HDB CEO: Smaller flats will not lower standards of living

Ahtong

These are really smart people who has figured it all out and deserve their high pay.

Like this Dr Cheong's a real gem!!!!

[thumbsup] [thumbsup] [thumbsup]

Her excellent theory sama sama i.e. analogous to having a smaller paycheck may not mean one is not happy according to the survey done on workers recently.

Apparently folks with monthly 8-9k salary is much more happy than those earning 10k per month.

Wow this is like gospel to ignorant people like us [grin]

Read here from CNA:

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1164500/1/.html

Singapore workers happier than two years ago: survey

By Ambiga Raju | Posted: 10 November 2011 1151 hrs

bcos by calling a flat with 4rm size a 5rm flat.. they could charge us the price of a 5rm flat mah... [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

That's exactly what I thought too! [laugh] 3rm size, they name 4rm. 4rm size, they name 5rm. Big difference in price you know. <_<

Move ahead 20 years, 3rm will be call EA, 4rm will be call single-deck EM, 5rm will be EC :angry: I pity my children. Prices will probably be $3mil, $4mil and $5mil

Don't know if HDB still builds executive flats like in the good old days where people who wants bigger space can opt for it.

HDB should continue if not reinstate this option for bigger families who need bigger space.

Living room also a room mah, they didn't say bedroom haha....aiyah this has always been source of confusion but we should be used to it by now.

then storeroom also room liao

very simple....small size flat = more flat can be produced

Ans: cater for the increasing of ours population.......where the incease from??? :D

+1

Small never mind. The worst is, most new flats interior layout has a lot of wasted space, space you can't utilise it except for walkway from entrance to hall to kitchen to bedrooms to toilet. You just can't put anything, do anything on it. Those who have lived in the old and new flats will know what I am talking about.

are we gonna end up with flats the size of hong kong?

Actually the size of the flat also depends on how many people staying. If 1-2 persons staying, even the size of the flat same as hong kong, i also dont really mind. Cause i dont need such a big flat if only 2 persons. More importantly is the deco and furnishing in the house to make it cosy and comfortable, sometimes size doesnt really matters a lot.

agreed. but in the bigger picture this society cannot afford to just have people not producing kids. once you have kids in this new HDB, it becomes a different story

of course I can honestly say I don't give a d@mn as my wife and I don't intend to have kids and hope to migrate anyway. So yeah, we can live in a pigeonhole. we live in an old 3-room flat (the smaller type) in fact. Just nice for two. sometimes I feel that we could use more space but it'd cost more and need more effort to clean.

I had the privilege of growing up in one of those early 90s executive flats. My gosh it is HUGE. even played soccer and frisbee in the living room with my sister when we were younger. HDB builds nothing like that these days.

But of course, if push comes to shove, who says you die die must live in this country? accept it as a package or move on lo... especially if you endorsed this package during the GE.

last time 121sqm comprise three nice big rooms, a longish kitchen and a big living room. Now 108sqm but got lots of bay window, corridors, bomb shelter. Real usable space is much smaller than 108. To think he has the cheek to talk about how people should utilize the smaller space....

if you enjoy simple HK food eg porridge / beehoon etc, grab some even if you are on transit at ChekLok airport :D

Finally arrive HKG, my home away from home.

Now at United Club Lounge - no porridge today leh... In SQ lounge have. in Fact HKG SQ Lounge food is so much better than SQ longe in our Changi T1,2,3.

Shame on SQ...

HKG apartments are really small. But it is due to more granite mountains than land. Also its very Ex to build on soild rock...

SG still have the Southern and eastern Sea to "reclaim" land.

Soon Sentosa is in a Lagoon in the Northern part of SG.

Though I don't like what HDB do to reduce Flat size, its a matter of fact that they will reduce Public space to expand Private space for condos.

Face it, a piece of land slated for BTO flats = slower rate of increasing NR. HDB is losing marnie every year to build subsidise flats so no choice must build smaller and more to maximise profits ...sorry minimise loss.

Edited by Tigerwoods

Finally arrive HKG, my home away from home.

Now at United Club Lounge - no porridge today leh... In SQ lounge have. in Fact HKG SQ Lounge food is so much better than SQ longe in our Changi T1,2,3.

Shame on SQ...

HKG apartments are really small. But it is due to more granite mountains than land. Also its very Ex to build on soild rock...

SG still have the Southern and eastern Sea to "reclaim" land.

Soon Sentosa is in a Lagoon in the Northern part of SG.

Though I don't like what HDB do to reduce Flat size, its a matter of fact that they will reduce Public space to expand Private space for condos.

Face it, a piece of land slated for BTO flats = slower rate of increasing NR. HDB is losing marnie every year to build subsidise flats so no choice must build smaller and more to maximise profits ...sorry minimise loss.

Pse lah...Our MIW govt where got lose $ one? Casinos, HDB n even NTUC FP r all $-making enterprises...The only loss-making ventures I heard of r thru GIC ventures...Losing citizens' hard-earned $