Eyke Supercharged November 10, 2011 Share November 10, 2011 she info counter girl oni ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear November 10, 2011 Share November 10, 2011 (edited) my parents 4room is bigger than my 5 room tmd.... all these terms is suka suka then in my estate, 5 room and 4 room units, both has got 3 bedrooms ( smaller of cos) hahahahhahahha totally not logical dunno who come up with them I doubt whoever come up with the idea live in a 102sqm 5-rm flat (one or two-nite stay for show not counted).......... ivory theory dr cheong lives in bungalow in the east, if i remember correctly...... Edited November 10, 2011 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear November 10, 2011 Share November 10, 2011 she info counter girl oni the OL on the right quite chio!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged November 10, 2011 Share November 10, 2011 This is a very stupid explanation made by a stupid CEO Small flat means small family. How the garment going to get us to produce more children??? They are v concerned about our national birth rate, right??? What the hell is this CEO talking? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear November 10, 2011 Share November 10, 2011 lower minister salary should not lead to lower quality of ministerial performance but old man lee says the ministers will be corrupted.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unltd 5th Gear November 10, 2011 Share November 10, 2011 You must be able to read the report properly, the old flats are calculated by floor area which means living area (wall thickness and stuff not counted). New flats are calculated using gross area. This is based on my limited knowledge, so if any forummers know otherwise please correct me. Simple peasant like myself only have one question. Why is there an inverse correlation between flat size and flat price? Smaller flats doesn't mean lower quality of living: HDB CEO Posted: 10 November 2011 1355 hrs SINGAPORE: Public flats in Singapore may be getting smaller but this has not lowered quality of living, says Housing and Development Board's (HDB) CEO Cheong Koon Hean. Speaking to reporters on the sidelines of a housing forum on Thursday morning, Dr Cheong noted that there were now fewer persons living in one flat which works out to increased living space per person. "Our families are smaller. In the old days, we have very large families living in a flat. Today, the family is two, three, four (people)." The size of HDB flats has shrunk by five to 10 per cent over the last 20 to 30 years. For example, a five-room flat in Bukit Batok Central built in 1989 has a floor area of 121 square metres, compared to 110 square metres for a similar unit built in 2003. Based on official surveys, the average household size was 3.5 in 2010, and 4.9 in 1980. This means an occupant in a 110 square metre five-room flat today will have 31 sq metres of space, while a resident in a 121 sq metres five-room flat in the 80s had only about 25 sq metres of space. Dr Cheong added that interior design also plays a part in creating good living space. "In many global cities of the world or big cities, people do pay attention to how they do the inside of the flat as well as optimising the use of furniture and storage. It can be a very comfortable living environment." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear November 10, 2011 Share November 10, 2011 This is a very stupid explanation made by a stupid CEO Small flat means small family. How the garment going to get us to produce more children??? They are v concerned about our national birth rate, right??? What the hell is this CEO talking? how much space you need to piak piak to make babies??.... if people can do it in airplane toilet, whats the issue with 102sqm 5rm flat? but i do dread the day when HDB flats come with master bedroom the size of those in HK or japan: you put in a small double bed, no more space to walk or even fart.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged November 10, 2011 Share November 10, 2011 "Our families are smaller. In the old days, we have very large families living in a flat. Today, the family is two, three, four (people)." in the old days..pple stay in jiak hong chu..my grandparents did Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear November 10, 2011 Share November 10, 2011 Jail cell lor. Floor space:4m x 4m. Want? Free food free lodging. and freehold land some more!