Detach8 5th Gear February 26, 2012 Share February 26, 2012 (edited) Look at the thread I started... I removed the ICE from a 2nd hand car I bought because it was so badly done: http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showtopic=2674186 Make sure you eyeball them installing your ICE. A bad workmanship can be worse than stock. BTW, the stock HU that Tan Chong put into Latio and the speakers... are quite good already. Edited February 26, 2012 by Detach8 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vertigoer Neutral Newbie February 27, 2012 Share February 27, 2012 Look at the thread I started... I removed the ICE from a 2nd hand car I bought because it was so badly done: http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showtopic=2674186 Make sure you eyeball them installing your ICE. A bad workmanship can be worse than stock. BTW, the stock HU that Tan Chong put into Latio and the speakers... are quite good already. Never heard the Latio, but stock speakers on my Syphly is pretty sad. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fengwei Neutral Newbie February 28, 2012 Share February 28, 2012 (edited) Got mine from autoimage, u can try foon audio too. Local is better as u still need to install with cabling and warranty. Problem is u must be exactly clear with what u want as shops will introduce their ideas (natually, sound experts and good salesmanship). May end up with rojak or 1/2 upgrade later kind of system. Thanks again for the suggestion. Went to autoimage today, installed the Helix B62C in the front, B6X in the back. To take the full advantage of these speakers, I had my HU changed to a Pioneer AVH-P4150DVD Receiver (the latest model w/ connection to iPod/iPhone, but no BT). Total 1k including installation, the max of my budget :) Now the radio sounds a lot better, but the CDs and DVDs they played in the shop sounded even better. I think my kids would be thrilled when they see their favorite DVDs in the car :) Edited February 28, 2012 by Fengwei Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhrisuzu 1st Gear February 28, 2012 Share February 28, 2012 Never heard the Latio, but stock speakers on my Syphly is pretty sad. there's a sylphy in my family also.. changed to Pioneer 4350 DVD HU + a set of Focal Access 165A1 mounted on pods.. sound way better than stock.. still contemplating adding amps as the driver (mom) doesn't seem to understand the SQ part of it yet.. [rolleyes] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enzomatrix 2nd Gear February 28, 2012 Share February 28, 2012 just do it! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear February 28, 2012 Share February 28, 2012 Never heard the Latio, but stock speakers on my Syphly is pretty sad. stock speakers on all cars sound sad. not only yours. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear February 28, 2012 Share February 28, 2012 Thanks again for the suggestion. Went to autoimage today, installed the Helix B62C in the front, B6X in the back. To take the full advantage of these speakers, I had my HU changed to a Pioneer AVH-P4150DVD Receiver (the latest model w/ connection to iPod/iPhone, but no BT). Total 1k including installation, the max of my budget :) Now the radio sounds a lot better, but the CDs and DVDs they played in the shop sounded even better. I think my kids would be thrilled when they see their favorite DVDs in the car :) where is the amp? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audioniche 1st Gear February 28, 2012 Share February 28, 2012 Stock Macintosh is good leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vertigoer Neutral Newbie February 28, 2012 Share February 28, 2012 Thanks again for the suggestion. Went to autoimage today, installed the Helix B62C in the front, B6X in the back. To take the full advantage of these speakers, I had my HU changed to a Pioneer AVH-P4150DVD Receiver (the latest model w/ connection to iPod/iPhone, but no BT). Total 1k including installation, the max of my budget :) Now the radio sounds a lot better, but the CDs and DVDs they played in the shop sounded even better. I think my kids would be thrilled when they see their favorite DVDs in the car :) Congratz bro. Helix is a well rounded speakers, add amp won't different too much. Just remember you paid 1k for better sound and got it. Don't kenna ICE poison and upgrade here upgrade there, not worth it. Enjoy your in car entertainment :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fengwei Neutral Newbie February 28, 2012 Share February 28, 2012 where is the amp? Those Helix speakers don't need a dedicated amp to drive I guess, the HU's output is good enough for them. The sound quality is pretty good especially after I tuned the EQ, and they are very loud. Compare w/ these, my original system (which I quite liked somehow) sounded really bad. