ICE intro ( need recommend for my budget & installer)

Ivansyl

WOW!!! That's extreme. What's your set up like?

Hmm what kinda bass do you want? tight bass? boomy bass?

alphine 9887

german maestro cs6508iv

arc audio 4ch amp

arc audio 2ch amp

rf p1s4 10"

others include

ipod cable, 2front door STP soundproofing, cables, tweeter holders etc etc.

well i guess i dun really have a preference for either tight or boomy bass. main thing is it has to be significant. like letting me feel the beat/vibration.

U need to ask yourself, how much you wanna spend. And,most of the kick you feel comes from the midbass, not the sub. the sub only helps to fill out the bass notes, if i remember correctly. my sub (currently still sitting in the shop) is the Morel Ultimo SC. good enough for me ^_^

how come ur sub is still sitting in the shop? the morel ultimo is quite pricey isnt it? i believe 2nd hand about 500-800? haha. how much did u get it for? any reviews?

i guess my budget would be around 300-500. dun mind 2nd hand ones as long as it is not too old and still in good condition.

more imptly, i believe what i learnt is that the subwoofer must be adequately powered by my amp so have to find 1 that suits the capabilities of my arc audio amp. haha

how come ur sub is still sitting in the shop? the morel ultimo is quite pricey isnt it? i believe 2nd hand about 500-800? haha. how much did u get it for? any reviews?

i guess my budget would be around 300-500. dun mind 2nd hand ones as long as it is not too old and still in good condition.

more imptly, i believe what i learnt is that the subwoofer must be adequately powered by my amp so have to find 1 that suits the capabilities of my arc audio amp. haha

haven't had time to go fix it up since i dekitted to change car. the morel sc is good. does what i need it to do and more. can't really remember how much i bought it.

you already know what your direction is. go trawl the car audio forums. there are 2. sometimes a deal or 2 appears. good luck!

and btw, if its kick u want, a good 8" will suffice. a good rumble will probably only be got by the solid 12", imho

my current 1 is a 10" and i find it inadequate alr. guess i will have to look at the 12". coincidentally i was trawling the audio forums and came along a 1.5yrs old morel ultimo sc going for 500$ and u mentioned it here. seems like a good catch. haha

alphine 9887

german maestro cs6508iv

arc audio 4ch amp

arc audio 2ch amp

rf p1s4 10"

others include

well i guess i dun really have a preference for either tight or boomy bass. main thing is it has to be significant. like letting me feel the beat/vibration.

Ahh i see. That explains the price you paid.

Not trying to criticize but I'd rather spend that cash on a home audio system which can produce much better sound than car audio.

For car audio systems, I'd rather get something simple and not too costly yet adequate enough to my needs.

Imagine having to dekit everything when you sell your car or not get any additional cash for the expensive sound system installed when you sell your car.

Then again I doubt anyone's gonna sell their car that readily with COE prices and Taxi fares going up.

Hmm I prefer a balance between strong bass and clarity. I don't really like overwhelming bass which sacrifices the mids and the highs. Just remember too much loud music will damage your ears.

Not trying to criticize but I'd rather spend that cash on a home audio system which can produce much better sound than car audio.

For car audio systems, I'd rather get something simple and not too costly yet adequate enough to my needs.

Imagine having to dekit everything when you sell your car or not get any additional cash for the expensive sound system installed when you sell your car.

Then again I doubt anyone's gonna sell their car that readily with COE prices and Taxi fares going up.

Hmm I prefer a balance between strong bass and clarity. I don't really like overwhelming bass which sacrifices the mids and the highs. Just remember too much loud music will damage your ears.

im very sure my system is just like the tip of the iceberg. there are many hidden dragons here that have systems which are highly tuned and cost >5k. high end ones even hit 5 digit sum. as for me, im pretty satisfied. (except for the bass part) btw, u can always dekit ur system if u have to sell ur car and install it into ur next car =)

Haha yeah there are lots of them. Some with a whole lot of custom stuff.

In fact i wanted to do something extreme for my car's sound system but i decided not to due to the huge cost involved in doing it up.

Furthermore it's the addiction will cause me to spend unnecessary cash on it when i could channel the funds elsewhere.

Dekitting is the problem, just imagine the amount of work you have to do just to get everything out and install your original stuff. Too time consuming for me.

Well it's good that you're satisfied, let it stay that way or you may blow some more cash on your system.

ICE is an expensive hobby similar to cars.

I was lucky to met my current installer called Ken Ng, his shop namie is DrAudio.net. Located at ubi technolink level 1. Used to b a audison technician n constantly involving in competition n tuning.

His work is veri precise coz its a one man job. No shortcut n he really impressed me w his ethics. He even silicone my speaker hole on the wooden bracket n surroundings to prevent water seeping n given me speaker cap to cover my speaker base...i have not seen other accessories shop done for me b4..He modified amp n HU also.

I re-run my current audison cables for active 2way at 170 bucks. Got my new ESK165 w basic tuning at 330. Used it on my old trusted 9855 n audison SRX4 now... Veri good for me le....he is sourcing 2nd hand audison bitOne for me at now to enhance my SQ...no budget for 2nd hand..