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear November 10, 2011 Share November 10, 2011 Can't believe a PhD can make such idiotic statements... Making flats smaller will only feed the vicious cycle of smaller and smaller families. Looks like they have resigned to fate that our household size will never reach to the level 20 yrs ago. Or perhaps they have to make it smaller to milk more psf and generate more revenue?? CEOs of govt bodies are mere mouth piece of miw........... no need to be too smart Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gukubird Neutral Newbie November 10, 2011 Share November 10, 2011 This is a very stupid explanation made by a stupid CEO Small flat means small family. How the garment going to get us to produce more children??? They are v concerned about our national birth rate, right??? What the hell is this CEO talking? Hello, you still beileve that they are concerned with our birth rate? They are using this as a excuse to bring in more FT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear November 10, 2011 Share November 10, 2011 This is a very stupid explanation made by a stupid CEO Small flat means small family. How the garment going to get us to produce more children??? They are v concerned about our national birth rate, right??? What the hell is this CEO talking? squeeze lor. 1 room put double decker bed. 2 rooms can squeeze 4 kids 3rd bedroom master room for the parents Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear November 10, 2011 Share November 10, 2011 like this then is money always no enough for them lor...they just want the profit figure to go up and up lor...cause they say they making lost every year mah...so they must be busy thinking of ways to pay back those whom they brought the land from !!!! humm...wait ...who they h-e-l-l they brought their land from ?? that guy must be freaking rich !!! [idea] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged November 10, 2011 Share November 10, 2011 how much space you need to piak piak to make babies??.... if people can do it in airplane toilet, whats the issue with 102sqm 5rm flat? but i do dread the day when HDB flats come with master bedroom the size of those in HK or japan: you put in a small double bed, no more space to walk or even fart.... It's not the piak piak that I'm concerned. I can piak piak even on dining table and washing machine. If I got to raise 3-4 children in a small space, where is the quality of life and personal space?? This is what I'm talking about. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear November 10, 2011 Share November 10, 2011 (edited) but old man lee says the ministers will be corrupted.... That explain why 20yrs ago 4rm - 120sqm - 60K now 4rm - 110sqm - 300K our salary same , their salary up 20x , is it like that huh ? all the extra fat goes into their tummy Edited November 10, 2011 by Jasonjst Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear November 10, 2011 Share November 10, 2011 Dear Dr Cheong, I refer to your inspiring comments that smaller flats do not lower the standards of living. I must say we ungrateful Singaporeans are blessed to have you as the HDB CEO tasked to lead the board to build world-class and yet heavily-subsidised, value-for-money flats for us. Many thanks! I fully concur with you on your excellent analysis of the smaller flat not affecting our living standards & really paiseh to make a small request if it is acceptable to a great leader like yourself: Is it possible to exchange our small humble 3-room HDB flat with your posh district 9 semi-D? Rest assured that your living standards as you have rightly put it will absolutely be not affected as you still can park your spanking-new Beemer 7-series in our many HDB car parks as well as being able to enjoy the many amendities around the estate. Did I also mention the vibrancy you will be able to immense in with the many quarrels, Mahjong-playing, KTV sessions & children's laughter we are fortunate to have every single day for the past 30 years? You also can save some money as you need not fly to the Swiss Alps to feel the snowy feel as our neighbour below provides the free foggy feel everyday also with his Marlbor* ciggies. We simply love this! If it is ok with you we will make the exchange tonight at 2359 yes? Thank you so much for your time. Hope you enjoy your stay in a HDB 3-room flat & the high standard of living we have been blessed to have since we moved in 30 years ago. Yours truly, Lim Ah Kow P.S The kitchen toilet flushing system is out for the past 6 months but don't worry our good friend Muthu from next door would glady allow you & your family use theirs. And also the power has been cut off since LKY was the PM but again don't fret it because Ismail our neighbour from the other side is also a generous buddy who will allow you to go to their unit to use their power. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gukubird Neutral Newbie November 10, 2011 Share November 10, 2011 I thought all the while new HDB has been shrinking in size? What prompted her to come out and say this not ? Pay cut coming she not happy? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear November 10, 2011 Share November 10, 2011 a 4rm flat costs 60K+ in the early 90s,20years on a 4rm flat costs 300k. a technician getting around 1k salary in the 90s. a technician getting around 1k+ salary in the 2011. has the salary for the same job increase by 5 fold??can the HDB CEO explains this? on salary, HDB will ask u to ask MOM. lol ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...