Rezorn86 3rd Gear November 6, 2011 Share November 6, 2011 for me i oso had it in my bonnet similar as Yewheng.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aeromania 1st Gear November 6, 2011 Share November 6, 2011 Only if your car got mod improperly aka tuning glitch, improper installation, etc, then chances of catching fire will be quite high. If your car only do light mods like change intake, exhaust, etc wun catch fire. If your car no mod, the only fire possible is you light cigarette in your car. In fact if no mod still catch fire means can go back to your dealer and flip table. Therefore I think unless you are driving a racing car or a heavily modded car, there is no need for fire extinguisher. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim1808 Neutral Newbie November 6, 2011 Share November 6, 2011 It is so untrue that only mod cars have the high possibilty of a fire outbreak. As an engineer in a private company, I investigate failures in my profession and fire cases in cars come by once in a while in my line of work, determining the cause(s) on behalf on insurers, loss adjusters or authorised agents. Fire can start from several reasons including modications, and sometimes even under unique circumstances like substantial combustible foreign materials accidentally left behind in engine like used newspapers. I have a small portable fire extiguisher that I placed within reach in my car. Reason being that it is meant for my own physical safety in case a fire break out in the vehicle cab whilst i am still trapped inside, God forbids. It is small, of negligible weight and do not have a long shelf life, but no worries, since it is cheap to replace. For big fire, save it for the professional, namely SCDF. (And pray hard that it is a total loss since it will be badly damaged anyway). Us non-professional jokers only have a slim chance of putting out fire once it gets going, due to the lack of fire-fighting skills and equipment. We can however extinguish effectively the onset of a small fire. And like Good Carbuyer said earlier, if a fire start in CNG car, best thing is to run and keep a good distance before calling 995. IMHO, CNG passenger car was never a good idea, practically or economically here in Singapore. But that is another topic for another day. To summise, go get a small and affordable fire extinguisher and place it in your car. All vehicles should have one (at least). Word... alim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AL5509 Neutral Newbie November 6, 2011 Author Share November 6, 2011 It is so untrue that only mod cars have the high possibilty of a fire outbreak. As an engineer in a private company, I investigate failures in my profession and fire cases in cars come by once in a while in my line of work, determining the cause(s) on behalf on insurers, loss adjusters or authorised agents. Fire can start from several reasons including modications, and sometimes even under unique circumstances like substantial combustible foreign materials accidentally left behind in engine like used newspapers. I have a small portable fire extiguisher that I placed within reach in my car. Reason being that it is meant for my own physical safety in case a fire break out in the vehicle cab whilst i am still trapped inside, God forbids. It is small, of negligible weight and do not have a long shelf life, but no worries, since it is cheap to replace. For big fire, save it for the professional, namely SCDF. (And pray hard that it is a total loss since it will be badly damaged anyway). Us non-professional jokers only have a slim chance of putting out fire once it gets going, due to the lack of fire-fighting skills and equipment. We can however extinguish effectively the onset of a small fire. And like Good Carbuyer said earlier, if a fire start in CNG car, best thing is to run and keep a good distance before calling 995. IMHO, CNG passenger car was never a good idea, practically or economically here in Singapore. But that is another topic for another day. To summise, go get a small and affordable fire extinguisher and place it in your car. All vehicles should have one (at least). Word... alim Words of wisdom. So where u purchased ur fire extinguisher?? Hee Wish to get 1, just in case thou as believe it cost less than $20 for a handy size one which it surely cost lesser than a full tank of mine on a weekly basis. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panerex77 1st Gear November 7, 2011 Share November 7, 2011 Words of wisdom. So where u purchased ur fire extinguisher?? Hee Wish to get 1, just in case thou as believe it cost less than $20 for a handy size one which it surely cost lesser than a full tank of mine on a weekly basis. Yes interesting and useful read for drivers like us. Time to go shopping but only concern is if it will explode inside the car due to high temp Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datura 2nd Gear November 7, 2011 Share November 7, 2011 Pls note that old cars (only heavily modded veh will have a higher chance on fire do not hold water)mwill also have a higher chance of fire, last week an 8 yrs old van caught fire inside the cabin, my calculated guess is that the van IU short circuit , I also found baby croaches running around after fire. Possibilities they might gnaw on the IU cables and exposed wires rubbed against each other through movement and lead to this short circuit. Having an extinguisher not only able to help yourself but also able to help your fellow motorist when the needs arise Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie November 7, 2011 Share November 7, 2011 (edited) To me, for car uses, no need buy so big fire extinguisher. Just buy a small portable fire extinguisher can already ( save boot space ) 1 year change 1 time. Not that expensive and is very portable. Those big fire extinguisher is more for commercial uses. the small ones are useless in a engine fire case. need more volume small ones ok for small electrical fires but thats about it. i have extinguishers in all my cars, all over 1.5L, all inside the cabin as if i ever get stuck inside and cars on fire having it in the boot isnt going to do