HP_Lee 5th Gear November 12, 2011 Share November 12, 2011 RM tell u all these bcos they wan to earn your money.... Frankly trusting a RM....lol...Never never trust a banker unless u wan to lose money...a silly banker told me USD a good investment when it was at 1.45... I told him u must be crazy n how well you know the currency market, he kept very quite...then he said Euros is a good bet and I told him if you dunno anything abt currency mkt...pls.... dun suggest things that you dunno..go read up the papers...lol...stupid RM... You are sharp on this!! I agreed your point of view. You can only entrust your wealth yourself. Trust no one elses, even they are from big global banks. Think of Lehman on 2008 and they remember. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear November 14, 2011 Share November 14, 2011 Thanks bro for the compliment...Any bros want to bet when the next crisis will hit? lol... my bet is 2015... There maybe small hiccups along the way like wat you are seeing now... After US, Euro and then vice versa...I suspect they are having fun with the investors and screwing their brain up... Anyway, there should be a major shake up in Euro and what you are seeing now is merely a treat to your eyes and ears.... As for US, if China is not moving its butt, what can US do abt it? Lol... they r the one enriching the chinese...n now they buay song. Tough...China has all the reserve to protect itself from unnecessary financial turmoils but US has debts only. Anyway, someone should start a new tread on all these as economic downturn will affect the livlihood of all bros ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HP_Lee 5th Gear November 14, 2011 Share November 14, 2011 (edited) Thanks bro for the compliment...Any bros want to bet when the next crisis will hit? lol... my bet is 2015... There maybe small hiccups along the way like wat you are seeing now... After US, Euro and then vice versa...I suspect they are having fun with the investors and screwing their brain up... Anyway, there should be a major shake up in Euro and what you are seeing now is merely a treat to your eyes and ears.... As for US, if China is not moving its butt, what can US do abt it? Lol... they r the one enriching the chinese...n now they buay song. Tough...China has all the reserve to protect itself from unnecessary financial turmoils but US has debts only. Anyway, someone should start a new tread on all these as economic downturn will affect the livlihood of all bros ... Yup. Things have yet to filter through to us (Singapore). Should be seeing something interesting developing in the next 2 Qtrs. Just watch our revise GDP next 1st or 2nd Qtr of 2012. Edited November 14, 2011 by HP_Lee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cklasse 1st Gear November 14, 2011 Share November 14, 2011 There are so many talk on wasting money buying car, buy property better and all the investment talk. It's all personal when it comes to how one spends his money. If we want to talk financial, then don't buy car, go take the MRT. Buying a car and using it is for enhanced quality of life. This is what it is to me, I don't see the money losing part, or I shouldn't even buy one. Again, this is my view. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic November 14, 2011 Share November 14, 2011 Initially thought the surge in car population since 2005 to 2010, will cause a dip in the COE as a bulk of COEs like 300k of cars going to be scrapped by 2015-2017. There would certainly be a need to recoup the cost of road widening, new flyovers, viaducts. So more cars must come back to fill the roads when the road usage is reduced. But the recently announcement of the opening of upcoming MRT lines, meant more would be encouraged to take public transport. So the COE not likely to see a huge dip. But really hard to say as 2016 will see the government wooing votes, would want to give the best of both worlds. They may make public transport more efficient, less crowded, faster, more comfortable and road traffic less crowded as roads are widened, more roads, MCE, NSE most probably ready by then, COE maybe stablise at a lower level at 15-20k cheaper the current but not too low to make those taking public transport convert to owning private vehicles. So people that really need to use car may buy B&B cars between $80-90k range. That's what I hope for. I think road usage is still ok on the roads, but it's the parking that is seeing problem when cars are cheaper than fuel and road usage. People buy cars to park! I would love to see how the GPS base distance charging going to work. My guess it's definitely after 2016? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spicky Neutral Newbie November 14, 2011 Share November 14, 2011 There are so many talk on wasting money buying car, buy property better and all the investment talk. It's all personal when it comes to how one spends his money. If we want to talk financial, then don't buy car, go take the MRT. Buying a car and using it is for enhanced quality of life. This is what it is to me, I don't see the money losing part, or I shouldn't even buy one. Again, this is my view. What a great way to put it. Agreed totally. Afterall, you only live once. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mecontle 1st Gear November 14, 2011 Share November 14, 2011 Ppl who are willing to pay 100K for Elantra, i don't know what to say lah. Don't know what is going thru their mind. last time 89k pre launch is too much for me & now? i tell u all 100k can get ctr or rx8 in 08/09 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 14, 2011 Share November 14, 2011 last time 89k pre launch is too much for me & now? i tell u all 100k can get ctr or rx8 in 08/09 Cannot compare current car price with super low COE period. Example even you are buying a 75K 2nd hand altis, this price can get you a brand new 1.8L civic back then! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toapayohkid 1st Gear November 15, 2011 Share November 15, 2011 Cannot compare current car price with super low COE period. Example even you are buying a 75K 2nd hand altis, this price can get you a brand new 1.8L civic back then! yup, the golden days of "cheap" cars are over. until the next ge nearer and lui scared he lose his job like former transport minister raymond who told to exit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HP_Lee 5th Gear November 15, 2011 Share November 15, 2011 Of course is ok, as individual have their own needs. Unless you are the company owner, that's totally fine. Since I'm in HR sector and have been seeing 3 cycles of downturns, is just a caution to those are budget just right. Every downturn, when I have to do the dirty work of getting rid of excess manpower, ppl come to me and say they have family, home / car loan...etc..etc. And asking to allow to keep their jobs. I can feel how depress, if I put myself in their shoes. Since this was directed by the top management, I have no choice, but to act accordingly to instructions. That is why, this is just a sharing to our bros in this situation. That's all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear November 15, 2011 Share November 15, 2011 (edited) Of course is ok, as individual have their own needs. Unless you are the company owner, that's totally fine. Since I'm in HR sector and have been seeing 3 cycles of downturns, is just a caution to those are budget just right. Every downturn, when I have to do the dirty work of getting rid of excess manpower, ppl come to me and say they have family, home / car loan...etc..etc. And asking to allow to keep their jobs. I can feel how depress, if I put myself in their shoes. Since this was directed by the top management, I have no choice, but to act accordingly to instructions. That is why, this is just a sharing to our bros in this situation. That's all. yup agree with u that is why it is important to save and it is more important to work but for those that spend once got money i have nothing to say Edited November 15, 2011 by Ithunk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchoo Neutral Newbie November 15, 2011 Share November 15, 2011 i think it is wiser to get a 2nd-hand car. but we all love the new car smell. it is like our kryptonite!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear November 15, 2011 Share November 15, 2011 i think it is wiser to get a 2nd-hand car. but we all love the new car smell. it is like our kryptonite!! yes smart to get a new vehicle Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear November 15, 2011 Share November 15, 2011 RM tell u all these bcos they wan to earn your money.... Frankly trusting a RM....lol...Never never trust a banker unless u wan to lose money...a silly banker told me USD a good investment when it was at 1.45... I told him u must be crazy n how well you know the currency market, he kept very quite...then he said Euros is a good bet and I told him if you dunno anything abt currency mkt...pls.... dun suggest things that you dunno..go read up the papers...lol...stupid RM... it is always a carry trade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear November 15, 2011 Share November 15, 2011 i think it is wiser to get a 2nd-hand car. but we all love the new car smell. it is like our kryptonite!! A..there is no such thing as wiser or less wise..Let me put a scenario to u...let say u buy a 2nd hard 3 yrs old with very low COE... n from a depreciation perspective u seems to save alot compare to the current new cars... If COE continues to surge further or maintain at current level..yes wise choice.... Wat do u do if COEs drop say 50% 3 yrs later? how much can u sell n cash back if u so decided to buy a new car? Would you consider yourself not so wise when u first bought the 2nd hand car not considering that it has a low COE? If COE didnt come down for 10 yrs..u will continue to buy 2nd hand..but depreciation will also catch up as well.. again it is a preference..who is wiser who is less wise..time will tell.. too early to say it now... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 15, 2011 Share November 15, 2011 i think it is wiser to get a 2nd-hand car. but we all love the new car smell. it is like our kryptonite!! Not wise to get a car whether it is used or new. Most of the used car price cost even higher than the original price when the car was bought! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HP_Lee 5th Gear November 17, 2011 Share November 17, 2011 Not wise to get a car whether it is used or new. Most of the used car price cost even higher than the original price when the car was bought! Yup. I agree you. Unless you need for your job or business. If just for driving to work and weekends use, as well you take public transport or taxi. Sure will help you to save a hugh sum of money. The amount save, is very clear. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...