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fengwei Neutral Newbie February 28, 2012 Share February 28, 2012 Congratz bro. Helix is a well rounded speakers, add amp won't different too much. Just remember you paid 1k for better sound and got it. Don't kenna ICE poison and upgrade here upgrade there, not worth it. Enjoy your in car entertainment :) Yeah, really love it. I think the family would appreciate the change when we drive to Malaysia during school holidays :) Thanks again, really appreciate your suggestion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerealkiller 1st Gear March 3, 2012 Share March 3, 2012 Helix B FOUR. Why I don't recommend Amp for your case. See the scenarios below: 1. Average HU (jvc in your case) + lousy AMP + lousy speakers = still lousy 2. Average HU + good AMP + good speakers = lousy (hear all the nips and crack of the average HU) 3. Average HU + good (rounded) speakers = better than average sound 4. Good HU + good speakers = average sound (no amp, and likely to burst 1k budget) thanks for posting this up. i've got the hint that AMPs are NOT required now.. kekeke gonna go with a Pioneer + speakers and skip the amps Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear March 4, 2012 Share March 4, 2012 Thanks again for the suggestion. Went to autoimage today, installed the Helix B62C in the front, B6X in the back. To take the full advantage of these speakers, I had my HU changed to a Pioneer AVH-P4150DVD Receiver (the latest model w/ connection to iPod/iPhone, but no BT). Total 1k including installation, the max of my budget :) Now the radio sounds a lot better, but the CDs and DVDs they played in the shop sounded even better. I think my kids would be thrilled when they see their favorite DVDs in the car :) Ted or Autoimage should serve you well and satisfied. I used to go to them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear March 4, 2012 Share March 4, 2012 Thanks again for the suggestion. Went to autoimage today, installed the Helix B62C in the front, B6X in the back. To take the full advantage of these speakers, I had my HU changed to a Pioneer AVH-P4150DVD Receiver (the latest model w/ connection to iPod/iPhone, but no BT). Total 1k including installation, the max of my budget :) Now the radio sounds a lot better, but the CDs and DVDs they played in the shop sounded even better. I think my kids would be thrilled when they see their favorite DVDs in the car :) Hi, I thinking of going there to change to a setup similar to yours as well. Did your 1k installation include cables and soundproofing? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged March 5, 2012 Share March 5, 2012 not intending to poison anyone here - w decent SP and amp u would've brought SQ up another level. been upgrading ICE ala-carte since active sub & B62C installed over the months; HU, rear spkr, SP & finally amp. every stage i hear slight improvement, until amp'ed w front stage adjuster - there is somewat significant improvement to extent my colleague impressed w SQ, although total cost over 2k. i also felt the sound was more concentrated crystal clear, and soft & loud gap difference became closer + don't have to turn on so loud to hear soft notes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vertigoer Neutral Newbie March 5, 2012 Share March 5, 2012 not intending to poison anyone here - w decent SP and amp u would've brought SQ up another level. been upgrading ICE ala-carte since active sub & B62C installed over the months; HU, rear spkr, SP & finally amp. every stage i hear slight improvement, until amp'ed w front stage adjuster - there is somewat significant improvement to extent my colleague impressed w SQ, although total cost over 2k. i also felt the sound was more concentrated crystal clear, and soft & loud gap difference became closer + don't have to turn on so loud to hear soft notes. Very different lah... $1k cannot do your kind of sound quality. In-fact, I felt that Helix (installed B52C) cannot meet the sound quality I like. Ended switching back to DLS speakers and improved Amp to hear the significant next difference. To most people, a good pair of speakers with reasonable HU is what they really need (If I knew, would probably have kept at this stage). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged March 6, 2012 Share March 6, 2012 Very different lah... $1k cannot do your kind of sound quality. In-fact, I felt that Helix (installed B52C) cannot meet the sound quality I like. Ended switching back to DLS speakers and improved Amp to hear the significant next difference. To most people, a good pair of speakers with reasonable HU is what they really need (If I knew, would probably have kept at this stage). bro urs is b52c, mine b62c, dat y bass not as strong? sound too much treble / "bright"? also hope to have chance to listen to ur setup my current ICE journey is virgin trip; listening to shop setup sure sounded slightly different due to different placement of spkrs, environment n components matched. actually at this stage, i think it very hard for to go back to good pair of spkrs w reasonable HU, cos my experience really confirmed sp n amp is much needed, unless it's lower rms value spkr (e.g. 5.25") or PnP, then i think sp should be ok liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerealkiller 1st Gear March 16, 2012 Share March 16, 2012 just to add that Pioneer has got offer for the speakers (front/back) + amp from $470 ~ $700+ saw a poster pasted on wall of ah lim @ serangoon gardens ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...