me much good..... also unless you know the techniques for fire fighting (like how best to put out an engine fire) even having a bigger extinguisher isnt going to do it as you wont be effective. Edited November 7, 2011 by Badder Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AL5509 Neutral Newbie November 7, 2011 Author Share November 7, 2011 Yes interesting and useful read for drivers like us. Time to go shopping but only concern is if it will explode inside the car due to high temp That is my doubts too. But some of e drivers here who are using it mentioned it shld be safe. Of coz no one will wana put a time bomb in e car!! Haa Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AL5509 Neutral Newbie November 7, 2011 Author Share November 7, 2011 the small ones are useless in a engine fire case. need more volume small ones ok for small electrical fires but thats about it. i have extinguishers in all my cars, all over 1.5L, all inside the cabin as if i ever get stuck inside and cars on fire having it in the boot isnt going to do me much good..... think if engine on fire! E best is to run ba. I also do not know how will I react under such pressure in that situation. But to have something to 'fight' e fire better than watch it burn if e flame still manageable ba. Just my 2cents worth of thoughts.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear November 7, 2011 Share November 7, 2011 These portable fire-extinguishers are too small and hold too little contents to put out a petrol fire. Look at how much water SCDF uses to put out a car fire. Unless you are fast enough to pin point the source of fire, open the bonnet .. etc to prevent the fire from spreading and all around you traffic still moving. The safer bet is to make it mandatory for car manufacturers to have an emergency fuel cut off switch/level within reach of the driver. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie November 7, 2011 Share November 7, 2011 These portable fire-extinguishers are too small and hold too little contents to put out a petrol fire. Look at how much water SCDF uses to put out a car fire. Unless you are fast enough to pin point the source of fire, open the bonnet .. etc to prevent the fire from spreading and all around you traffic still moving. dont open the bonnet! thats exactly what you shouldnt do! a 1.5L portable is still portable and can be used to put out an engine fire (if you DONT open the bonnet) (at most just lift it enough to get extinguisher nozzle under) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie November 7, 2011 Share November 7, 2011 That is my doubts too. But some of e drivers here who are using it mentioned it shld be safe. Of coz no one will wana put a time bomb in e car!! Haa of course its safe! for an extinguisher to explode in your boot you would need to heat it up so much that your boot would be on fire anyway! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I-LOVE-CARS 1st Gear November 7, 2011 Share November 7, 2011 Only if your car got mod improperly aka tuning glitch, improper installation, etc, then chances of catching fire will be quite high. If your car only do light mods like change intake, exhaust, etc wun catch fire. If your car no mod, the only fire possible is you light cigarette in your car. In fact if no mod still catch fire means can go back to your dealer and flip table. Therefore I think unless you are driving a racing car or a heavily modded car, there is no need for fire extinguisher. Don be so sure, what about if brakes caught fire *my uncle's car, last time brakes tio fire cos stop too hard then got friction* Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged November 7, 2011 Share November 7, 2011 (edited) dont open the bonnet! thats exactly what you shouldnt do! a 1.5L portable is still portable and can be used to put out an engine fire (if you DONT open the bonnet) (at most just lift it enough to get extinguisher nozzle under) yes.. that's what i was told...once open, it is exposed to the atmosphere with more oxygen to assist combustion.. but i am not sure how are u going to put out the fire if it is under the bonnet and u are not supposed to open it.. spray thru the front grill? effective? Edited November 7, 2011 by Solar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear November 7, 2011 Share November 7, 2011 yes.. that's what i was told...once open, it is exposed to the atmosphere with more oxygen to assist combustion.. but i am not sure how are u going to put out the fire if it is under the bonnet and u are not supposed to open it.. spray thru the front grill? effective? by right, i feel that to put out fires in the engine bonnet, one should use chemical foam type. Idea is to overwhelm all openings and vents with foam to starve the fire of oxygen because fire in enclosed environment(s) with access to oxygen can easily shoot to 1000 degree celsius within dozens of minutes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged November 7, 2011 Share November 7, 2011 by right, i feel that to put out fires in the engine bonnet, one should use chemical foam type. Idea is to overwhelm all openings and vents with foam to starve the fire of oxygen because fire in enclosed environment(s) with access to oxygen can easily shoot to 1000 degree celsius within dozens of minutes. Yep. Have seen firemen putting out a fire this way. They just keep spraying the bonnet area with the foam. Only open the bonnet once they don't see any flames but once they open they immediately spray alittle more into the engine bay. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged November 7, 2011 Share November 7, 2011 Get a portable fire extinguisher, cost less than $10. It doesn't take much space. yap... this is the 1 i bought from Tampines Mart (Tampines St 32). but I think i bought slightly more than $10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged November 7, 2011 Share November 7, 2011 Exampe: ex-colleague sprayed CO2 into his own open month while trying to demonstrate how to use a CO2 fire exiguisher he had just bought. ur ex-colleague very kuku leh... :blink: :blink: ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...