If u need his nos, PM me..

my current 1 is a 10" and i find it inadequate alr. guess i will have to look at the 12". coincidentally i was trawling the audio forums and came along a 1.5yrs old morel ultimo sc going for 500$ and u mentioned it here. seems like a good catch. haha

Go try it out first. What I like don't mean u will like.

after reading many forums, i've found out that 500-1000 cant get me a decent system. i guess i have to up my budget to about 2k.

up budget to 2k for a decent system? 2k may only get u decent cables....

alphine 9887

german maestro cs6508iv

arc audio 4ch amp

arc audio 2ch amp

rf p1s4 10"

others include

Before you go buying another sub to suit your needs, you should look at your current sub box first. Is it currently in sealed or ported config? If your sub box is sealed type and looks kinda big for the 10", maybe you will like to remove the sub from the box and put in some polyfill or simply stuffed in a small pillow and test it out again. By filling up the void/reducing the air vol in the box will give a better punch, also look at the gain setting of yor 2 ch amps. Try to tweak your setup a bit b4 you splurge additional $$. try it out and check out some audio site on it, dun rushed into things too fast cos after your run-in period things may improved with minor tweek.

dekitting is a small issue. if the car kena accident, the ICE may be gone too. imagine having to rebuild a 10k ICE system after a heavy accident. its going to be heart wrenching and heavy on the wallet.

Before you go buying another sub to suit your needs, you should look at your current sub box first. Is it currently in sealed or ported config? If your sub box is sealed type and looks kinda big for the 10", maybe you will like to remove the sub from the box and put in some polyfill or simply stuffed in a small pillow and test it out again. By filling up the void/reducing the air vol in the box will give a better punch, also look at the gain setting of yor 2 ch amps. Try to tweak your setup a bit b4 you splurge additional $$. try it out and check out some audio site on it, dun rushed into things too fast cos after your run-in period things may improved with minor tweek.

before even go scouting for another sub... scout for a proper amp... 2ch amp bridged to power a sub is ridiculous! use it for your tweeters.

btw the volume of the sub box has to be made in accordance to the specs of the sub...

btw this is what i call a decent setup... too bad its sold

http://www.subaruclubsg.com/forum/viewtopi...=22&t=68780

1) Alpine F#1 DVI 9990E & PXI-H990 Processor. $3k (SOLD)

2) Rainbow Platinum 3way Active Speakers. $2.5k (SOLD)

3) Rainbow Vanadium 12" Subwoofer. $750 (SOLD)

4) Soundstream Tarantula 8 Farad Capacitor. $250 (SOLD)

5) Brax X2000.2 Amplifiers (2channels) x 2pcs. $1.2k per pc (SOLD)

6) Brax X2400.2 Amplifier.(4channels) $1.5k (SOLD)

dekitting is a small issue. if the car kena accident, the ICE may be gone too. imagine having to rebuild a 10k ICE system after a heavy accident. its going to be heart wrenching and heavy on the wallet.

Yup assuming that the accident is one at the rear. Spending 10k on a car sound system is just crazy. Due to my constant desire to upgrade and change my set up so often, i've spent 1+K just changing the different components. I have decided to stop and be contented with my system. Besides i don't spend much time on the road so not much point when the excitement lasts at most an hour.

It's a good thing we live in SG where people don't go around smashing cars and stealing stereos. Imagine living in the states or australia where people have no qualms doing such things.

Yup assuming that the accident is one at the rear. Spending 10k on a car sound system is just crazy. Due to my constant desire to upgrade and change my set up so often, i've spent 1+K just changing the different components. I have decided to stop and be contented with my system. Besides i don't spend much time on the road so not much point when the excitement lasts at most an hour.

It's a good thing we live in SG where people don't go around smashing cars and stealing stereos. Imagine living in the states or australia where people have no qualms doing such things.

sometimes accidents happen even if one is a careful driver. its foolish to put a 10k ICE system at the mercy of other road users. 1k is still ok

the basics of sound

1) Soundproof front 2 doors - without this even a good system is useless - budget around $250 - 300 - you need to prevent vibrations for sound to come out well

2) Get a reasonable head unit - the standard de facto models are alpine 9870 and P 80 RS - this will set you back around $600 new and $300 used

3) Adequately good amplification - and i dont mean in watts alone, go www.sgsoundsystem.com to read up on this, if you dont mind used you could probably get some thing decent used for around $800 for 1 x 4 channel amp and 1 x 2 channel amp

4) Subwoofer - avoid the underseat at all costs unless you dont mind loud but low quality sound, you need to factor in a bit of boot space but try to get at least an 8 inch - 10 inch sub,

5) Cables - you need good rca cables for the headunit to come out right, the best value for money ones are mogami cables go and read about them, speaker cables if you're on a shoestring just normal ones will do - factor in $300 - $500 for cables

there are 2 kinds of sound

sq - sound quality

or the other type which is just loud loud music

you need to see which school of thought you are into, for loud music its cheap sq it could be anything for a few grand or a hundred grand.

i ve saved you hell of a lot of homework time to surf the forum for the rest of the info. and another tip i am not going to promote any installer but also to the right installer is 50% of the sound effect you eventually get. i have friends who spend twice as much to get half the sound i get.

I agree, was at Chinatown last time and while crossing the road, notice this M;sia Wira the sound very loud, and was shocked to see the whole boot was vibrating..this is a cause of good ICE but poor sound proofing