Ch8 News: GIC loses money in Olympus Scandal

CKP

Even now GIC board of directors r mostly comprise of politician, ex politician and gov link co ppl... Do these ppl have the experience and know how to run a sovereign fund? [rolleyes]

Quite unlike the SWFs managed in other countries, as long as you are politically affiliated with a certain party, you are automatically regarded as a great talent to manage our SWF. Regardless of the billions in question, prior relevant experience need not apply in this case.

We should just sit back and relax with a peace of mind, knowing our CPFs are previously being managed meticulously by our current president. Remember, this president's talent is unprecedented, as he has the ability to foresee "dark clouds" looming on the global economic horizon.

Confidence for The Future! :D

Edited by Lethalstrike

maybe GIC can create a gambling arm ....

hire pro gamblers instead of fund managers / traders ...

go whack all the casinos! [hur]

Unlike real companies with limited funds, GIC cannot lose.

It can just keep taking from the reserves when it needs more money.

And now we have a "friendly" prez.

Very soon... GIC/TEMASICK losing money will become like floods.. "once in a blue moon event" that happen every other day.. <_<

[bigcry] [bigcry] [bigcry] [bigcry] Seeing our reserve fly away :angry:

Edited by I-LOVE-CARS

Because GIC is managed by exceptionally elite talents of greater mortal pedigree, they managed to limit the damage to 100 mil.

If any ordinary peasant was running the show, the losses would be in billions.

Therefore GIC did not make a loss of 100 mil. They saved us billions.

Next frivolous complaint please

sounds familiar: when i came home with a damaged bumper and told my wife: it could have been worse and had the whole car wracked...........

Whether GIC keeps for itself or not, money profited from investments would become our country reserve. Could you remember the 1998 Asia financial crisis, why our currency was still very stable then but not some other countries?

Country reserve? What's the relevance of reserve to the average man on the street?

Excuse me, you are implying a larger size of reserves contribute to increased currency stability?

[cool]

Have not read ST so not sure if this was reported but CNA and even Yahoo! local website also did not.

Eerily silent...

Media blockage?

Just watched the Channel 8 news and the presenter seemed to be apologizing for the mistake of linking GIC to the Olympus scandal during yesterday's segment.

So it is not true then?

Hopefully not...

Just watched the Channel 8 news and the presenter seemed to be apologizing for the mistake of linking GIC to the Olympus scandal during yesterday's segment.

So it is not true then?

Hopefully not...

If it's a mistake, then the presenter will soon be no more.

Peasants cannot make honest mistake and expect to get away with it.

Country reserve? What's the relevance of reserve to the average man on the street?

Excuse me, you are implying a larger size of reserves contribute to increased currency stability?

[cool]

If you research a little more then you can see a bigger picture, otherwise you can carry on whining.

Now suka suka throw away our $$ no feel pain but 1 day if gana natural disaster or world recession, siao garmen reserve no $$ to repair SG then how? sing currency drop? house price drop? all utilities & grocery up?

If you research a little more then you can see a bigger picture, otherwise you can carry on whining.

I wonder, if it would be better off for GIC not invest in anything than to invest and keep making losses.

So it is not true then?

Hopefully not...

How can it be? Its reported that GIC has a 2.55% stake in Olympus.

I wonder, if it would be better off for GIC not invest in anything than to invest and keep making losses.

Frankly, not too sure how many investments GIC have make losses but as long as other investments can offset the losses, therefore it is still profitable why not.

High Risk, High Return! This is how a person and country to begin to make wealth.

Erm so many % of SG bluechips are already owned by Temasek. U want more ar ... [rolleyes]

Basically u want govt to give u more $$ lah. I also want! [laugh]

How to invest?

- free HDB? Cheaper HDB maybe i support [;)]

- R&D? Govt throwing lots of $$ there already?

- Education? Everyone be a university graduate? Free education?

- Healthcare and eldercare? Yes Govt can do more in this area

I'm just saying that they are losing Billions in their extremely poor investments offshore... as compared to investing into SG stocks.

Actually with the 100s of Billions parked @ G & T is just TOO high risk and putting all our Eggs in 2 small baskets.

The money they throw at R&D, developing our IP is like pennies.

The scholars are so myopic man always go for the Tangibles, and number crunchers. and you pay like millions to incompetent people ...

we are really doomed. GKS - pls rise up from your grave and save SG !!!!

Frankly, not too sure how many investments GIC have make losses but as long as other investments can offset the losses, therefore it is still profitable why not.

High Risk, High Return! This is how a person and country to begin to make wealth.

But the problem is, they are not dealing their own $. It's like if one is not dealing with his/her own $, they are more reckless, and when it make losses, they will be thinking, well, it's not my $ anyway.