't any savings if your car does 20km/l then half tank to KL should mean 15L only? thats superly impressive what speed do you run at? but a civic should have a 52L tank, half tank should be around 25 - 30L? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear July 2, 2012 Share July 2, 2012 Half tank to KL not very impressive. My altis can do 400km with half tank. Bear in mind no battery support hor. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...